We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

We had a great experience on this hotel.

The room was ready when we arrived and the receptionist explained us everything about the hotel (breakfast times, spa opening hours, etc.) and was very pleasant.

The room was big, with a big tv, modern decor and even internet in the room, big bathroom, no bath tube, but we were on a double room, no special double or suite, and it was explained on website, so it was ok.

The decor was modern and pleasant.

The gym was small, but not tiny, and you can control the tv's there, and it has more than enough equipment for a hotel gym.

We didn't have a car or eat at the restaurant, so cannot comment on parking or the food but the restaurant seemed nice.

Check out, we checked out at the same time as 3 other rooms, so reception was busy, but it was efficient and the girl at the desk was pleasant, ever with a queue and phones ringing, she manage everything with a smile on her face.

We left our luggage there for a couple of hours, only complaint there the luggage room was unlocked when we returned and you didn't get any tickets for your bags and we had to go and take them form there, we later noticed that it was unlocked because they were working in the room, but still you just told them which of the bags were yours.

Very near to city center and tourist attractions, we walked to and from everywhere and always felt safe, even at 2am

  • Liked — Everiything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Popi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    487
    96
    19
    21
See reviews for
276
862
64
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Parking: Crazy parking situation. Not ample parking for hotel, so we had to park across the street in another car park.
Check in: Terrible. Staff member checking us in was not pleasant, seemed to be new and took ages trying to locate our reservation and sort out our room. She asked if I had booked a smoking room, to which I replied no. When she handed me the key cards, I specifically asked her to make sure that this wasn't a smoking room, as this was not what I had booked. When we reached the room however, there was a stale smell of smoke and an ashtray in the room.
When I queried about moving, I was advised that the hotel was fully booked.
Noise: Our room was directly above a function room, which was holding a wedding reception on the first night of our stay. We were awake until 3am because of loud music which we could clearly hear in our room. When I called the front desk to complain I was advised that this would continue until 3am and there was nothing that could be done about the noise. A room apparently became free and they offered me a room on the same floor but the staff member could not garantee that the noise would be any better. As we were in bed at this stage, I declined the offer to move.

The next morning I complained to a manager, who frankly seemed completely disinterested. He did not apologise for the noise, but instead offered to upgrade us to a suite on the second night of our stay, which was fine.
The suite was not overly impressive for a 4* hotel.

Hotel does not do room service of any kind, and does not have a mini-bar in room. The towels are of poor quality and small.

All in all, I would not reccomend this hotel. For the same price, I would recommend staying in one of the other 4* hotels in Limerick, such as the Hilton, which we usually stay in. I think the reviews here on tripadvisor are very misleading about this hotel.
This is the kind of place that may be suitable for a hen weekend or something similiar but certainly do not go here if you're looking for a relaxing night away!

  • Liked — Proximity to Limerick City
  • Disliked — Pretty Much Everything!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LB147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Arrived at the Absolute late at night on a Friday, found a parking space about 200 ft from the hotel with no problems. Went in to check in, and was greeted by a friendly receptionist who took our details and setup the room for us.

On the way up to the room, I saw the coolest thing ever in a hotel. Alcohol vending machines. The prices were about the same as in a mid-priced pub, but it was great because the alcohols came with mixers even!

When we walked in to the room, I was blown away. The room was very modern, large, and very clean. Nice giant lcd/plasma tv, big bed, and tons of light switches! The bed was very comfortable and the blanket quite warm.

We had Dinner at the hotel restaurant on Saturday... I'd probably not go there again. The food was fine, but quite expensive.

All in all, great hotel, amazing price, and nice location!

  • Liked — Room was beautiful and clean
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

On Arrival we got no welcome from receptionist. We were told room was on 4th floor and that was it!!! No mention of where things like bar, breakfast etc. Rooms were very nice and modern but cold on arrival. Went to the Cafe and ordered food and after paying and waiting for 30 mins I approached a waiter who took my order and he looked at me as if he had never seen me before. Hadn't started to make up sandwich, in fact didn't even remeber order!!!! Called for supervisor and asked for refund. They couldn't even calculate how much I was owed!!! Suprvisor didn't even apologise. Hotel is nice but please do not expect a good level of customer service. Would never stay here again with family. Ok for stagand hen parties maybe. Car park is very small and was full up so we had to park out on the street on a double yellow!!!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ConorWestmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

Just stayed my second time in this hotel.

It is one of the best hotels in the country ive stayed in... and ive seen my share...

I love staying here and wouldnt consider staying anywhere else in Limerick.

There's SECURE car parking but not a huge amount of spaces so if its a must get there early!!

The sfaff there are always top class, any one of the staff ive met was always very helpful and friendly.

The rooms are really nice yet functional. Modern in design, always spotless and very comfortable.

Only ate here one of the times and i couldnt fault the food either.

The thermal suite comes highly recommended for an hour!! Check it out if you stay there, will de-stress and unwind the most wound up!!

Almost looking for an excuse to go to Limerick again to stay there!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SullyR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

Highlights: Professional, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff, new clean hotel, convenient location, excellent breakfast, air conditioned rooms smallish but more than adequate; would like more privacy in the bathroom; ask at reception for additional secure parking if the underground carpark is full - its available across the street; only gripe is that this hotel is probably better than it appears as there is no information provided in the rooms (e.g. no ironing board in the room but available if you ask); would be happy to stay here again

  • Liked — Ticks almost all the boxes
  • Disliked — The bathroom arrangement is not quite soundproof
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Runner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

we stayed just 1 night at this great hotel with easy access to hotel carpark- we arrived late (23.00) but had a very warm welcome( customer sevice is excellent) -room was very spacious and modern - with very nice furnishings and large comfy bed
large bathroom with with dinner plate shower head -we had no problem with frosted door into bedroom (other reviewers have)
we would stay here again as we thought the hotel was excellent value -we ate breakfast nearby at the wild onion -which we also recommend

  • Liked — room- size & comfort
  • Disliked — bath towels quite small
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing