We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel great food!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Very nice hotel the rooms were large and beautiful. The beds were awesome. We had a great view. The kids swan in the pool and it was very warm and clean. We ate dinner in the bar and the food was great and the breakfast was also very good the next morning just a little pricey.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burkettfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,525
    634
    183
    72
    40
See reviews for
538
776
110
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

For all of you girls that need timeout to recharge either on your own or with your friends, can I suggest this hotel. Situated in Limerick city, you can park up and stroll over the river Shannon to visit the shops and have lunch out. Back at the hotel, the food is excellent, served up by competent, friendly staff who are more than willing to converse with you. The decor is modern and the rooms have all the facilities expected.
The bar has a good lively atmosphere and plenty of staff so the you are not kept waiting for service. In terms of value, certainly no complaints. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just spent a very enjoyable night away in the Strand. Firstly, the location is perfect for a shopping trip into the City, leaving the car at the Hotel and taking a very pleasant stroll over the bridge to a great selection of shops. My friends and I (three ladies in total) availed of the dinner/bed & breakfast package on Saturday night and received extremely good value for money. The food was excellent and the Hotel has an extensive wine selection. The waiters were amongst the best I have encountered and nothing was too much trouble. We headed to the bar following our meal and there was a lively atmosphere with good music and craic. All in all, we had a fabulous time and will most definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed at The Strand hotel over Christmas holidays as we were going to a rugby match at Thomond. Its a great location as it is just a trip over the bridge to get to bars, restaurants and shops and just 10 mins walk from Thomond. I couldn't fault the hotel itself. The room was lovely - we had a balcony overlooking the river with our own Christmas tree.. Bar food was lovely - even though the bar was packed, the service and standard of food was great. Would definitely recommend The Strand for a Limerick city break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

the bar is lovely and cosy warm with good staff have eaten here three times in the past two weeks as meeting people nearby and the food is fine but no more the tapas is average bought in from a wholesaler rather than an artian supplier and given the price it is not good enough
i got three the scampi was poor and the wild mushroom was not bad all were served with bread rolls pity really a nice idea let down
i had to send the burger back as it was burnt and got the club instead which was good
the other two times the food was a bit better but nothing special

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in the Strand Hotel on the 14th December after a Christmas shopping trip to Limerick. We wanted somewhere central and in walking distance of bars and restaurants if we choose to go out so the location did not disappoint. They have a secure underground car-park as well which was convenient but unfortunately they charge 5 euro a night for it. On check in I asked if they had any nice rooms to upgrade to but I was told the hotel was fully booked as there were Christmas parties on,we were pleasantly surprised with the nice room we were given none the less.
We visited he leisure centre next which was nice and the staff were friendly, on return to the room I opened the wardrobe to hang our coats up and I was greeted with what I can only describe as the worst smell of body odour I can ever recall! I called my fiancé and we tried to investigate if the smell was coming from someone having ironed sweaty clothes on the ironing board or if it was from the spare blankets in the wardrobe! We decided as the hotel was fully booked the best idea was to close the wardrobe and put up with the smell as they had already told us that there was no other rooms available. The next morning on check out we thanked the receptionist and quietly raised the issue of the foul smelling wardrobe before they gave the room to another guest, her reply was this "Oh how awful for you, I'll get someone to clean it" and she proceeded to charge us full price along with the price of 2 bottles of water and the 5 Euro parking, might I add it wasn't that we were asking for a discount or would have excepted one but it would have left a more pleasant taste in our mouth if something had been offered!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice bright big bedrooms. Central location. Car park with lift to reception was great. No complaints. Breakfast was as good as you will find in the best of hotels. Walking distance to O'Connell Street. Nice views of the Shannon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank felixeile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,905 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,463 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing