We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice modern hotel”
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

On arrival the hotel seemed good, plenty of free secure parking, really friendly and helpful receptionist, clean modern building and room. The entertainment system on the tv was really user friendly and a nice added extra.
the bar was much smaller than we thought it would be for such a big hotel, there isn't a great selection for lunch and its over priced. We left straight after eating because the bar and upstairs lobby were doubled up as a playground. There were kids running everywhere without any obvious supervision. Some of the kids were throwing ice off the balcony which we informed staff about. We had planned to relax in the hotel for the afternoon but this was out of the question, we had to go to a pub in town.
Dinner was included in our deal. It was only ok, nothing more than that, quite bland.
Breakfast buffet was good, good selection, and quality and all fresh and hot. We ordered a portion of poached eggs that took 20 minutes or more to arrive are were the worst poached eggs ive ever seen. the breakfast staff all looked like they didnt want to be there, they had miserable faces and barely spoke when they had to.
the spa is lovely and ok value.
all in all its a nice hotel, good location but far from perfect and i dont know if i would return because of the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kildarereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm glad to see that overall your enjoyed your stay but i am taking note and will review as we always do the very specific issues you have raised in a number of areas. Its a shame when someone says they would not return, but i accept your concerns. i hope on balance you will be able to return to us.
Kind Regards
Donnacha Hurley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,197 - 1,203 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel and friendly professional staff. Was asked if we would like complimentary late check out. Restaurant closed but food served in bar was very good. Location is very good also.Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmarDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a two night stay with B&B included. It was a great weekend away! The staff, food, rooms and facilities were excellent! We had a three course meal the second nite at the hotel for €20 each and it was fab! There is a great atmosphere at the hotel. The only problem I had was parking. Due to no space in the hotel car park I parked across the main entrance of the hotel where about 12 cars can park. This area is not part of the hotel but you can park there. The receptionist did explain that it's not a secure car park but as I suffer from back pain it was either park there or in a multi storey car park on island road which would require a short walk and cost. Unfortunately both my wind deflectors were taken and an obvious attempt to take my mud flaps was also evident! My friends car wasn't touched just mine!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Beautiful modern hotel, stayed last August for 3 nights + dinner package deal which we got off hotels website. On arrival was lucky enough to get parking. Walked from car park into reception. Lovely bright foyer nice seating area and complimentary daily paper . Michelle on reception was very nice & helpful as we arrived a little early our room wasn't ready. We went for a walk around to pass the time. Area around hotel a little rundown. Came back to a beautiful suite room on 3rd floor over looking river. Lovely large bed, sofa, full glass windows & door. Modern bathroom. It was right over the smoking area for the bar which we didn't realise until 1.00a.m. So if your a light sleeper like me you're likely to be kept awake with late night drinkers.

Breakfast was nice with serve yourself food, the serving area could get a little cramped as everyone was converging into the same little corner waiting for toast etc. The porridge was just delicious so creamy, so do try it.
We had 2 course dinner on one evening which was nice, service wasn't that great, left waiting, while people who came in after us were served. I had cheese cake for desert it wasn't nice, didn't taste fresh and was disappointing. We had a voucher for free glass of house wine which was a nice touch.
Overall I'd have no hesitation of recommending The Absolute as a place to stay and would like to visit it again sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the 15th and 16th of December 2013.

Initial impressions of the hotel was that it was very nice and modern and the staff were polite and friendly.

I was pleased to see that you can't access the room floors without a room key, something I've seen in many hotels and a feature I'm a fan of. The room was very simply decorated and lovely, with some hanging space built in behind the bed and an iron and ironing board in the room which I think is an essential in hotels.

On the first night I ate in the bar and the food was very good. The next day we had a family meal in the restaurant and the food was again very good and the staff attentive.

I didn't have breakfast in the hotel and did not use the spa facilities so I can't comment on these.

Overall for a short stay, I think this hotel is excellent and would highly recommend it.

I don't have any photos but the rooms match exactly what is advertised, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deasyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We got a great deal online on web, with free inhouse movies, B & B. Room was fantastic partition wall divided our 6 year old from his parents! Flat screen tv on his side and we had one on our side of the wall! Very modern interior very clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, and we had meal in restaurant which we could not fault very tasty and very well presented. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We arrived late so we had to park outside hotel as carpark in hotel was full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have just had the most wonderful four days staying at The Absolute.
From checking in, to paying the bill, it was an experience never bettered.
The staff were helpful and attentive. The hotel was spotless and the food was great.
Plus points were, Parking (free) Staff, Comfort, Food and ammenities.
Minus points......these can be summed up in one word......NONE
Thanks for a great stay
Harold

Room Tip: Try to be nice to the Staff, they will respond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffsFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,685 reviews
4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
889 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
1,196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $99 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing