We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply delightful”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
257 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Simply delightful”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Not only did we love Limerick, but the Savoy was the perfect spot for two weary travelers who were tired of big city hassles. The rooms are large and comfortable, the bathrooms are first rate (with separate tub & shower), and the location is ideal. We walked to two wonderful restaurants for dinner, and to a fabulous coffee house (Arabica) around the corner for breakfast. We also drove to the west coast or Ireland during the day, within easy reach from Limerick.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFM9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    249
    101
    32
    20
See reviews for
171
454
32
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moyard, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I arrived at the Hotel after a day touring the coast with my wife and four hungry/tired kids, you could hear a pin drop with the excitement as we went inside. We were made very welcome by everyone. We went up to the adjoining rooms, which are first class. Rotating plasma TV, huge bathrooms, absolutely spot on. We also ate there, which I must say was also first class. We were tired so went to bed early ....... only to be woken in the morning by the kids bringing me to the pool :-)
This Hotel is what life is all about ...... Relaxing, and at the same time enjoying yourself.
I would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Stayed for one night recently and will definitely be going back. Really lovely hotel, check in was friendly and efficient and our room was absolutely beautiful and really comfortable. We had dinner in Hamptons restuarant and main courses of duck and rib eye steak was so good. Also breakfast the next day was perfect for us and served late which was an added bonus!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliveb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I have to commend this hotel after our recent stay. I booked a family room for 2 daughters, my husband and myself. Any emails which I sent before our arrival were promptly replied to which is always a good sign. Check in was efficient and friendly. Car parking is just across the road and at 15 Euro for the whole weekend I thought was reasonable and secure. We had been given a suite at no extra cost and we all agreed that it was one of the most comfortable rooms that we had ever stayed in. The extra beds for the children were much better than the usual rollouts you get. The air conditioning and double glazing meant that we could cut out road noise without sweltering. There were ample towels and toiletries. We made use of the gym and pool. The pool is very small but adequate for a family splash around. We visited the Liszt Lounge several times for coffee and loved the fact that there was a luxurious feel to the seating yet the children were welcomed and indeed slipped several treats which they appreciated. Breakfast is also served there and as already mentioned in several reviews is top notch. There is a huge range on offer and the quality of the food is impressive and very tempting. Any deviations from the menu are dealt with courteously and the staff are keen to ensure that everyone is kept happy. Nothing is too much bother for them. We were sorry to leave and would certainly book again if we return to Limerick.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acinspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Just read some of the bad reviews, and was wondering whether or not people had stayed in the same hotel as I had.
I was fortunate to be upgraded to a Junior suite, which was bigger than some apartments I have lived in. The room was fabulous, and clean. One of the great strengths of the Savoy is its staff - they are so attentive, and cannot do enough for you. I had tapas in the bar, as opposed to a sitdown meal (although I hear that Hamptons Bar and Grill is top notch) - the dishes I chose were simply delicious, along with my free glass of bubbly (one of the perks, along with free nibblies, if you are staying in one of the suites). Had a great chat with the barman, whilst watching champions league - he also did some very elaborate cocktails for a large group of ladies who had wandered in for a drink.
My trip was for business just for one night, but I will definitely be returning with my wife for a weekend away. Limerick often gets a bad press, but I have to say, having stayed in several hotels in Limerick, of which the Savoy is by far the best, it is fast becoming one of my favourite city destinations. Keep up the good work the Savoy, I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linx28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed in this Hotel for one night, it is very central, staff very friendly, room very nice, spacious and clean, check out at 12, parking limited, so parked across the road in Dunnes Stores for €7.50 over night which was reasonable, didnt have breakfast booked room only, did however want to dine in the restaurant for dinner so went down at 9 and was rudely told by the manager they were booked up and no table available although we could see empty tables, granted maybe they were booked asked about any other restaurants he didnt answer us, he just walked off. I may stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Water20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Just visited this hotel with two friends for a weekend break. We got a good price for two nights b&b with one evening meal at the Market Square Restaurant. We shared a triple room which was grubby. Walls were dirty and marked, no lighting, had to request towels twice as not enough towels left, when towels did arrive (had to call front desk twice) they were wet! Tiles on bathroom floor were loose. On the plus bedsheets and pillows were good quality and beds were very comfortable. We had booked two treatments at the Laserlight Spa, these were cancelled two hours before as one of the staff members called in sick - disappointing. When we arrived and mentioned this to the man on front desk (Christie) he gave us champagne and free parking, this was a very nice gesture and professional of him. We ate in both the Hamptons Restaurant and Market Square which are both based in the hotel. Market Square was excellent, service and food were the best I have ever experienced. Hamptons Restaurant also very good. Breakfast in the hotel is served until 12pm which was really good. The location of the hotel is excellent, all shops, bars and restaurants on your doorstep. I would rate this hotel as four star NOT 5. Next time I visit Limerick I will be staying in the Strand Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloon42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing