We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

As I work in the hotel business, I find that I am very picky when it comes to a weekend away. However, The Savoy did not disappoint whatsoever. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel so welcome. The gentleman who checked us in was extremely friendly, and even gave us some recommendations with regards nightlife. We had treatments in the spa, which were lovely. Dinner on one evening was included in our fantastic value rate, which we had in The Hamptons Restaurant. It was beautiful. Both myself and friend want to return to Limerick just to eat here.
Breakfast each morning is served till 12noon, which made our stay so relaxing. Breakfast really has the wow factor at the Savoy Hotel, served to your table, with options of pancakes, omlettes, eggs bendict along with the normal full Irish.

We stayed in a Junior Suite which was huge, and so luxurious.

We will return to The Savoy in the near future - I would now not want to stay anywhere else in Limerick - Keep up the good work Savoy!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Junior Suite if possible - it is well worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    249
    101
    32
    20
See reviews for
171
454
32
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed in the Savoy on a golfing trip. Price was Eur130 for two nights B&B and dinner in the Hamptons on one of the nights. Don't know what the normal rates are but this was great value for what we got.

The room was clean are very comfortable with nice soaps, etc. in the bathroom. The breakfast was excellent in terms of both range and quality. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The dinner was very enjoyable in the Hamptons and there was a good choice of dishes which you don't often get with a set menu and no extra charge for the steak. The bar was nice and busy on the Saturday night with a good atmosphere and the location is very central. I cannot comment on the rest of the facilities as I did not use them. My only minor gripe is that there could be better soundproofing in the bedrooms.

All round excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PercyDublin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here last month. We didnt use the leisure facilities but had a drink in the bar (best Cosmo ever) and the food in the Hamptons restaurant was one of the best meals I ever had (duck spring rolls - amazing). Our room was really nice and I'd love to go there again. No view from the room though but that's what you get when you book a city centre hotel (view of car park).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenpfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I enjoyed our recent visit to Limerick. In spite of road works ongoing in the neighbourhood we located the hotel quickly and settled into our Junior suite. Excellent space in a very comfortable large room with a "smart" divider. Reception staff were very helpful & professional but most of all "local" in their response . All in all an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrygilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last year (sorry so late to comment). Had a fantastic time. Got a great deal which included a meal in The Hamptons restaurant. Meal was good, even though it wasnt properly explained what we were entiltled to. Very busy place so we did get the feeling we were abit rushed but other than that I ahd a great night. Bed was incredibly comfy and breakfast the following morning was fantastice. Will definatly be back at some point!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Savoy Hotel in Limerick, Ireland is excellent. Very centrally located in Limerick and walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants, pubs, etc. Get a map in the lobby and walk around and see the museums, castle, shops, pubs, etc. Luxurious rooms, excellent breakfast, and friendly and helpful staff. Elizabeth at the front desk was wonderful. Get a room in the back of the hotel is you want absolute quiet. Try out the spa too...wonderful!!!

Room Tip: For a quiet room, go to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I would really recommend this hotel.
There is nothing bad to say, excellent breakfast, rooms, service and location.
The Hotel is located near a very busy street, so keep that in mind.

Maybe one thing that could be better is the breakfast room, it was really crowded, and it took some time to have a place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing