We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quality food quality room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“quality food quality room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I picked this hotel because it has free parking (secure underground). Hotel was a little tricky to find though. My room was really spacious and clean with a good sized bathroom with plenty 0f space to put your things. Breakfast was reasonably priced and really good - plenty of choices and some healthy options.
My only complaint is that you could hear noise from other rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fratersmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    487
    96
    19
    21
See reviews for
276
862
64
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I never do reviews but I wanted to do this one. My sisters wedding was on in the Absolute Hotel during Christmas and I have to say I was very impressed with the facilities, staff, food and the hotel in general. We got our make up done before the wedding in the salon and the team were so professional and friendly and we were all very happy when they finished. My husband and I stayed over and the rooms are really nice, very modern, clean and comfortable. Every bride wants their day to be special and the Absolute definitely helped with that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Npower2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

stayed here in april 2012 with my boyfriend .... went with the escape spa package and an upgrade to a superior room (their rooms really are superior)

started off to a great holiday great food .... lovely spa treatments and a trip to their in house hair salon all the staff are so friendly really are

in our package deal we got a complimentary bottle of persecco on arrival ,100 euro voucher for their in house spa and a three course meal , and breakfast both mornings all inclusive all for 365 euro which i though was amazing they only fault the have is the bar and resteraunt menu is very the same but on that note their food is good so i let that slide

i have a great praize for the staff as i fell really ill while i was there .... the night porter did everything in his power to help even got an on call doctor and sent up a bottle of lemonade and water free of charge they also the next morning the morning we where ment to leave rang the room to check on me and sent up tea and croissants let my boyfriend know if i needed anything at all it was no problem and add on a late check out too free of charge they where so hospitadble and caring it was unbelievable they have an excellent team of staff there very professional and really go that extra mile for their guests !!!!

Room Tip: superior rooms are amazing !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Absolute for a family weekend break in early January .
The room was spacious clean and well serviced.
The staff were friendly polite and very helpfully. I must point out that one staff member stood out Aidan the bar man /waiter in the abg bar . He provided excellent customer service especially to our young son and made us all feel at ease.
We eat both nights in the hotel .The food was excellent and good value for money in the restaurant 25 euro form a three course menu with plenty of choice of starters and main course.
The hotel is in an excellent location just a 5 minute walk from the town centre

I was also lucky enough to enjoy a morning in the spa which is based in the hotel. A peaceful and enjoyable experience which I would highly recommend.

This is our second time to stay at the hotel and we will definitely be returning in the future. It was enjoyable stay in a nice relax environment

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlowCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, La
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was a very modern hotel. very neat glass bathroom and shower. Parking inside, and very kind people working there. I had a pre-paid room and did not try the spa or pool, so I could not comment on those items. I surely would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamike2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I visited over the Christmas holiday, which was difficult as few places in Ireland are open. The room rate was something like 55 euro per night, which was ridiculously cheap. The rooms were very nice (although the frosted glass doors leading to the bathroom leave little privacy and really should be replaced with wood doors), and the staff were extremely helpful. The staff alone would give the place 5 stars. There is a car park right underneath and shockingly, they don't charge extra. The restaurant is the only spot with a few kinks. The first night we had a delicious dinner (pate and fish and chips). This was really well done. Breakfast the next day was also very good. The second dinner was not so great - the sea bass actually smelled- which sea bass should not do as it is a very mild fish. The second breakfast was also not so good - the poached eggs had a really unpleasant metallic taste that made us think they were using the poaching water over and over and just adding vinegar each time. They also served us instant coffee. They said they ran out of pot coffee but we suspected that they didn't want to make more because the dining room was closing soon. I would definitely stay here again, I just would plan to eat outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chisoxbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
So first off, sorry for the inconsistencies in the restaurant. Nothing ruins a good experience like inconsistency in service delivery. I was however glad to see that overall you were happy and yes we are the only hotel in limerick with free parking facilities for our guests. I will follow up on the egg and sea bass comment. I’m really disappointed in the coffee comment as if for any reason we did not have demand to put another full filter brew through the machine we should have offered a coffee from the bean to cup machine in the bar – never instant.

regards
Donnacha Hurley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed here on a number of times. On our most recent visit we had a meal included
as part of our package. On arrival we were told the hotel was quiet so didn't need to book a table. When we later went to the restaurant a large table of 10-12 people was being served but we were told it was closed and we would have to dine in the bar! We were a bit put out but with a nice table overlooking the river we soon forgot about the "closed restaurant" - that was until we saw another group arriving and insisting they have a table in the restaurant and duly being accomodated!
Is there a reason for two tiered standards?
Not a happy customer on this occasion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Ger L
We really hate having people not being happy. First off, Sorry. We were not consistent in our approach and because of that we alienated you. Over the next few quiet months we do try and serve in one section only, by the bar. We put in place staffing levels to cover the seating area we think we will require. Without making any excuse for what happened it appears we had a large table book and we had to sit them in the other section. We would not have planned to operate the area and full covers spread out over the sections. The team asked you to fill up the bar area but the following party of guests arrived and demanded and said they were promised the restaurant. The team capitulated. This resulted in the appearance of double standards. It is probably true to say that because the second group were adamant about their booking, they got what they believe they were told. We will take the feedback and wherever possible accommodate guests or ensure that our explanations are consistent.

Regards
Donnacha Hurley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing