We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE! brand new, modern and trendy hotel”
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“STAY HERE! brand new, modern and trendy hotel”
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We stayed here as part of a package with a tour company...and I feel that we truly got a great deal! I could imagine this hotel costing hundreds per night but we got it for practically nothing and feel super lucky!

This is a brand new, super trendy hotel, Flat Screens, new lighting, trendy decor...super clean. Absolutely loved it. Breakfast was great. The restaurant is nice....dinner was just OK though.

Our room was big and comfy..bed was great..TV was large..bathroom was modern....

Location was OK...in an older block but within walking distance to downtown city centre.

I 100% reccomend this hotel and feel it may be the nicest one in Limerick....stay here if you can!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    502
    96
    20
    21
See reviews for
280
885
65
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

I stay in this hotel once a week and have stayed in most reasonable hotels in Limerick for variety. I now always stay in the Absolute. The biggest reason is that the rooms and food are equal to hotels charging close to twice what the Absolute charges. The staff remember me and more important are fairly constant i.e. not a big staff turnover. They are really friendly and helpful in what I would describe as a 'normal' way - just what you want when your away from home. For a bonus you eat and drink over looking a bend in the river - very relaxing. I have tried the Spa once, but that not my cup of tea, but it was very nice...if you like that sort of thing.

I should mention that I am writing this in the Hotel bar as I hear a nice staff member declining tips (in an Irish way...ask me again!) but saying if she (the guest) really liked her stay so much she might write a review on the Trip Advisor site - the poor old dear thought the girl had started speaking a different language! Anyway this is my additional contribution to supporting my favorite hotel in Limerick.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jccusack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Well, this review should be telling you what a wonderful hotel this place is .. It is a stunning hotel, you cannot get a hotel of this quality for similar money! Now why the negative? Well we had a lot of problems with noise as we stayed over a weekend. This was not really the hotels fault but they were not very good at dealing with it. Ask that your room is not anywhere near the vending machine on each floor - they make a really loud noise. They moved us twice in a 4 night stay. We ended up in an amazing room - the manager was great when we finally got to speak to him. Dont let this review put you off as this hotel has a lot to offer!

  • Liked — The rooms were very nice
  • Disliked — Some of the staff - but the local Irish staff and the manager were wonderful.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MartandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Stayed Christmas Night, we were glad to find a hotel open! Upgraded on arrival to a wonderful room clean spacious and modern. Price to stay very reasonable for one night espescially compared to other hotels in Ireland. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

This was a great hotel! I booked because of the swamp of 5 star reviews in Tripadvisor and I wasn't disappointed! From the moment we arrived the customer service was fantastic - so helpful and friendly and above all human - which you rarely find. We were instantly upgraded for no reason at all - we had simply walked through the door to check-in. The room was huge with 2 wall mounted flat screen televisions - one in-front of the bed and one in the seating area. The shower had a head as big as a plate and was sparkling. The room also had two huge windows that were nearly the same width and height as the wall which overlooked the canal and city. The parking was next to the hotel in a covered secure parking facility and they were more than happy to let us leave it there for longer than we should. At night I would recommend that you also eat at the hotel! not only was it cheaper than the many other restaurants and eateries in Limerick - which was a great shock - but the food was delicious and the staff perfect! And just a walk away to your room. Plus the restaurant over looks the river. If you do have more time - you also have free use of the gym or can purchase a facial/massage in their health and beauty spa. Book here - you will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — The views across the city - but it is hard to choose as it was all brilliant
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything! It was really great!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank McCallumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

This was the last stop on our January tour. It had a more modern look to it compared to the other places we had stayed in. Some on our tour didn't care for it, as they preferred the more traditional hotel.
The rooms were spacious suites with 2 televisions, yet the beds were comparatively small like all beds (twin) in the hotels I stayed in Ireland.
I liked the electronics set up that accommodated all types of power sources. That is a great convenience when traveling.

We were rushed through our group dinner as the band had a gig at Dolan's that night. I think the service staff had difficulty accommodating a large group in the off season.

Dinner itself was fine, but again, we were rushed through it.

It appeared that some of the staff were not native to Ireland, so may have been unfamiliar with the cultural traditions. There was a group of men who had come to the bar for a bit of drinking.
They disturbed some of the local guests and later in the evening were invited to leave.

  • Liked — modern electrical access
  • Disliked — lack of security
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ginbeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Where do I start. Rooms not ready 90mins after stated checkin time, guy at Reception completely uninterested (answered the phone while we were in the middle of the checkin process and proceeded to take in a new reservation while we were waiting for him to finish the call!)

We tried the hotel restaurant (which was closed), then walked out of the Bar after the Staff Member threw a tantrum at having to come to our table to take our order (the cheek of us), disgraceful attitude.

Finally got sent to our rooms to find Housekeeping still working on them (at 5pm!), then to find the room keys were coded incorrectly and did not coincide with the room numbers we were given.

One hotel staff member tried her best to make amends, without her intervention we would have checked out immediately because suffice to say this was one of the worst hotel experiences we have had in a long time. During the night we tried to order from the "24hr Room Service" menu only to be told we couldn't. 1hr later after much arguing they reluctantly brought up one sandwich (between 5ppl).

Too add insult to injury one of our company vehicles was vandalised right outside the hotel, a normal occurance in the area apparently.

In closing, I would not recommend the Absolute Hotel to my worst enemy. The 'le chic' rooms themselves are very nicely decorated and the idea is well thought out just poorly executed.

Will never return. in this lifetime.

  • Liked — Nice rooms
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank the_savman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,457 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,464 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing