We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive interior design” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Impressive interior design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at the Absolute in September. I was really impressed by the interior design of the hotel. It is modern with a boutique twist making it very comfortable, a hotel where you would not mind spending a few hours relaxing, although i didn't have time to check out the spa unfortunately. Our room was really nice with a river view. Receptionist Kelly(?) was very genuine and friendly. Breakfast is good with the option to order off the menu. One downside was the residents bar. You get the impression that they don't really want a residents bar, so rather than have one where you feel under a compliment to get a drink and are diverted outside to have it on the top of the stairs, I just wouldn't run this as a service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    484
    95
    18
    21
See reviews for
272
853
62
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stay quite often in the Absolute (Limerick0 for business purposes and am happy to say that the experience is always the best. This hotel knows what service means and they go out of their way to ensure that their customers have an enjoyable stay. Of particular note are the rooms; all are large, very well furnished, very good shower units and everything spotless. On top of that put a good selection of food for the breakfast and again good service and what more could any customer ask for? So far so good with me after staying in the Absolute on many occasions, this is a hotel to stay in. Other 4 start hotels take note: if you want to know how it’s done, stay in the Absolute. They will show you how!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel at a good price. It is close to bars and restaurants, but hard to get to unless you know your way around Limerick. The bed is just ok, but that seems standard for Ireland. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff is lovely and hotel very nice, however I am taking the opportunity of writing this review in the middle of the night as a private party going on somewhere in the hotel making it impossible to sleep.. After a chat with the hotel manager, it comes out that they cannot ask the DJ of the party to quiet down enough for us to sleep. I would NOT recommend this hotel if you expect to sleep and have a restful night! We were just offered at best to move rooms to an upper floor ,in the middle of the night...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Sorry we did not deliver the good nights rest we should have. No excuses! We did have a DJ at a birthday party in the function room below your room and the noise clearly travelled. I’m slightly confused regarding one issue as Eoin the manager dealing with you did ask the dj to turn the music down but I accept that is of no significance if its not quiet enough to sleep. The music should not have disturbed you as there is acoustic proofing in place – it obviously was not successful. We only have events like this at weekends and don’t play music later that 1am. I’m glad to see that we tried to offer some solution when you moved to a higher floor, however I accept that the situation was not ideal. I never like getting 1 star reviews but accept that if you want to sleep you should be able to. I hope that the other aspects of your stay were good.
Regards
Donnacha Hurley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise Co.Laois Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

yet again, for the third time in 12 months we had a fab stay in this hotel.Our ages ranged from 30 - 70 and everyone loved it, the staff are exceptional. from teh receptionist to the bar staff and the restaurant staff. They have one young waitress who is the cutest smiliest young girl I have ever seen working. the rooms are huge, spotless and I am hard to please!!! the food is fantastic. we never eat anywhere else when staying in the hotel. I like to try everything on the menu because everything is as good as each other!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uranus
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Even with an Irish driver, and google maps, this hotel wasn't the easiest to find when we arrived to town. Despite all that we were pleased with the size of the superior room and basic amenities. We did convert the rubbish bin, then kettle (colder quicker) into a champagne bucket with communal ice from the end of the hall way as it was too much for the front desk to send up empty glasses and ice bucket. It is a pleasant modern hotel, and my irish friend without hesitation said he'd stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reportingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Absolute Hotel, having booked a double room and a twin room. On our arrival my husband and I were upgraded to suite which was fabulous! We also really liked the little balcony off our room. The bathrooms were spacious and everything was very clean. Breakfast was very good, with lots of choice. Free parking - great!
The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of all the places that we wanted to visit in Limerick. The countryside around is beautiful, as are the little towns / villages, especially Ennis.
We highly recommend this hotel, and will stay there next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy187153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing