We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THANK GOODNESS IT HAD WI FI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Limerick
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“THANK GOODNESS IT HAD WI FI”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Next on our Insight Tour was The George BOUTIQUE Hotel, for one night 18 August. Question, does boutique mean its upstairs or that linen is so odd as we found in our room. As users of the George will know the hotel nominally faces O'Connell Street but you enter from a side street and are faced with a single lift and a single escalator up to a dark space with two "reception desks". The escalator goes up or down at the whim of staff??
Our tour group arrival was marked by a "sturdy" youngish man who, on his own, had to constantly consult a computer screen and then flick through a hardly held bundle of room-key folders over and over and over again seemingly in endless fashion till he allocated a room to the restless and tired throng before him. Using alphabetical order as we had seen elsewhere just was not done here. WHAT A START!!
Once in, we found our room overlooked O'Connell Street once you pushed the furniture away from the window, opening upward as usual for noise and limited fresh air. Not necessarily a blessing as we found later!!
Rooms in this standard of Irish hotels are over-furnished for the space, usually with a big old style arm-chair as well as a desk/table and its chair with a king/queen bed in what was built as a double. Our bed seemed to be nearly king-size (by pushing together two smaller beds) with a duvet/doona that was queen size AND THEREFORE DID NOT FIT THE BED. So somebody lost the battle for the doona that night. No A/C in this room.
Towels were old and thin, just a shower in the bath with a nylon screen, no washer again, no clock or radio, BUT wi fi was available and working.
After a settling drink we checked out O'Connell Street nearby, found nothing leaping out to attract us and settled for more beer, wine and snack food in the George's bar (a not very exciting area besides reception, which then was re-arranged to double as breakfast space in the morning). The toasties and chips were good, served by a pleasant waitress which helped.
Next morning team reaction was that b/f was just passable, with a limited range and patchy service.
NOW for our night-time entertainment while fighting over the doona!!! Limerick had been in a losing Hurling final that Sunday and the locals celebrated?? in the restaurants and bars until 2am and later. They were NOISY and some found doorways toilets; seeing two yobs leaping into and destroying a planter/flower feature below while taking photos and howling to the moon was local colour we could have well done without. (No fault of the George in this).
Certainly not the best on our Tour and glad to be on our way. (Next Killarney Towers, Killarney) Killarney.

Room Tip: Choose your room carefully especially if something is on in Limerick!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarcyJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through these comments we can continually improve on the service we provide to our guests. We have taken your comments onboard and will wwork towards recifying them.

I hope that I will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    440
    158
    54
    38
See reviews for
178
475
78
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I'm away from home 20 days out of the month for business, so I've seen a few hotels. The George Boutique Hotel is one of the nicer ones I stay at. The rooms are average sized for European hotels and are clean and well kept. The staff is polite and accommodating, with Berit, one of the reception staff members, going out of her way to show me the hotel's amenities.

The hot breakfast is a very nice way to start the day, especially if you like traditional Irish or English breakfast fare. Lighter options are also available. Being located near the city center assures you that a multitude of eating and shopping options are within easy walking distance.

Being located near the city center also contributes to the one negative aspect of the hotel, that being the noise. During the day, it's primarily motor traffic, and evenings and nights are notable for rather boisterous pedestrian traffic. This issue, however, is nearly universal to all centrally located hotels, so I can't really blame the hotel.

Overall, a good place to stay in Limerick.

Room Tip: As there is no air conditioning and you will likely want to sleep with the windows open during the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK_7937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catskills
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a nice property in the middle of Limerick. The rooms are comfortable and air conditioned which you would appreciate in the summer. The restaurant and bar do a good job. There are plenty of pubs within walking distance. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herecomesaregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the George Boutique Hotel.

It’s really great for our team to see positive feedback.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely Boutique Hotel, City Centre , Parking a short distance away no problem, Rooms Excellent clean modern and well serviced, Breakfast very very good, Check in fast and efficient second floor up an elevator/stairs unloading area outside Hotel ,Staff efficient and friendly overall great Hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goy359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked last minute and was good value seeing as it was a Friday night. We were given a very small room facing O'Connell St. Light switches were all over the place, after looking for the switch we had to ring to find out when it was, they told me behind the tv, was actually behind a little brochure stand on the desk??? But have to say that the room was very quite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiptopcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through these comments we can continually improve on the service we provide to our guests.

I hope that I will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the George for three nights in August 2013. We were given a beautiful room
with a great view overlooking the city and from our arrival to our departure the staff In all areas of the hotel were extremely courteous and always attentive. We ate in the bar on numerous occasions and the food is excellent and consistent with a wide ranging menu. The hotel is extremely good value for the quality of service it provides and its prime location to adjacent restaurants and shopping make it a must stay in Limerick. We were widely travelled this summer for a variety of reasons both at home and abroad and the George can hold its own with anything on offer.
Derek and Deirdre

Room Tip: Have stayed on several occasions and never got a bad one. Views better at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Location couldn't be better.

Right in the heart of Limerick city, with the fabulous Le Chocolate restaurant downstairs. It is a pricy, but overall would definitely return.

Rooms are spacious and bathroom large also.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chillip-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
#15 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Limerick

Property: The George Limerick
Address: Shannon Street, Limerick V94 FC65, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most centrally located of Limerick hotels, The George Limerick Hotel is a luxury 4 star Limerick hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. Located in the heart of the commercial district in the centre of Limerick city, the George Limerick Hotel sets new standards in lifestyle hospitality. Our Limerick Hotel gift vouchers are the ideal gift! A luxury hotel that will not disappoint! Boasting an eclectic mix of contemporary style and comfort, guests can experience the perfect match of cutting edge cosmopolitan boutique hotel style and an unparalleled standard of service in swish luxury hotel surroundings in the heart of Limerick City. This 4 star Limerick Hotel in Limerick City Centre offers world class luxury accommodation sure to impress even the most discerning traveller. Our central location will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore vibrant Limerick City. Free overnight parking and free WiFi in our luxury boutique Hotel Limerick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing