We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here two nights while on a week trip to ireland and this was the best hotel we stayed in! We arrived early frazzled and discombobulated and our receptionist Kelly was the best! She let us check in early, offered us an upgraded room for 10 euro a night and gave us an awesome view on the fifth floor looking over the city and the water. She also gave us informative info on how to get the cliffs of moher because we merely mentioned it to each other in passing.

The room was verrrry large, modern, and super clean! Big bed, plasma, tons of lighting, small pull out couch, and unique modern amenities. No tub only shower.

Parking was a minor issue but we found out it was a free underground car park. Close to downtown and several sight seeing activities if you don't mind a 10 minute walk. We ate at the hotel bar and grill and it was very good. Both got the salmon. My girlfriend got a 60minute back massage and she said the treatment was fantastic.

All in all a fabulous stay at the absolute!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nwslamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,986 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Situated in a strategic spot that is adjacent to a river and very close to shopping stores and restaurants, Absolute Hotel should definitely be considered when staying in Limerick. In addition, the hotel has a 24hr underground parking lot that is available to guests.

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights recently. We were given a standard room, but upgraded to a suite for only 30 euros. It was well worth it. The room was carpeted, clean, and spacious. There were two flat screen TVs, one in the bedroom and one in the living room with a various mix of channels that were interesting. There was a standard tea and coffee maker with instant tea, coffee, and milk, as well as brochures detailing the hotel's services. The bed was comfortable and large, with a night stand on each side. The bathroom was absolutely (no pun intended) amazing with two sinks, a large bathtub, and a shower. In addition, the suite was furnished with a couch and dining table. What sealed the deal was a balcony which offered a view of the river and town. The staff was very courteous and responded to our needs in a good amount of time. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant in the food was excellent, although the portions could be slightly bigger.

The only negative thing about our stay is a minor one, the shower was slightly clogged, taking several minutes for the water to fully drain after use.

Out of all the hotels my girlfriend and I visited during our seven day stay in Ireland, Absolute Hotel was the best place we slept in. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Do try eating at the hotel's restaurant. Food and service is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoRoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for Valentines weekend from London. We booked a superior room simply for the Kingsize bed but got more of a studio apartment which was fantastic!.
Check in: We arrived before our 3pm check in and our room was available, however, our other room we had booked for the rest of our party was not. This Was not a problem as there was a sofa, chair and bench in our room which they could relax in after a mornings travel, (although it would have been awkward if we were not able to accommodate them and left them in the lobby). We did get the second room before 3pm so they did their best to get it ready, I would rather this than an early checkout.

The Hotel: modern, clean, roomy, fresh, great views of the Abbey River. Big modern bathrooms, good info pack in rooms. Spa, gym and lots of seating areas. The Spa has more of a hairdresser feel when you enter. Which it has, they also offer massage, facials, nails & beauty. Fab when you are not familiar with an area. Unfortunately, the steam room and jacuzzi were no longer available which the manicurist was not sure why but thought it to be that it had proved to expensive to operate. A resale shame because I would have enjoyed the steam room. The gym was small but had all you need and always vacant to use.

The Room: our room was outstanding. A safe, ironing board and iron, hanging space and shelving neatly tucked away either side of the bed incorporated into the design. Frosted glass door lead into the bathroom, even with the interior light on you cannot see in. Large head shower, all supplies except a sponge or wash towel. Towels on the small side and not soft. But the good outweighed the bad ten fold. Large plasma TV with plenty of channels. Good view, temp control, kettle, tea/coffee. Dresser and hair dryer. A approx 30 x 15 ft room...Superb!!. We didn't dine at the hotel except for drinks ( great for a night cap and morning coffee and papers however).

The Staff: The reception staff were outstanding throughout. The spa staff again were fabulous and fitted us in with short notice, also received a 15% discount from reception on enquiring about availability!. The bar staff are a real miserable bunch, possibly overworked and underpaid?, yet everywhere else we went to eat and drink in Limerick the servers couldn't have been more helpful and polite, nothing was too much. Management really need to address this as even a "Good morning" sadly seems too much.

The Location: Right in the heart of the city on the River Abbey, 5 mins walk from town and king Johns castle, lots of bars, restaurants and shops, you really couldn't get better.

The Local Entertainment: We went to The Locke Bar for dinner where we listened to traditional Irish music, fresh oysters on view in a fresh water tank. The food was amazing, the music not to loud so you could talk. A complimentary glass of wine aswel as were chocolate covered strawberries at the end of our meal I couldn't recommend this place more. A visit to King Johns castle 5 mins around the corner is a must at 9€. As is a visit to St.Johns Cathedral. We also ate at The Texas Steakout in town which again was superb.

There is not much else to do in Limerick unless you hire a car and visit Bunratty castle, Adare manor, or The ring of Kerry in the summer along the coast is amazing. Also great for fishing trips and golfing. We had a night at the new dog track, we got a deal online for a meal of chips with a burger, or chicken burger or sausage which sufficed, a drink and a 1€ bet all for 9.99€ each around £6 which couldn't be beat and a great night had by all.

All I would say is avoid certain areas. You'll know when you go there from all the burnt down houses!. But the Hotel, I couldn't fault it, we especially loved the decked outdoor seating area which looked over the Abbey River, we were lucky enough to have a beautiful sunny morning whilst we sat outside and enjoyed our morning coffee. A real gem for approx £70 per night we would definitely go back and pay twice that!. Had it had an indoor pool and friendlier bar staff I would of given The Absolute 5* in my opinion 4*.

Thank you we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked a trip for a group weekend away in February. Irenee and Michelle who were answering the reservations email were extremely helpful and went out of their way to tailor a package to suit the group including dinner and drinks and we thought it was excellent value. Everyone was very happy with the standard of the rooms and the food in the bar - can't fault anything. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth paying a bit extra for as they are really big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I would recommend this hotel for travelers to Limerick. The city itself is kind of seedy but the hotel staff was very helpful. I agree with Paul L, do not pay your bill in dollars. I'm not sure why they would even ask but it is way more expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. The location is slightly outside the town center but we walked to town both evenings (10 minutes). The taxi back cost us 6.5e first night and even less the second night. The room was modern, clean and cosy - the bathroom doors are made from glass, big rain style shower, comfy bed. Our room was on second floor, the window was just above the main road - it can get a bit noisy with the window open. The bar was more of a lounge (no music), the chairs are comfortable and the view of the river is nice. We enjoyed our stay and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night of a cold wet weekend and was very impressed with the hotel . The hotel is a typical new hotel , smart and stylish and modern looking .
The rooms too were of a high standard . One flaw for me was the lounge/bar area , it just felt more like a departure lounge then a welcoming bar , we had planned to settle down there but really the atmosphere wasn't much and we moved on after one drink .
However top marks to the restaurant where we had an evening meal , a very reasonably priced menu and a well presented delicious meal , the restaurant was v busy (obviously word has spread ) and service was probably a tad slow by the otherwise pleasant waitresses.Breakfast too was excellant .
So all in all , a very nice stay and hopefully we'll get back ..

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,636 reviews
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
858 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $101 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing