We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Altaf KhanThe Manager very Responsive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Limerick
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Altaf KhanThe Manager very Responsive”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had been given a noisey room on a previous stay but based on Trip Adviser reviews thought Id give it another try.I wrote to Altaf in advance and asked for a quiet room ,he responded straight away and gave me an excellent room at the back on 6th floor and some goodies on arrival.He also checked afterwords to see how it went.
Excellent price/value ratio.I went mid week when down town was quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreganoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    438
    158
    54
    38
See reviews for
178
475
78
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I spent last weekend with family and friends at The George Boutique hotel. Really enjoyed the stay. Our bedroom was spotless with a very comfortable king sized bed. Compliments to the chef as every one of our party enjoyed their meal, with no complaints or issues. Staff were efficient and friendly throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nano186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at The George last Friday night. The food at dinner was all delicious, and staff were attentive and friendly. Entertainment on the night was brilliant. Very warm, friendly and cosy feeling to the hotel (first time there), and would certainly go back. I would also recommend it to others. The location could not be better, smack bang in the centre of the city.
The bedroom was spacious, clean and had a comfortable bed.
No complaint whatsoever, and thoroughly enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaranBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the George Boutique Hotel.

It’s great to hear when we hit it spot on, our team will be delighted to see your comments.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon at the George Boutique Hotel.

Kind Regards

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the George Hotel in Limerick Oct 7-9th 2013. The reception staff, especially Kevin, were all very helpful and patient. They answered our questions, let us move rooms when we complained of outside noise, got us directions to golfing, opened the parking garage when we needed our car early and also assisted when we needed help with the guest laundry. Our room was 3005 which was very quiet - but we were there during the week and it is over the bar so could be loud on weekends if a band is playing..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill in a comment on your stay at The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick City.

We are constantly striving to improve our guest’s experience and it really encourages us when we get good feedback so thanks a million.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The George Boutique Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The George is a well known name in Limerick and its makeover has produced a hotel with very comfortable rooms, in a convenient location. They are clean and spacious with comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and fast wi-fi. A bottle of water is left for guests and there's even a fridge that works!! The bathroom while spacious has little in the way of toiletries, apart from soap dispensers. Unfortunately there is no shower screen, but an acryclic curtain which I prefer not to come in contact with.

Reception is on the first floor and is reached by lift, escalator or stairs from the street. The check in area is on the right and then to the left is a bar and beyond that an eating area. There was live music in the bar on the night in question, I couldn't hear it from my room but a colleague had to ask at 0030 when the music would stop, such was the noise in his room.

Breakfast was a poor enough affair, watered down juice, not much of a choice in the way of fresh fruit and a "self service" buffet with a staff member present. I was handed a very small portion of scrabbled egg on a small plate and had to ask for more. Is this all about portion control? To be honest if you've paid for breakfast why should you have to ask for a bigger portion, when its supposed to be a buffet? Don't bother with breakfast there are plenty of small cafes around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, its much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fingalflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback as we take all feedback seriously.

We have a very good selection of buffet items in our hotel - the idea behind our buffet is that you can revisit the buffet as many times as you like and always ask for more food as a lot of our guests do. On our menu we have: Pork Sausages, Black & White Pudding, Grilled Bacon, Rustic Potatoes, Baked Beans, Grilled Tomatoes, Sautéed Mushrooms, Scrambled Egg, Orange/Apple Juice, Selection of Cereals, Croissants, Fresh Fruit, Yogurts, Breads, Assortment of Jams & Honey for €10.95.

The other cafes etc in the area offer a full breakfast for around €7.00 which only includes full Irish Breakfast (one egg, two rashers, black and white pudding, grilled tomato ,mushrooms, toast and tea or coffee. They do not include fresh fruits and selection of fruits or choice of breads) as compared to list of items listed above.

As regards music in the hotel, we are well used to catering to every person needs as a city centre hotel which attracts people who are in limerick enjoying themselves. We also have adult guests as well as a party crowd. That’s what make for a great atmosphere in our hotel. We do proactively try to manage our guests so that they all get the experience they expect. We have guests who ask for quite rooms especially for Saturday night stays and they are allocated quite rooms.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed a week at the George Hotel in Limerick as part of a tour of Ireland. Our breakfast and dinner was included. Our room and bathroom was attractive and comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The meals were of high quality and well-cooked. We especially enjoyed the sirloin steak on our last night. The staff were very helpful making sure we got a taxi at a very early hour for our trip home as well as offering tea and fruit that morning even though breakfast was not being served yet. My only complaint was that we heard loud late night noise from the street on weekend nights because we slept with the windows open--the room was a bit stuffy and the duvet/puffs a bit warm for early October. Our room was 5011 but we had a friend in 4022 who heard no noise on her side of the building so I guess you should ask for a room on the quieter side of the building if you want the windows open at night. I would definitely recommend the George as a good value with helpful staff, comfortable rooms and excellent food.

Room Tip: See review. Ask for rooms on the quiet side if you want the window open at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Reception staff, especially Kevin, consistently addressed any concerns or questions with a patient, can-do approach! Very pleasant staff. Breakfast buffet and dinner food was average. Room was clean, comfortable and met expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms on interior are quieter since friend changed room. Do not get a room above bar area: noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL-USA-KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
2,364 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
#15 of 20 in Limerick
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Limerick

Property: The George Limerick
Address: Shannon Street, Limerick V94 FC65, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most centrally located of Limerick hotels, The George Limerick Hotel is a luxury 4 star Limerick hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. Located in the heart of the commercial district in the centre of Limerick city, the George Limerick Hotel sets new standards in lifestyle hospitality. Our Limerick Hotel gift vouchers are the ideal gift! A luxury hotel that will not disappoint! Boasting an eclectic mix of contemporary style and comfort, guests can experience the perfect match of cutting edge cosmopolitan boutique hotel style and an unparalleled standard of service in swish luxury hotel surroundings in the heart of Limerick City. This 4 star Limerick Hotel in Limerick City Centre offers world class luxury accommodation sure to impress even the most discerning traveller. Our central location will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore vibrant Limerick City. Free overnight parking and free WiFi in our luxury boutique Hotel Limerick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing