We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest and recent feedback on Absolute Hotel, Limerick, Ireland”
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
“Honest and recent feedback on Absolute Hotel, Limerick, Ireland”
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Beautiful setting on the banks of the Abbey River and far enough removed from the buzz of the city centre to allow a luxurious accommodation to thrive due mainly to its outstanding Front of House team, excellent bar- and fine-dining eating options, spa facilities, quiet gym and spacious and very well equipped bedrooms.

World-class service is on hand 24hrs/day and this is supported with excellent business and conferencing facilities if applicable.

I have stayed there for one month with my team of colleagues and we are all in agreement in this being our European hotel of choice when available.

  • Liked — Excellent service and local ammenities
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Harris_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    506
    96
    21
    22
See reviews for
291
900
66
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

We stayed in the absolute hotel for a midweek break, and honestly wouldn't go back. There are some good points about this hotel, mainly the high quality furnishing of the rooms and the modern feel of the hotel but thats where the positives end.

The bad points of the absolute are..

The quality of the towels & face cloths in the bathrooms are awful. This hotel is only open a year, but the towels look to be second hand. They were small, thin, and frayed. One of our bathtowels had the word 'Peamount' written on it in permanent marker... which used to be a hospital in Ireland.. so I really question where the hotel sourced their supplies. At the end of my stay I wished I had brought my own towels.

There is no room service to the rooms... this lack of service is not acceptable in 'top quality' hotels in Ireland. One of the treats of staying in a hotel is being able to order breakfast in bed... not the case here unfortunately.

There is no mini bar in the rooms... but you can go to the 'larder at the lift' which basically is a vending machine. To get an item out of it you have to use your swipe card... which never worked for us. It was a complete disaster.

Using your swipe card to get up to your floor in the lift is a good idea in this hotel, as there was no security or front of house staff when we came back late one night. However, during our 2 night stay, both of our cards malfunctioned and we had to get them revalidated.

Theres no baths in any of the standard or deluxe bedrooms :( So, if you want a relaxing bath, either upgrade to a suite (we had a look, its not spectacular), or go home.

Theres no swimming pool on site.. they use one thats somewhere in limerick. There is a thermal spa, which is 20euro per hour. Its nice, but very small.

So, all in all, everything is hard work at the absolute hotel. If you want a nice relaxing break, then I would give this place a miss. If your on business, then there is no option of relaxing in your room for dinner. If you just want to sleep in a nicely decorated room... then go for it.

We won't be back though.

  • Liked — modern feel
  • Disliked — old horrible towels
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank honeymonsterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

I stayed here before and gave it a pretty decent review...the rooms are lovely but ive since stayed again and attended a conference here and my opinion has really changed. Firstly, the keycard elevator thing is a nightmare. It doesnt work properly!! My main thing though is the food in the restaraunt...not good. I ate 3 meals there a dinner and two lunches. I so wanted it to be good because it looks so nice but it is terrible. One lunch we got was tiny and definitely lastnites leftovers. The chicken was so dry and disgusting and im not so fussy. Its trying to be fancy but doesnt use top quality ingredients i suspect ...even tho the prices are pretty steep! Neway, stay here if you like a nice room but are just using your hotel to sleep and not to eat your meals because you really can do a lot better for food!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank star1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2008

At $130 per night, our stay at Absolutehotel.com (that's the actual name of the hotel!) was absolutely worth every penny.

Location - the Hotel is probably 15-20 min walk from central Limerick and the area is fairly neat. We found parking easily in the hotel garage, and the fact that it was free aleady scores well with me. Travellers, who complain about the lack of mini-bar should consider that most hotels collect upward of 20 euro per day for in-house parking!

Check-in/Staff - Check-in was fast and efficient, we didnt wait more than 5 min for the whole procedure to complete. What did strike me as odd is that the girl from reception personally came to bring me a LAN cable for my laptop, which probably does mean that there is not enough staff in house. In any event, this does not affect my satisfaction with this hotel.
Check-out was even faster, I personally had no problems whatsoever with the staff.

One complaint, though, wireless internet did not reach 4th floor, so we had to use wired option (both are free).

Rooms - they are decently sized, and so is the bathroom. Everything was sparkling clean, new, very pleasant, please see pics for more visual info. Baby cot was provided for our little traveller, as well as extra linens and towels.
Hotel grounds are also very modern and hip, I am only sorry, we did not spend more time in this hotel.
Highly recommend to anyone who likes value for money, and clean-cut, modern look of their accomodation. And yes, you probably have to live without room service or mini-bar. Duh!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bulgarian_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lurgan
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Stayed in hotel 25-27th April for a conference at the University which was only a short distance away.A large foyer had a group of young receptionists who were very friendly and helpful with a matter of fact approach of getting on with the job while conversing with you. We were in a good sized room on the second floor with an adequate bathroom and toiletries. The large rain shower head was good. The hotel was within easy walking distance to the centre of the city.Limited car parking but lucky to get a spot and got another spot outside on kerb infront of electricity doors. Adequate breakfast and received fried eggs instead of scrambled when I asked the waitress. I could appreciate the comments from the other reviewers and they each made their points. That is what this is all about and I made my decision. We left it late to book a meal and all places were booked out until around 10.00pm. We went for a walk and found a basic restaurant where we had a perfectly adequate dinner at a reasonable price-O'Grady's Cellars.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No possibly of room service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

First impressions of everything to do with this hotel are good but dig just a little deeper and it falls apart.

Staff good but very few and far between
Parking - maybe 1 space for every 3/4 rooms.
No room service - thats a policy by the hotel - not sure they can call themselves a hotel if they have no room service ?

General feel is of an apartment block - very strange feeling when there's almost no staff available anywhere.

No mini bar.

We stayed in a suite (Room 330) which was really nice with 2 LCD TV's, power showers etc. But again TV channels basically the free to air, lovely table & chairs but for what - no room service. We were really looking forward to breakfast in bed but couldnt even order extra loo roll as no room service....

The breakfast is a buffet style - and honestly its the cheapest food going - manky sausages etc - stale bread (and we were down about 8.30am)

We cancelled our second night there and booked into another hotel for the Sat night - gave them our reasons same as described above and it was no surprise to them.

So if you want a good room for a night at a reasonable price and eat / drink outside the hotel go for it.

If you want a Hotel and a "nice" weekend away with the usual bit of pampering, absolutely forget it - think twilight zone for the lack of staff.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank davecarroll01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We had a great experience on this hotel.

The room was ready when we arrived and the receptionist explained us everything about the hotel (breakfast times, spa opening hours, etc.) and was very pleasant.

The room was big, with a big tv, modern decor and even internet in the room, big bathroom, no bath tube, but we were on a double room, no special double or suite, and it was explained on website, so it was ok.

The decor was modern and pleasant.

The gym was small, but not tiny, and you can control the tv's there, and it has more than enough equipment for a hotel gym.

We didn't have a car or eat at the restaurant, so cannot comment on parking or the food but the restaurant seemed nice.

Check out, we checked out at the same time as 3 other rooms, so reception was busy, but it was efficient and the girl at the desk was pleasant, ever with a queue and phones ringing, she manage everything with a smile on her face.

We left our luggage there for a couple of hours, only complaint there the luggage room was unlocked when we returned and you didn't get any tickets for your bags and we had to go and take them form there, we later noticed that it was unlocked because they were working in the room, but still you just told them which of the bags were yours.

Very near to city center and tourist attractions, we walked to and from everywhere and always felt safe, even at 2am

  • Liked — Everiything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Popi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,537 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing