We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the Absolute”
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in the Absolute”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just back from the Absolute hotel. This is the 4th or 5th time we've stayed and its always enjoyable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and food great. Walking distance to the city but thats only if you need to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the syuites they are huge and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfitz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    502
    96
    20
    21
See reviews for
280
885
65
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at the Absolute since it opened in 2007! My friends & I have friends in Limerick so we stay at the hotel every few months...

The staff are always efficient, friendly & welcoming. We've got to know a lot of the staff over the years & they're lovely!
The rooms are lovely & are always spotless. The restaurant is excellent & they do the best hotel breakfast I've ever had!
It's a very short walk into town which is handy!
The spa is fabulous, the therapists are excellent & the treatments are fab!

I find the hotel to be very reasonably priced. The service really is second to none & I always enjoy my time there!
:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Modern hotel right by the rivers and near John's Castle. We got an upgrade to a great modern room with a central part-wall dividing bed and living areas; TV on both sides of the wall; settee, desk and armchair on one side, bed and storage space on the other. Nice well equipped bathroom. Comfortable bed, air con and road noise slightly intrusive but not enough to keep you awake. Overall great accommodation. Breakfast was OK but not great - prunes could be used to fill potholes. Nice airy dining area overlooking the river.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I won a 2 night break for this hotel on today fm so it was an extra bonus! Loved the hotel, rooms were fab, food excellent, staff were super friendly. The hotels location was great, we spent most of our visit in Clare doing the touristy thing. We will definitely be back to stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury W.A
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights in this hotel in mid July (it was very hot). The rooms were airconditioned but no fridge in room. when I requested one as neither of us were well they said only had 2, however the nextday one became available but when it was delivered it did not work. We arrived a little early and had to go for a walk for 2 hours before our room would be ready, however it was not ready when we returned and it was 4.15pm before it was ready. They use contractors and do not communicate with them. Staff are at a minimum, only one person on reception and no other staff in sight, which we found unusual after touring Europe and being used to staff around the reception areas. Room was comfortable enough but being on the edge of the town would be best for only 1 or 2 nights. They seem to specialise in conferences or hens nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnchrisBunburyW_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for the review and I’m genuinely sorry you had a few issues.
We don’t have any fridges in any room in the hotel but for medicine etc we do have 3 on standby. I have tested all three and they appear to be working fine so I cant explain what happened.
Check in time is 3pm and we should have all out bedrooms back by then. Earlier that that and we are dependent on people leaving their rooms early as check out time is 12.
I have no contractors working in any area that looks after customers so I don’t know where the contractors comment comes from - obviously you had a bad interaction with someone.
Midweek we have one person per shift on the desk but we have an assistant in the back office who is available until 6pm aswell as a duty manager. It can seem quiet on the ground floor as the bar, restaurant and meeting rooms are all on the 1st floor.
We do have conferences and at weekends in the season do have hens but we don’t specialize in them as that would indicate that they form part of the core business which they don’t. If they disturbed your visit then that is disappointing and wrong. It is always a challenge to run a hotel looking after families, couples and groups and ensuring they all have a great experience side by side.
I really hope that these issues have not put you off us and indeed limerick and that you might come back to us at some stage in the future.
Regards
Donnacha Hurley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great experience with this hotel. The price was great and the accommodations were outstanding. Large rooms with comfortable beds. The location is right in the middle of great sites. The restaurant was good for the most part. We were a family of six and the were able to accommodate us in two rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhawks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very impressed with the Absolute Hotel in Limerick, it is centrally located so there is a lot on your doorstep like the Hunt Museum, St John's Castle and the Milk Market. We were upgraded on arrival to a beautiful large suite overlooking the river and with a great view of the city. The space and light in this room was amazing and the design very impressive. This has to be one of the quietest hotels I have stayed in with no noise from adjoining rooms or banging doors. The bar and reception staff were very nice and helpful. We didn't eat here so I can't comment on the food but we did have breakfast in the Milk Market which was wonderful and well worth a visit on a Saturday morning to catch some of the atmosphere in this busy market. My only negative comment is the Spa doesn't seem to allow you to wander down like in other hotels - you have to ring them to see what time they are open etc (not listed anywhere that I could see in the hotel information) this was a bit off-putting so I didn't get to see it but apart from that we really enjoyed our stay at the Absolute.

Room Tip: Corner suite large, sunny and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollieEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,458 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,464 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing