We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so so...lots of issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“so so...lots of issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

I stayed here before and gave it a pretty decent review...the rooms are lovely but ive since stayed again and attended a conference here and my opinion has really changed. Firstly, the keycard elevator thing is a nightmare. It doesnt work properly!! My main thing though is the food in the restaraunt...not good. I ate 3 meals there a dinner and two lunches. I so wanted it to be good because it looks so nice but it is terrible. One lunch we got was tiny and definitely lastnites leftovers. The chicken was so dry and disgusting and im not so fussy. Its trying to be fancy but doesnt use top quality ingredients i suspect ...even tho the prices are pretty steep! Neway, stay here if you like a nice room but are just using your hotel to sleep and not to eat your meals because you really can do a lot better for food!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank star1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    487
    96
    19
    21
See reviews for
276
862
64
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

At $130 per night, our stay at Absolutehotel.com (that's the actual name of the hotel!) was absolutely worth every penny.

Location - the Hotel is probably 15-20 min walk from central Limerick and the area is fairly neat. We found parking easily in the hotel garage, and the fact that it was free aleady scores well with me. Travellers, who complain about the lack of mini-bar should consider that most hotels collect upward of 20 euro per day for in-house parking!

Check-in/Staff - Check-in was fast and efficient, we didnt wait more than 5 min for the whole procedure to complete. What did strike me as odd is that the girl from reception personally came to bring me a LAN cable for my laptop, which probably does mean that there is not enough staff in house. In any event, this does not affect my satisfaction with this hotel.
Check-out was even faster, I personally had no problems whatsoever with the staff.

One complaint, though, wireless internet did not reach 4th floor, so we had to use wired option (both are free).

Rooms - they are decently sized, and so is the bathroom. Everything was sparkling clean, new, very pleasant, please see pics for more visual info. Baby cot was provided for our little traveller, as well as extra linens and towels.
Hotel grounds are also very modern and hip, I am only sorry, we did not spend more time in this hotel.
Highly recommend to anyone who likes value for money, and clean-cut, modern look of their accomodation. And yes, you probably have to live without room service or mini-bar. Duh!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bulgarian_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lurgan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

Stayed in hotel 25-27th April for a conference at the University which was only a short distance away.A large foyer had a group of young receptionists who were very friendly and helpful with a matter of fact approach of getting on with the job while conversing with you. We were in a good sized room on the second floor with an adequate bathroom and toiletries. The large rain shower head was good. The hotel was within easy walking distance to the centre of the city.Limited car parking but lucky to get a spot and got another spot outside on kerb infront of electricity doors. Adequate breakfast and received fried eggs instead of scrambled when I asked the waitress. I could appreciate the comments from the other reviewers and they each made their points. That is what this is all about and I made my decision. We left it late to book a meal and all places were booked out until around 10.00pm. We went for a walk and found a basic restaurant where we had a perfectly adequate dinner at a reasonable price-O'Grady's Cellars.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No possibly of room service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

First impressions of everything to do with this hotel are good but dig just a little deeper and it falls apart.

Staff good but very few and far between
Parking - maybe 1 space for every 3/4 rooms.
No room service - thats a policy by the hotel - not sure they can call themselves a hotel if they have no room service ?

General feel is of an apartment block - very strange feeling when there's almost no staff available anywhere.

No mini bar.

We stayed in a suite (Room 330) which was really nice with 2 LCD TV's, power showers etc. But again TV channels basically the free to air, lovely table & chairs but for what - no room service. We were really looking forward to breakfast in bed but couldnt even order extra loo roll as no room service....

The breakfast is a buffet style - and honestly its the cheapest food going - manky sausages etc - stale bread (and we were down about 8.30am)

We cancelled our second night there and booked into another hotel for the Sat night - gave them our reasons same as described above and it was no surprise to them.

So if you want a good room for a night at a reasonable price and eat / drink outside the hotel go for it.

If you want a Hotel and a "nice" weekend away with the usual bit of pampering, absolutely forget it - think twilight zone for the lack of staff.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank davecarroll01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

We had a great experience on this hotel.

The room was ready when we arrived and the receptionist explained us everything about the hotel (breakfast times, spa opening hours, etc.) and was very pleasant.

The room was big, with a big tv, modern decor and even internet in the room, big bathroom, no bath tube, but we were on a double room, no special double or suite, and it was explained on website, so it was ok.

The decor was modern and pleasant.

The gym was small, but not tiny, and you can control the tv's there, and it has more than enough equipment for a hotel gym.

We didn't have a car or eat at the restaurant, so cannot comment on parking or the food but the restaurant seemed nice.

Check out, we checked out at the same time as 3 other rooms, so reception was busy, but it was efficient and the girl at the desk was pleasant, ever with a queue and phones ringing, she manage everything with a smile on her face.

We left our luggage there for a couple of hours, only complaint there the luggage room was unlocked when we returned and you didn't get any tickets for your bags and we had to go and take them form there, we later noticed that it was unlocked because they were working in the room, but still you just told them which of the bags were yours.

Very near to city center and tourist attractions, we walked to and from everywhere and always felt safe, even at 2am

  • Liked — Everiything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Popi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Parking: Crazy parking situation. Not ample parking for hotel, so we had to park across the street in another car park.
Check in: Terrible. Staff member checking us in was not pleasant, seemed to be new and took ages trying to locate our reservation and sort out our room. She asked if I had booked a smoking room, to which I replied no. When she handed me the key cards, I specifically asked her to make sure that this wasn't a smoking room, as this was not what I had booked. When we reached the room however, there was a stale smell of smoke and an ashtray in the room.
When I queried about moving, I was advised that the hotel was fully booked.
Noise: Our room was directly above a function room, which was holding a wedding reception on the first night of our stay. We were awake until 3am because of loud music which we could clearly hear in our room. When I called the front desk to complain I was advised that this would continue until 3am and there was nothing that could be done about the noise. A room apparently became free and they offered me a room on the same floor but the staff member could not garantee that the noise would be any better. As we were in bed at this stage, I declined the offer to move.

The next morning I complained to a manager, who frankly seemed completely disinterested. He did not apologise for the noise, but instead offered to upgrade us to a suite on the second night of our stay, which was fine.
The suite was not overly impressive for a 4* hotel.

Hotel does not do room service of any kind, and does not have a mini-bar in room. The towels are of poor quality and small.

All in all, I would not reccomend this hotel. For the same price, I would recommend staying in one of the other 4* hotels in Limerick, such as the Hilton, which we usually stay in. I think the reviews here on tripadvisor are very misleading about this hotel.
This is the kind of place that may be suitable for a hen weekend or something similiar but certainly do not go here if you're looking for a relaxing night away!

  • Liked — Proximity to Limerick City
  • Disliked — Pretty Much Everything!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LB147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Arrived at the Absolute late at night on a Friday, found a parking space about 200 ft from the hotel with no problems. Went in to check in, and was greeted by a friendly receptionist who took our details and setup the room for us.

On the way up to the room, I saw the coolest thing ever in a hotel. Alcohol vending machines. The prices were about the same as in a mid-priced pub, but it was great because the alcohols came with mixers even!

When we walked in to the room, I was blown away. The room was very modern, large, and very clean. Nice giant lcd/plasma tv, big bed, and tons of light switches! The bed was very comfortable and the blanket quite warm.

We had Dinner at the hotel restaurant on Saturday... I'd probably not go there again. The food was fine, but quite expensive.

All in all, great hotel, amazing price, and nice location!

  • Liked — Room was beautiful and clean
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing