We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in need of better staff”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Rooms are great here and very large often with good views but the hotel itself is badly let down by disinterested staff in all departments.
At breakfast our party had to wait for ages for anyone to offer tea/coffee or cooked food.
At lunch time we were sat down in the bar area and again waited for EVER! When the girl did eventually come over she took a drink order from one of our party (there were only 4 of us!) and left to go and get it without asking anyone else!
Checking-out was equally painful - a process that took over 20 minutes and we were the only people checking-out.
Shame really as hotel could be superb with attentive (or even half attentive) staff

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CameramanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were very pleased with our room, the cleanliness, and breakfast at the Savoy. We asked for an extra bed for our son and they literally put an extra bed in the room (not a roll away bed). We could not believe we were getting such a nice hotel at such a great price. The breakfast was delicious. It includes the typical cold buffet but also has a large selection of warm items made to order. The breakfast room is lovely and overlooks the main street below.

Room Tip: Book a room that includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneB35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent a wonderful weekend at the savoy hotel limerick. Staff were extremely professional and couldn't do enough for guests. The pool is very small but the water is really warm and enjoyable. Unfortunately dinner at the hamptons was very disappointing. Food was 5 out of 10 and the staff were 3 out of 10. Shame really as the hotel experience was fab. I will certainly stay at the hotel again but i will not dine at the hamptons restaurant again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The breakfast service is "tops" - warm friendly staff who are very helpful and excellent on detail. On checking out, I forgot to validate my carpark ticket at reception to get the 7.50 euro overnight rate in the public carpark opposite the hotel and instead had to pay 15 euro. However, there was no problem when I went back to reception - they just handed me 7.50 euro and wished me a pleasant day - a nice touch by the ladies at reception - thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel can be noisy if (as in our case) roadworks start at 7.30am on a Sunday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here recently with my partner after we found this hotel on Axa breaks site, under a more deserving 4 star category. Thought we had hit the jackpot, finding a 5 star at these prices. Dont get me wrong, its a beautiful hotel, with all the correct criteria in place, to achieve 5 stars, but lets itself down with small things. The lampshade beside the bed was very shabby, like idle fingers started to pick away at it, the dust in the room right after housekeeping had been in to work their magic. Had a few occasions to ring reception, either for room service, or when the electricity went in our room, due to a bulb blowing in the bathroom. Bad move. The phone rang out several times, then when it was eventually answered, we had to wait over 20 mins, most times, for someone to come to the room. A tip to anyone who likes hard pillows, is to bring your own, the pillows here are rubbish, they look huge, but the minute your head hits it, they collapse into sheets of paper under your neck, mattress wasnt up to much either. They also have this annoying habit of taking bookings for hen parties, 40 of them traipsed into the much over hyped Hamptons restaurant next door, the weekend we were staying. Noise during the night was fairly loud, to say the least. If an hotel wants to masquerade as a 5 star premises, please get the maintenance, and housekeeping sorted, and asspire to give more prompt service on the phone. This is what cuts it in todays world, for the traveller who is spending their hard earned cash, helping the non NAMA hotels to stay afloat.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows. Get a room on the 7th or 8th floor overlooking the Shannon estuary. Make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnjonea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thanks to tripadvisor.com, we selected The Savoy for a last minute weekend stay. It is a beautiful hotel with competent, professional, hard-working staff. The bed was so very comfortable and the room was clean and well appointed. The light switch for the bathroom was a little tricky--it was on the outside around a little corner (above the minibar). DEFINITELY recommend eating dinner next door at Hampton's restaurant--make your reservations now! The hotel's breakfast is wonderfully prepared and served, as well. Over all it was a perfect end to a weeklong stay in Ireland!

Room Tip: Executive room with breakfast included! Gets you access to the Executive club room with snacks!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallmamaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night while I was attending a function in Limerick, Staff very accomodating and helpful, Room spacious, beds comfortable, The Lounge on the 7th floor is great for drinks and snacks, Really liked the shower in my room, breakfast was great, I would highly recommend the eggs benedict

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinekCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,638 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,177 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $135 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing