We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect”
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just perfect”
Reviewed January 31, 2008

Stayed at this hotel at the end of October and we loved it. Centrally located. Large, clean, comfy rooms with quirky blue lighting everywhere. Friendly professional staff, particularly the poor bar man who kept going, with a smile :-) , serving us drinks until nearly dawn....
Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, buffet style, hot and delicious; catering for all tastes.
Overall, wonderful place at reasonable price.
Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    505
    96
    21
    22
See reviews for
283
895
66
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

This hotel is amazing even by USA standards. When so many hotels are cookie cutter, Absolute is far from it. The modern design was clearly a mix of architect/designer colaboration. The design is simply stunning from the lobby to the rooms to the restaraunt. The food is spectacular and well worth making the reservation. Absolute Hotel is THE place to stay in Limerick and worth every penny.

  • Liked — The design was jaw-dropping
  • Disliked — Location is okay, but not prime.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahambrizendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights (10 - 14th) in January and would have to say that this is one of the best hotels that I have stayed in for a long time. Check in was handled in a very friendly and efficient matter by a lovely lady called Berlyn, she upgraded our room at no extra cost which was really lovely. The whole ambiance of the hotel is relaxed, friendly and cosy. Our rooms were fantastic, spacious and well equipped. The beds were really comfortable and the room has a plasma screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities and seating area and modern shower.

Breakfast was also well catered for with a nice variety of options available. We also had occasion to use the spa and found the therapists to be polite, friendly and very good!!

Location is also great, it overlooks the river Shannon and is about a 5 minute walk to the town centre, and a good base if you're planning on travelling around the area. All in all we had a really lovely stay and i would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Liked — Bedrooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeLiteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2008

My adult son and I stayed there for one night in October on our way to another stop in Ireland. I wish we could have stayed here longer. The hotel is a stylish, modern building clad in bright blue neon and was pleasant in every respect. Reception was friendly and efficient, the room was very spacious, comfortable, and decorated in an attractive manner. The bathroom was kitted out with upscale products and had a very interesting translucent door that clouded over when occupied but otherwise was clear. A tongue-in-cheek sense of humor was evident throughout the literature and signage. In other words, the place was fun. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were also very enjoyable.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We stayed here on New Years Day for 2 nights.We were greeted by a lovely and very pleasant young woman. We were given a fabulous room with a balcony on the 3rd floor. The room was large and very comfortable,it was a suite but still it was special. The bathroom was large with decent sized seperate bath and shower and lots of toilitries and towels. We had dinner in the restaurant that night,the food was top class and we had a very helpful and patient waiter taking care of us. My husbands food allergy was'nt a problem and the staff there made dinner a pleasure.Same for breakfast excellent service and choice. The location is so handy only a 3 minute stroll and you are in the city centre. The only dissapointment was having to check out. Thanks to all in the absolute for an absolutly brillant break.

  • Liked — Staff really pleasant and helpful
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Stayed in the absolute over new year 2007 and it is way above average for Ireland.Staff are excellent - friendly and the bar food is a level ahead of the usual cafe stuff big hotels serve.As other reports have said it's very modern but unforunately the surrounding area isn't.Some very run down houses straight outside detract from an ultra chic hotel front.

It's on par with say a Raddison or some of the mid range Hilton's.Ice machines on every floor - air con that actually works - if a little noisy - and a breakfast that includes everything you'll ever want.It will be nice in summer as it's located right next to a small river and you will have great evenings on the outside decking.

Limerick is pretty much a shopping street and nothing else.I'm not passing this way again (I'm in Ireland twice a year for weekend breaks) but can easily recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — food and modern feel.
  • Disliked — location is a bit shabby.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We have just spent a few great nights at this hotel and we would highly recommend it. The hotel has a very modern design that is applied throughout the building. The reception area, bar, and dining room are all well decorated with comfortable furniture. The atmosphere is friendly, relaxing and welcoming. The staff were all nice, very helpful and took care of everything for us when asked.

On arrival we were upgraded to the ‘cosy room’ at no extra cost to a spacious room with a river view. When I booked several months previously I had simply emailed the hotel asking for a nice view as we would be there for a few days over New Year. I did not expect to be upgraded to a bigger room and it was certainly appreciated.

The bedrooms also fit with the rest of the hotel. Very modern in design, with all of the usual features that you would expect from this type of hotel. Everything was clean, in good condition and the room was very spacious.

The location is OK. Most of the other city centre hotels are marginally closer to the town centre. However, we are talking about a few hundred meters, not miles. The hotel is located on the river and has a small terrace that is probably very nice in the summer. As it was winter we preferred to stay in the warmth of the bar!

In the interest of proving a balanced view there are only a couple of small points that you might call ‘negatives’. The gym is very small. It would do for a quick 20-30 minute work-out but there are not many pieces of equipment. I’m not sure if they offer room service. We did not want it but I saw no mention of it. Other than that check into this hotel with no worries at all and enjoy the stay.

  • Liked — design, atmosphere, great rooms and good price
  • Disliked — poor gym
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeSkiSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,500 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing