We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough - finishing touches needed.”
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Initial impressions of the Absolute Hotel were good - impressive lobby and friendly staff.

I was checked into a room on the fourth floor, and when I entered the room I noticed a lot of traffic noise. I went over to close the window to find it was closed! The room was far too noisy to hear a phone call, let alone sleep. I called reception and they managed to move me to a room at the other side of the property, although I had to return to the reception desk to pick up a new key as they were short-staffed.

The rooms were well furnished, albeit a little cosy. The bed was a standard double in my room, and I would have expected a king sized double in a modern hotel. There was an LCD TV on the wall, and a free wired internet connection. As with a number of hotels I have stayed in recently, the power connections have been put too close to the work desk surface and I was unable to plug in my laptop or mobile power pack.

The bathrooms were nicely furnished, however the finish around the shower enclosure meant that water spilled out onto the bathroom floor when the shower was running and drenched the towel I thankfully had on the floor.

The restaurant on the first floor was well furnished. The menu didn't cater for plain eaters, but the food I had was excellent. I finished off the meal with a 'Polar Bear' - hot chocolate with a shot of mint liqueur. One work of warning for the soup starter - they are served in large 'buns' which somehow absorb the heat of the soup into the bread walls and this can be scaldingly hot.

There was a small, but functional, gym in the property with some cardio kit and a multi-gym. The property also has a jacuzzi / steam / loungers in the spa area, however they close at 19:30, which is not much good after a hard day's work when you need a relax.

The property had free parking underground, but there are not enough spaces to accommodate all guests and I believe the alternative is a chargeable option across the road.

In summary - a nice hotel, good food, good price, but please make sure you request a room on the river side and not the road side.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank youngsterdave76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,896 - 1,902 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2008

Stayed at this hotel at the end of October and we loved it. Centrally located. Large, clean, comfy rooms with quirky blue lighting everywhere. Friendly professional staff, particularly the poor bar man who kept going, with a smile :-) , serving us drinks until nearly dawn....
Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, buffet style, hot and delicious; catering for all tastes.
Overall, wonderful place at reasonable price.
Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

This hotel is amazing even by USA standards. When so many hotels are cookie cutter, Absolute is far from it. The modern design was clearly a mix of architect/designer colaboration. The design is simply stunning from the lobby to the rooms to the restaraunt. The food is spectacular and well worth making the reservation. Absolute Hotel is THE place to stay in Limerick and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahambrizendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights (10 - 14th) in January and would have to say that this is one of the best hotels that I have stayed in for a long time. Check in was handled in a very friendly and efficient matter by a lovely lady called Berlyn, she upgraded our room at no extra cost which was really lovely. The whole ambiance of the hotel is relaxed, friendly and cosy. Our rooms were fantastic, spacious and well equipped. The beds were really comfortable and the room has a plasma screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities and seating area and modern shower.

Breakfast was also well catered for with a nice variety of options available. We also had occasion to use the spa and found the therapists to be polite, friendly and very good!!

Location is also great, it overlooks the river Shannon and is about a 5 minute walk to the town centre, and a good base if you're planning on travelling around the area. All in all we had a really lovely stay and i would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DeeLiteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

My adult son and I stayed there for one night in October on our way to another stop in Ireland. I wish we could have stayed here longer. The hotel is a stylish, modern building clad in bright blue neon and was pleasant in every respect. Reception was friendly and efficient, the room was very spacious, comfortable, and decorated in an attractive manner. The bathroom was kitted out with upscale products and had a very interesting translucent door that clouded over when occupied but otherwise was clear. A tongue-in-cheek sense of humor was evident throughout the literature and signage. In other words, the place was fun. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were also very enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank Shanachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We stayed here on New Years Day for 2 nights.We were greeted by a lovely and very pleasant young woman. We were given a fabulous room with a balcony on the 3rd floor. The room was large and very comfortable,it was a suite but still it was special. The bathroom was large with decent sized seperate bath and shower and lots of toilitries and towels. We had dinner in the restaurant that night,the food was top class and we had a very helpful and patient waiter taking care of us. My husbands food allergy was'nt a problem and the staff there made dinner a pleasure.Same for breakfast excellent service and choice. The location is so handy only a 3 minute stroll and you are in the city centre. The only dissapointment was having to check out. Thanks to all in the absolute for an absolutly brillant break.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Stayed in the absolute over new year 2007 and it is way above average for Ireland.Staff are excellent - friendly and the bar food is a level ahead of the usual cafe stuff big hotels serve.As other reports have said it's very modern but unforunately the surrounding area isn't.Some very run down houses straight outside detract from an ultra chic hotel front.

It's on par with say a Raddison or some of the mid range Hilton's.Ice machines on every floor - air con that actually works - if a little noisy - and a breakfast that includes everything you'll ever want.It will be nice in summer as it's located right next to a small river and you will have great evenings on the outside decking.

Limerick is pretty much a shopping street and nothing else.I'm not passing this way again (I'm in Ireland twice a year for weekend breaks) but can easily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Steve486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,729 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#9 of 20 in Limerick
1,214 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $109 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing