We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel could do with overhaul but nice staff”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

First and foremost I must say I won this night away as part of a Munster rugby competition. However if we were treating ourselves to an overnight in limerick I would expect more from a five star hotel. The common areas are in serious need of painting as are the common area and bedroom carpets. We took the stairwell from the sixth floor to breakfast and the stairs were grubby.
I have previously stayed in hayfield manor and the westbury and in both hotels you see the difference between four and five star ratings.
Friendly, efficient staff on reception. Good breakfast with superb efficient waiting staff.
As a positive the temperature in the room guaranteed a great sleep.
Bathroom spotless and plenty towels, even though there were two of us sharing, there was one bathrobe, I thought this was odd. Personally I would have liked the water a bit hotter but hubby thought it was fine.
The furniture is quite badly marked also something which would not be the norm in a five star I would think.
Overall a fine hotel, in a good location for a twenty walk to Thomond but I would question the five star rating here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cork_IrelandSharonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

I usually Don't write a review of a Hotel etc unless i feel there was a reason in doing so and after my previous two reviews of the Savoy limerick i felt it deserves another one however not a positive one. I Usually Stay in the Savoy 6-8 Times a year however havent stayed in over 6 months this time. In a Positive Review i cannot fault the staff this is one of the main reasons i stay here the staff are excellent. Now the Negative The hotel is in serious need of TLC, in our room over and under every socket was very badly scratched, The Overall paint condition in the rooms was very very poor. On Either wise of the side the two lamp shades it look like someone look it off the lamp did a irish dance ontop of the shade and placed it back on lamp it was in a awful condition. My Partner tried opening the window in the room for abit of air and it was almost seezed shut i managed to get it open but everytime was a issue trying to open it.In Terms of clean room i could not fault it the house keepers are always helpful and polite. We Stayed in a Upgraded room which before was worth it, get a continental Breakfast etc now however at 25 euro a night extra(on a standard night can be more) unless you drink and eat your weight in fizzy drinks and food its not worth it, Free newspapers for upgrade unless you are there at first dawn the papers are gone. Also in the Lounge access outside there was what was best described as string separating the Lounge access and the Next Door Room wish i took a picture to show i was talking to the manager in the lounge and asked what was the situation re the partition between the room and lounge in which he pointed out it was storm damage, While i can accept this as we had storm damage i cannot understand after almost 3 weeks after the storm 2 class panels havent been replaced. And as part of the upgrade you are ment to get access to mini bar(not free obviously) and it was locked shut i felt i shouldnt have to call someone to unlock my fridge. Based on the Staff at Savoy it would consider this a 5 Star hotel however when hotel review comes on a star status i would really worry of it be downgraded. Felt very disappointed with our stay. rm819

Room Tip: Stayed in 8th Floor if all rooms are like ours avoid. Worth a upgrade to suite if can afford it. Hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanDDesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed at the Savoy hotel recently for one night. The reception area is beautiful and staff at reception very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are generous enough in size, clean and modern. Breakfast was okay. Super location in the city, and defiantly value for money staying here. Would stay again if visiting Limerick.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Everything was perfect here from the room with a well sized bed to the staff in the breakfast dining room. The price was extremely competitive for such a fancy place, under 100 euro per night including Irish breakfast. The staff was very friendly and even remembered our plans for the day and asked about it the next day. Amazing. The location is central with the possibility to park across the street. You even get a reduction for the last night's parking when you check out.
We also tried their separate restaurant The Hampton which was impeccable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

On a short stop off in limerick last Thursday night we were very impressed on entering this hotel. We ate in the bar and within minutes I knew this was one of limericks finest hotels..friendly staff who acknowledged us as we entered the foyer and on entering the bar was particularly observant of the manner we were welcomed and attended to..food was beautifully presented...I also checked out their main restaurant for a future visit..as someone who also works in the hotel industry it was a pleasure to visit this hotel and will surely be recommending it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anabelle12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very central location and a good price for the weekend. We got a complementary upgrade to the executive room which was great, and we had a corner room although it was cloudy so we couldn’t see a great deal but I’d say on a sunny day you would see well into the distance. We could see thormond park.

The executive floor gave you access to different tea and a coffee machine, which was working during out stay. Here you could get cans of club, coke and spirit, real milk for your tea, Tayto cheese and onion and salt and vinegar, Alpen bars, snack bars and kitkats. There was also a TV and papers, so a nice area to chill out of there is a crowd of you or you simply want to get out of the room if you are travelling solo.

The room itself was ok, not quite the 5 star I have stayed in elsewhere, however was spacious and clean and had everything we needed. It was a bit chilly when we first went in. Had a rainforest shower although water was only lukewarm, and a toilet which was hard to flush. There was also only one bathrobe and as someone else commented it still had the Marriott on it. On the plus both the room and bathroom were spacious and they had big tea cups which I love, although the kettle didn’t turn itself off.

The staff were the best part of this hotel they were so friendly and able to offer any assistance from the minute we ended until leaving. They really did anything to help and were happy to answer any questions such as where to head and what to do. The pool area was clean and as no one else was about felt like it was my own private pool!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

With the guidance of Shane at the Savoy five of us returned after our New Year's escapade to enjoy Paddy's weekend. Thank you Shane.

Initial impressions were very well met by Laurie at reception who presented herself as a gifted ambassador, offering a top notch first impression for this stay. She set the tone and from there onwards there was a positive vibe to be enjoyed. We stayed on the 8th Floor, in executive rooms. The key room feature of importance here were the beds - perhaps the most comfortable hotel beds I've found. Presumably this was due to luxury mattress toppers. Upgrades to the executive rooms also gave access to a lounge, which was a very welcome addition.

Breakfast was also top notch on this visit. A very respectable buffet accompanying a cooked to order menu ensure we were well set up for the day. If a guest wants healthy breakfast it's there, if a guest wants comfy holiday breakfast its there too.

The important question; would I go back? Yes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,986 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,636 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,176 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $136 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing