We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, hard to get to”
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel at a good price. It is close to bars and restaurants, but hard to get to unless you know your way around Limerick. The bed is just ok, but that seems standard for Ireland. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,136 - 1,142 of 2,034 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff is lovely and hotel very nice, however I am taking the opportunity of writing this review in the middle of the night as a private party going on somewhere in the hotel making it impossible to sleep.. After a chat with the hotel manager, it comes out that they cannot ask the DJ of the party to quiet down enough for us to sleep. I would NOT recommend this hotel if you expect to sleep and have a restful night! We were just offered at best to move rooms to an upper floor ,in the middle of the night...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Sorry we did not deliver the good nights rest we should have. No excuses! We did have a DJ at a birthday party in the function room below your room and the noise clearly travelled. I’m slightly confused regarding one issue as Eoin the manager dealing with you did ask the dj to turn the music down but I accept that is of no significance if its not quiet enough to sleep. The music should not have disturbed you as there is acoustic proofing in place – it obviously was not successful. We only have events like this at weekends and don’t play music later that 1am. I’m glad to see that we tried to offer some solution when you moved to a higher floor, however I accept that the situation was not ideal. I never like getting 1 star reviews but accept that if you want to sleep you should be able to. I hope that the other aspects of your stay were good.
Regards
Donnacha Hurley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

yet again, for the third time in 12 months we had a fab stay in this hotel.Our ages ranged from 30 - 70 and everyone loved it, the staff are exceptional. from teh receptionist to the bar staff and the restaurant staff. They have one young waitress who is the cutest smiliest young girl I have ever seen working. the rooms are huge, spotless and I am hard to please!!! the food is fantastic. we never eat anywhere else when staying in the hotel. I like to try everything on the menu because everything is as good as each other!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Even with an Irish driver, and google maps, this hotel wasn't the easiest to find when we arrived to town. Despite all that we were pleased with the size of the superior room and basic amenities. We did convert the rubbish bin, then kettle (colder quicker) into a champagne bucket with communal ice from the end of the hall way as it was too much for the front desk to send up empty glasses and ice bucket. It is a pleasant modern hotel, and my irish friend without hesitation said he'd stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reportingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Absolute Hotel, having booked a double room and a twin room. On our arrival my husband and I were upgraded to suite which was fabulous! We also really liked the little balcony off our room. The bathrooms were spacious and everything was very clean. Breakfast was very good, with lots of choice. Free parking - great!
The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of all the places that we wanted to visit in Limerick. The countryside around is beautiful, as are the little towns / villages, especially Ennis.
We highly recommend this hotel, and will stay there next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy187153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

must say great hotel, our group of 12 stayed for mums 50th, some paid before arrival, 8 of us opted to pay cash, i was useing my partners credit card to use as security which is requested in most hotels and which i have used many times, unfortunately the assistant at front desk was not willing to accept unless my partner was present. we offeed to pay cash and use our sisters card who was staying in this hotel also as security,also this attendant would not accept, we offered to pay all cash on arrival again this is not accepted at the hotel, we had to call 3 other hotels from this hotel lobby to find accom,which were all full, finally a solution a family member used a visa debit to paywhich after 40 very upsetting minutes we were booked into our rooms,had dinner that evening, great food and staff, again pity as a member of staff silt a drink on my sister at the dinner, she handed her a cloth and asked was she ok and left our table,not returning to ask how her about her outfit and if it hand dried up!!! nice hotel but dont approach without credit card!!!!would have rated better had it not been for the bad start which did upset alot of our evening

Room Tip: ensure u have a credit card!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Its always disappointing when guests feel they are not looked after so I’m sorry you felt aggrieved regarding our procedures. However our credit procedures are very clear and we follow them to ensure health/safety and security for all guests & staff. We communicate them on our website and all the third party booking sites.
As a standard we need to be able to verify the identity of the guests in a booking before check in. We do this primarily through the presentation of a valid a debit or credit card. Our front office manager checked you in and as none of the 8 people had or was willing to provide a debit/credit card at check in we could not proceed. The card used to guarantee the reservation was not presented on arrival. I wish I could have made it easier as issues like this are not
Regarding the spilt drink in the restaurant we should clearly have gone back to ensure everything was ok and dealt with it, particularly if there was a stain. This was wrong and we should have done better.

Donnacha Hurley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have just returned from a seven day stay in the hotel with my husband and daughter. We booked a twin and a double room, both were spacious and clean.Breakfast was nice plenty of choice but would have liked a fruit smoothie or fruit yoghurt.We had a couple of meals in the bar and enjoyed them, the bar staff were friendly and efficient,as were the rest of the staff,There was a small but well equipped gym and secure car parking which is one of the reasons we choose this hotel.The only negative was the location of the hotel , the area around seemed a bit run down but it was quiet enough and within five minutes walking distance to the town.Definately worth a visit and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSIEBLUE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,728 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,211 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $109 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing