We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“work stay - ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“work stay - ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

just ok. nothing special. felt the menus were limited.breakfast was nothing to write home about.
rooms were fine. they were clean which is the most important. clean and comfy.

i.don't know. felt there was something missing and i don't know what....

meant to be a gym and i thought great but very pokey room.so i didn't bother

would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petalsrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Sorry we didn’t deliver to the level we aim to and you expected. I can see you generally were not blown away but it would be great to get any specific feedback we could action on. I see you felt there was something missing. The gym is small, more a fitness room but there is everything in the for a CV and resistance session. The most disappointing thing is that you would not stay here again and that is something I wish I could work at to get you back again.
Regards

Donnacha Hurley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    487
    96
    19
    21
See reviews for
276
862
64
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The directions on the hotel's website are incorrect so we spent over an hour driving around Limerick to get to it. You turn right at the Great Gas garage coming from the M7, not the Emo garage. The facilities are average at best. Breakfast was good, but dinner wasn't great. A basic request such as a baked potato with dinner instead of french fries or mashed potato could not be met in the bar and grill. The room was spacious, had stains on the carpet and looked over a block of flats. The bathroom had a rainfall shower and the instructions of how to turn for hot and cold water were the wrong way around. The door to the bathroom was made of glass and there was a sizable gap between the door and the frame was unusual and not to my liking. There are vending machines dotted around the hotel, which we could never get to work. The ice machines on each floor didn't work either. Checkout time is 12 and this was not flexible even to the tune of half an hour in our case. I have stayed in other hotels in Limerick that are far better and much more reasonably priced than this. There is no pool either, which I would expect for a hotel like this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug1981Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Sorry we did not deliver the experience we want to deliver.
Fair point on the directions – they have just rebranded the emo to a great gas and we were not sharp enough to change it quick enough. We don’t offer baked potatoes on the menu and it fairness it would take too long to prepare there and then – we’ll always try to be reasonable in looking after guests in their requests. Carpet obviously should not have been put back into availability if it was marked. The hot and cold shower directions can be misinterpreted, the issue is do you move the lever at the bottom towards the temperature preference or away! The glass does have a gap but it should not be excessive but I acknowledge that it was not to your liking. The vending machines on the floors are interfaced with room keys but credit lines need to be open for it to operate. I cant confirm if this was the case or not. I checked the ice machines and they were working but I accept there could be an issue with the defrost cycle or some other issue. I understand the frustration regarding the checkout time but if we need the room for arrivals then it is critical that we get in to clean otherwise we inconvenience other guests. We are not trying to me rude and will try to accommodate where possible. I am disappointed that you know far better and much more reasonably priced hotels than the absolute – we’ll take on board the feedback and drive on to try and deliver. We do not have pool but never claim to have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We selected Limerick as our home base for our Irish adventures on the west coast on a recent vacation and really enjoyed the hotel. Very modern, the suites overlook the river, and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The restaurant is a bit overpriced, but otherwise I would highly recommend this modern hotel. There is a small gravel lot directly across the street that was open and free all 3 of our nights, so keep an eye out for that if you have a rental car!!

Room Tip: The normal rooms were fine, but if you want the nice view of the river, select one of their suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

It has the look and feel of a trendy, cosmopolitan boutique hotel situated in Dublin or London. We had a VERY spacious, stylish room with an immaculate bathroom.

Friendly reception staff were at pains to point out that we would save money by adding breakfast to our room-only deal rather than just walking in the following morning. Glad we did, it was an excellent meal.

The dining room was closed at dinner time although the adjacent bar offered the full menu in pleasant if busy surroundings.

Free, secure parking was a bonus.

Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Prop1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gargunnock
Level Contributor
227 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I only stayed one night but would use this place again. It is central enough and sits on an island in the River Shannon where it meets the canal. The place was very clean, the windows opened and the service was efficient. Breakfast was fine as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Really nice modern hotel. The rooms were gorgeous and really clean - loved the exposed brick on one wall feature. Very much boutique-style and very cool. This type of room in New York would cost an arm and a leg. Excellent value for money.

Also want to applaud the very friendly and efficient staff. We were there on a work event and they couldn't have been more helpful. Niall and Daniel were terrific in events dept. Niall organised everything seamlessly for us and Daniel was a great help to us on the day of our event. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he always had a smile on his face. Brilliant service.

Breakfast was also really good. It was definitely a step above your typical Irish breakfast buffet. Also liked the fact that you ordered your hot breakfast off the wait-staff and that it wasn't sitting slowly dying under a carvery light for hours. Had a really delicious fresh omelette that set me up for the day.

The only thing I would say is that the bar food is quite expensive. For me they were dinner prices in a good restaurant for bar food. But the food was good so can't complain that much.

Overall a really impressive hotel. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinKaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

On arrival the hotel seemed good, plenty of free secure parking, really friendly and helpful receptionist, clean modern building and room. The entertainment system on the tv was really user friendly and a nice added extra.
the bar was much smaller than we thought it would be for such a big hotel, there isn't a great selection for lunch and its over priced. We left straight after eating because the bar and upstairs lobby were doubled up as a playground. There were kids running everywhere without any obvious supervision. Some of the kids were throwing ice off the balcony which we informed staff about. We had planned to relax in the hotel for the afternoon but this was out of the question, we had to go to a pub in town.
Dinner was included in our deal. It was only ok, nothing more than that, quite bland.
Breakfast buffet was good, good selection, and quality and all fresh and hot. We ordered a portion of poached eggs that took 20 minutes or more to arrive are were the worst poached eggs ive ever seen. the breakfast staff all looked like they didnt want to be there, they had miserable faces and barely spoke when they had to.
the spa is lovely and ok value.
all in all its a nice hotel, good location but far from perfect and i dont know if i would return because of the bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kildarereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm glad to see that overall your enjoyed your stay but i am taking note and will review as we always do the very specific issues you have raised in a number of areas. Its a shame when someone says they would not return, but i accept your concerns. i hope on balance you will be able to return to us.
Kind Regards
Donnacha Hurley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing