We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 21, 2013

They were refurbishing the rooms but kept any noise just during the work day. Maybe that is why the rate was only $153 Euros total for two nights. Best value we experienced. Hotel is on the river but just on the edge of the central district so easy in and out. You can walk to most places from there. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neeserball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,585 - 1,591 of 2,684 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I had been a sales rep for 15 years and there are a few things I look for in a room .
Wi fi
Power shower
Tv channel selection
Comfy bed ....
Most of all clean..
This hotel ticked all the boxes
The only issue I had in the hotel was slow service in the restaurant..... but when food came it was top quality. ..

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mickeymac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I organised a 20 year reunion for a group of nurses in the Strand hotel last weekend and it was a great success, partly due to the hotel and staff. In dealing with the hotel in the organising of it they were a pleasure and very accommodating. The meal was fantastic and great value for money,We had customised menus on our table when we arrived. The head chef ensured all the guests were content and he provided ice sculptures with desert treats after the meal. The staff were very obliging and kind and had a lovely natural way with their customers. We stayed overnight and had a very comfortable stay, and the breakfast the following morning was excellent. All agreed that it would be a popular choice again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fidelma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 1 night. Great location, just a hop and a skip across the bridge to the city centre. We were on a shopping trip and decided to go out for the night. The helpful reception staff gave us directions and were very pleasant. The rooms are nice, bright and very clean - everything you would expect really.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends in future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CabaisteHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for our honeymoon and when we told the front desk they said congrats in a forced tone and clearly didn't mean it, then here's your room and breakfast is not included in your stay, no upgrade, no options to make it memorable, they could have cared less!! When asking about the spa they gave us a brochure and brushed us aside for the next guest. We travel over 3,000 miles for this?! They charged us extra for access to the business lounge which had no air circulation and was stifling hot. The hotel room was boiling hot, the safe was broken, there was only 1 towel when we checked in. When we went downstairs to eat, my wife overhears a desk clerk offering to put rose petals on the bed for a straight couple staying there for their anniversary. I'm reporting this hotel to as many agencies and trip reviews that I can. What an awful experience by a clearly discriminatory hotel.

Room Tip: Stay where they actually care about you and your experience, the Limerick Strand Hotel clearly didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Good location, short walk over the bridge to the city centre. Large rooms with good desk space for working.
Nice spa / pool, good gym. Weirdly you have to wear a swim hat in the pool, even though i have little hair!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in The Limerick Strand Hotel. The receptionist was extremely welcoming and helpful. Check-in was so easy. The room itself was spacious and had everything I expected. I understand there are some rooms with views over Limerick and while mine did not have such a view I was not going to be in the room long enough to enjoy so it did not matter. I tried room service which was excellent and speedy (as well as tasty). A little more expensive than one would like but I have no complaints. The bed was comfortable and all in all a great stay. My only complaint is about the lift. It does require you to enter your room key to use and this certainly made me feel secure but the process of using the key to get the lift to go to the relevant floor is not well explained in the lift itself. This allowed me an unscheduled trip to a number of floors. Still it is a minor complaint. There is plenty of secured car parking at a charge . The hotel is only a short walk for all that Limerick has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat Caff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range: $112 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing