We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in great location”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel in August, rooms are extenely comfortable with a lot of extras. Had dinner in the hamptons which was the nicest I had in a long time. Breakfast was top class and served until noon which is great for a weekend lie in. Great location if heading to city centre pubs. Great service provided by all. Would highly recommend as great value provided for a city break.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 901eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
There are newer reviews for The Savoy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

a very good location in Limerick, with nice people. Room was booked for a good price and found quite comfortable beside a small problem with hot water in the bathroom quickly fixed by the staff .
Spent 2 nights there, and a breakfast there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great location, great room, gorgeous balcony (with an unfortunate view of the neon-lit multi-story car park opposite, ah well!), the most comfortable bed in the world, enormous shower, separate bath, free bottle of water (these small things make a huge difference); all of which for a great price. My only gripe being the staff: We arrived relatively late at night, and we were greeted by a receptionist who was unfriendly and barely spoke English. I asked if the restaurant was open and he told me to go next door and find out. Hmm. We went to AbraKebabra. Yum. Apart from the staff, highly recommended.

Room Tip: we were given a room with a balcony, which was a lovely surprise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

a nice central location for this hotel, nice large bedrooms and bathrooms although in areas the paintwork needs touching up on check in my room was fine but my friend had a few problems,a right mix up, room not made up moved to another room then was moved again then some one else walked in when resting so a right carry on but it was sorted out by Damein so thanks for that also problems with the key cards even though we stored them away from other cards /phones all the staff we met were helpful and friendley but i do think they need to sort out the house keeping in relation to what rooms are made up and ready to be used ect,never the less we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Savoy last week with if wife for one night. The reception staff were welcoming on arrival and helpful.

The rooms were spacious but could be freshened up a little some marks on the walls.

We went to a lounge area upstairs for a glass of wine and received a mixed reception from staff, the manager was not friendly or welcoming but the servers were most pleasant and helpful we were waiting a while for service also.

We did not eat in the restaurant Hamptons buy it looked nice and priced well. We had a drink in the downstairs bar that evening and staff were pleasant and the bar was quiet and had a nice atmosphere. Overall a lovely stay and I would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sescommunications
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is my first trip to LImerick and so I have nothing to compare it against. I was told that this hotel used to be a Marriott, and when that closed a local consortium bought it and kept it open. Certainly the robes in the rooms still say Marriott on them which is a little unusual. The decor is typical Marriott style, and is beginning to show some wear (chipped corners, some stains on the carpet etc). However the service was fabulous - genuine Irish warmth from all staff. I ate in Hamptons next door one night and that was also good and reasonably priced. I had access to the "Executive Lounge" which was strange - obviously a leftover again from the Marriott, but now just a room with sofas and a small minibar with soft drinks in it, no service or food served etc.

Room Tip: Pick a high room to avoid street noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I'll start by saying that I didn't stay in this hotel but a large group of us had Afternoon Tea and it was absolutely fabulous. They were so accommodating of our group of 24 and popped us in a small suite of our own. It had floor to ceiling glass windows and was just off the restaurant/bar upstairs so that we didn't feel totally out of the loop. Afternoon Tea was 18euro per person or 35 per pair. There was unlimited tea/coffee/hot choc/lattes etc. and they topped up the food for no extra charge. It was such a great price considering the luxurious surrounding, very professional service and top quality food. We had the added bonus of being entertained by a man who played the piano in the lobby for a couple of hours also. Lovely experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,588 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,170 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $138 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing