We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel - but 4 star rather than 5...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel - but 4 star rather than 5...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Savoy for a night with a group of friends - hotel location is great, although there in no on-site parking.

Arrived around lunch time and had afternoon tea which was included in our package - scones were lovely but sandwiches and desserts were nothing special really. Service was good overall but there was one waiter who didnt have a clue what he was at e.g. told us the tiramisu was chocolate mousse!

Our room was nice, bed was the most comfortable I think I've had in a hotel. Good shower. Only 1 bathrobe though and the hair dryer was a typical useless hotel hair dryer. Nice molten brown toiletries.

Had dinner at the Hamptons resturaunt - really good service and lovely food. Great choice on the menu and our group felt really looked after. We used the €35 three course menu - everyone was happy with it.

A big plus for the hotel is that breakfast is served until 12! Great to have a relaxing morning and not have to rush down to make breakfast - there is a buffet for fruit, breads, cereal etc and hot breakfast is ordered from a menu - lots of choice. I think breakfast was the only bit of the experience that was over and above a 4 star hotel. I did notice that staff were slow to clear tables however, some friends of mine were waiting around 10 minutes to be seated for breakfast.

Overall I would recommend the hotel and we all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandCorkonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    232
    91
    24
    17
See reviews for
155
419
30
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

stayed here on a grabone deal i had purchased as a gift for Christmas. Paid 109 for 1 night b and b afternoon tea and late check out. when i had rang to book i had said to the receptionist that it was a special trip that we were treating our mam's for the night away. Upon arrival i was delighted to hear that we were upgraded to an executive room on the 8th floor with the complimentary use of the executive lounge. What a bonus this was a large room with complimentary snacks drinks teas and coffees as well as large sitting area with tv books and balcony great for people who smoke! we actually made great use of this. Room was very spacious, very clean and the comfiest bed i have ever slept in. Afternoon tea was a lovely touch as we probably would not have treated ourselves if it wasn't included. we had booked dinner in the Hampton, great food, great staff good atmosphere, the only thing i would fault is we felt a bit rushed initially, food came out very quickly. when dessert menu came out we asked to be left for a while as we were so full. I understand they were busy however i wasn't told upon booking that they needed the table back by a certain time, our booking was 6.15. I would highly recommend this hotel the staff were great, and there was a great atmosphere in the hotel one of the busiest i've stayed in Ireland in recent times. Would definitely recommend and stay in this hotel again. Make sure you book early for the Hampton restaurant its great value 25 for 3 courses until 6.30 on a Saturday not sure about other days great choice and fabulous food.

Room Tip: I feel that even if i wasn't upgraded to the executive level that it is worth paying the extra m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sineadandbrendan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel three times now, a long while back but each time it was well worth it. Location is bang on in the middle of the city.The beds are well comfy and massive, very cosy bedding and importantly very clean. Had greats nights sleep each time. Food is great in the hotel restaurant just next door, in Hamptons it has a great atmosphere too and food is nice. The tea rooms are very nice, with the many difference sofas and couches for afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Its in a city,so there is only so much noise you can keep out, but the higher the better or thei inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P5aula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I spent two nights in the Savoy Hotel with five friends - the staff, food and hotel were just amazing - a fantastic experience and would recommend it to everyone - Paradise! Will be returning soon. Congratulations and well done to Mike & all the Staff in the hotel and Hamptons!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Savoy has the perfect location, amazing food, staff is very helpful and so caring....We LOVE IT! Best Breakfast!
Food in Hamptons, part of the hotel is outstanding and you cant get better value for money....A TRUE PARADISE!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VALMV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feakle, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is a modern, clean hotel with all the modern facilities you'd expect in a good 4 star hotel, however when compared with other Irish 5 star hotels, I can't consider the Savoy Limerick as 5 star.this is a great city center hotel. the rooms are a good size, with walk in shower, mini fridge. very nice Molton brown products in bathroom. Breakfast was very nice with the staff looking after us well. staff on the front desk very brill and the food was super

Room Tip: look for any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornelia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is a modern, clean hotel with all the modern facilities you'd expect in a good 4 star hotel, however when compared with other Irish 5 star hotels, I can't consider the Savoy Limerick as 5 star. The hotel has no car park, so travellers must park across the street in a multi-storey carpark. There was no staff to carry luggage or assist customers upon check in. Reception staff are pleasant and friendly, but the only information given at check-in was the time of breakfast. The room was a nice size, comfortable and clean, with nice toiletries and a mini-bar. However the touches that make a hotel have a 5* standard were absent. There were three guests in our room, yet only two bathrobes were provided. There were no hotel slippers, which are usually the norm for a 5* hotel. The food in the restaurant 'Hamptons' was delicious and the service was quite swift, however, residents of the hotel have to walk out the front door of the hotel and go next door to enter the restaurant. The Savoy bar is modern and busy, but is quite small and lacks a huge amount of seating. The leisure club facilities are definitely not up to the standard of a 5* star hotel. The changing rooms are basic and have one towel in a locker, which you need a lock for. There was no hot water in the showers and the sauna and steam room were closed. Very disappointing. The hotel's gourmet breakfast is definitely a feather in its cap; it's served up until noon at weekends and offers a great selection of continental and egg dishes.
The staff are obliging and friendly and apart from the major faux pas in the leisure centre, it's a lovely hotel, but to be rated as a 5 star is a stretch. It's a good 4 star.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skyhighIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 stars 2,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Limerick
Clarion Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#4 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing