We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and well worth the price”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxurious and well worth the price”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Traveling with sister/brother-in-law, we booked two rooms. We were all pleasantly surprised at how luxurious our rooms were. I particularly liked the walk-in shower, separate from the bathtub. Initially our rooms were on separate floors but, at our request, we were moved to the same floor (7th) which has a balcony and a wonderful view of the River Shannon and King John's Castle. The Savoy is within walking distance of The Milk Market, a farmer's market - not to be missed.

We had no wifi in our rooms and did not check out the wifi in the public areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    257
    101
    32
    20
See reviews for
175
464
32
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The savoy is located in the centre of Limerick close to the river Shannon. I stayed on a Saturday night. My room was on the 8th floor - only drawback was that it had a disabled bathroom which I was not told in advance. Otherwise it was a reasonable size, well furnished and clean. There was no external noise during the night. In the room there was complimentary spring water and also a tea making facility.
My room had access to an executive lounge on the 7th floor which has snacks and a comfortable seating area.
Breakfast was excellent and served until 12pm.

Room Tip: Rooms at front on 7th and 8th floors have a great view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed there for two nights. Had dinner in the hamptons restaurant food was lovely. Good choices on the menue. Room was not five star only had one robe and no slippers. The wall was all marked with black lines on it, would probably come off if washed. Stayed on fifth floor the noise of cars and car alarms was very loud so we did not get much sleep, not good enough when on a break. The shower was poor not a bit strong. Towels a bit rough, hot water slow to come in. Rooms nice and big. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely quiet a variety on menue, freshly squeezed orange juice. Staff were polite. Had coffee and my friends had afternoon tea in dineing room and was amazed and not impresses with the dust on the display units. One of the staff moved an ornament on them and did not notice the ring of dust!!!!!. Hotel very central to shops. Would not return because its too noisy bar very small not enough seating area when hotel is buzzy.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th and 5th floor noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catwalk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my hubby's birthday and everything was top class fab room upgrade and the food was Devine loved its location to will be back thank you for a great stay and having great deals on at these very tough times well done

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybe_girl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed with my partner at the Savoy beginning of April and the minute we walked to Reception, we were warmly greeted by a nice receptionist Val who upgraded us to executive floor which was amazing. He told us all about facilities in the hotel and wished us a pleasant stay. The room was lovely with the river view. The bed was the most comfortable bed I had. Breakfast was delicious and our host Eva was very nice. We also met Laura (I think) at Reception the following day and she was very pleasant alike Val. We will be recommending the hotel to all our friends as form the minute we made a booking with Reception, to arrival, stay and check out, it was the most enjoyable stay we had in years in Limerick.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful two nights over a recent weekend at the Savoy. It is all it says it is with a couple of small exceptions. We felt the lounge area off the restaurant on the first floor had a rather spartan appearance immediately you entered as all the chairs near the windows had a hard leather look about them with no variety and an ante room off that area had a very 'hard' feel about it but the bed and room were wonderful. Noise is a bit of a problem despite the double glazing. Hampton's restaurant was one of the best we have been in and the steak was amazing. Would go to the Savoy just for the experience of going to Hamptons alone! All in all a very good experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervynnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My most recent stay in this hotel was my sixth and the reason why I return again and again is that the Savoy has it all - not only is it well located but the rooms are both well presented and generously proportioned. The beds are particularly comfy. The staff are very helpful and pleasant, not only those at reception but through out the hotel. The breakfast selection is fantastic, I can not recommend the Eggs Benedict highly enough. I was part of a large group in Limerick for a rugby match and 15 of us ate in the Hamptons restaurant, over which the hotel sits. Despite being part of such a large group on a very busy match day, not only did everyone enjoy their meal but there were no issues with service etc.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Executive floor, the seventh, as you then have access to the Executive lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,483 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing