We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay at the Strand.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Limerick Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay at the Strand.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Last weekend myself & my partner stayed at your Hotel and without a doubt, it exceeded our expectations in so many ways. Firstly, we had the pleasure of being upgraded to the Junior suite. The room was amazing with fabulous views of the Shannon. We had dinner in the River Restaurant that evening. The service was exceptional, especially Sarah who was a little gem & made sure we were well looked after. The following day we had lunch in the bar & again the food was of top quality. It certainly was a memorable staff, full complements to all the staff in the Strand for top quality service.

Room Tip: The junior suite is of exceptional value...Fabulous view of the Shannon,spacious & very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    600
    174
    71
    38
See reviews for
502
736
103
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our schedule didn't allow for much time in Limerick so our visit was brief but very relaxing. We had dinner at the hotel bar.....food was excellent, service was good and the bar area was very nice. Room was very nice, clean and "modern". We would not hesitate to stay there again on our next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cusefan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We hosted a family reunion and dinner at the Strand Hotel in October..

I live in Limerick, and my family have been from here for generations. I invited my siblings, cousins and surviving aunts to a night in Limerick to celebrate. In the afternoon, I brought the group down Clancy's Strand to Thomondgate - a beautiful and historic walk now with the extensive re-development of the river.

I have to say that the service and hospitality at the Strand was top class. In particular, the restaurant manager, restaurant service and food were simply outstanding. They couldn't do enough for us, including changing the table configuration at short notice. Well done to them.

The event was a huge hit. Limerick looked great, and the whole area around the River Shannon down to Thomondgate made a big impression. Come and visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here twice recently for two conference meetings. Had the Dinner B&B first night and had an excellent dinner with lovely house wine. Second stay was upgraded to the executive room and was very impressed with the room, bed and executive hospitality. have to go to limerick again for meeting in March and will definitely stay again if I could.

Room Tip: executive rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0rthopaedics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Room is nice, clean and modern. Bathroom fine. Shower so so but hot.
Food downstairs in bar is best bad food I had anywhere in Ireland and a really up to date menu. Tapas was just great. Initially the service was great. Later on about 930 and again at breakfast, it was much more difficult get waiters attention buy maybe just a one off. Parking €6 a night. Wifi free but slowish. Would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have been staying at the Strand now for a month on an extended business trip. I still have another 3 weeks to go and I am so glad to be staying here. The staff are all excellent and have bent over backwards to make what is an exceptionally long hotel stay very easy and relaxing.
I cannot fault the hotel in any way. Location is excellent, clean, tidy, excellent food, great gym and pool area.
The only thing that would be useful to me was if the room had a microwave as eating out every night gets expensive and tedious.
Other than that great job The Strand staff.

Room Tip: $th floor is executive level with private lounge. Free tea coffee and soft drinks. Great to get of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Planewreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here recently(9th November 2013)with my sister. We were going to Thomond for Rugby League Game(Ireland V's Ireland)...come on the Kangaroos!!! Room was on 5th floor, spacious, great views of the beautiful city from the glass lift. All staff throughout hotel were possibly the friendliest I have met. Bar could have been better staffed as there seemed to be quiet a wait for service.!

Room Tip: Book well in advance as this charming hotel books out very quickly as it is so popular for people go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalsod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing