We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sara and Gavin...the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
252 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Sara and Gavin...the best”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location..across bridge from the city. Older style but we liked it! Clean, clean...great employees.

Gavin, our waiter in the bar, allowed us to stay after midnight closing to watch the Tennis Open, which we greatly appreciated. Sara, our breakfast waitress, accommodated our sleeping in (because of the late Open hours) and stretched the hours, allowing us an omelette and hot ham. We REALLY appreciated her going the extra effort. Whatever you pay her, is not enough.

Rooms large...electricity a bit tricky. If you don't have key in door, no power...If you don't have switch flipped, the outlets don't work...esp if you are charging a phone overnight. Make sure you bring a converter; no 110V.

Room Tip: We were by elevator..not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocoholicjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,488
    624
    180
    71
    40
See reviews for
520
764
107
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Was on a return visit to this hotel, having stayed there previously and not having had such a good experience (due to noise disruption from a party). What a difference the return visit was. Everything was great and we had a lovely quiet room where we slept soundly! The hotel itself has excellent facilities, is spotlessly clean and has very friendly staff. Will look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: To ensure a good and quiet night's sleep..... ask for a room away from the noise of the hotel ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themetunegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

i've stayed here on business for several years now. the location is a few feet from the river shannon. as i look out my window, i can see hills, castle, churches...it's just beautiful! very user-friendly...walking distance to just about anything. the rooms are clean and comfortable. room size is perfect - larger than a typical european hotel room. small fridge in room/a.c. works very well!
staff is lovely. bar/restaurant is worth a stop in. lovely view, fine food and plenty of beer on tap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peabody777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pukalani
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Perfect location to explore downtown Limerick. Nice balance of bring outside city streets but such a close walk across bridge to pubs and shops. Great friendly service from everyone. Family size room perfect for our family of 4. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As City Centre (ish) hotels go, it is OK, but there is nothing outstanding about the place. Parking is good, check-in is pleasant, my Junior Suite was adequate but too low on floor one with the road noise being intrusive when the balcony doors were open.
The bar area is good as is the restaurant but the chef is declared as the best in Limerick 2013 -not sure about the judging panel
With-fi is free, fast and everywhere and security is enhanced with a room-key lift activation system
As I have said, it's OK

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonJ213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Family of 6 stayed 2nd last week in August, we had interconnecting rooms, Rooms very clean, plenty of fresh towels. Staff very friendly on check-in. Used the Swimming facilities, very good, clean and the staff in this area very helpful for people with kids and giving them out floats etc. Bring a €1 for the locker in the swimming pool though. Lovely food in the bar area in the evening and staff made us feel very welcome with children. Breakfast was good, warm plates which we were very impressed with. Great selection of breakfast to choose from. Would stay again and the kids loved the pool. Also availed of the Spa on site, very nice and reasonable. Would recommend to friends and family

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, great views from the glass fronted lifts and spacious landing full glass w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossiecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick city, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have stayed here before and has maintained excellent standards. Picked this as I thought I'd enjoy a night in Limerick and get a bus from Arthur's quay park to Shannon airport the next morning. When I rang to book, the receptionist thought there might be a Bus Eireann bus that stops right outside. And it does. It goes into Bunratty and Shannon town, but still fairly convenient. The hotel itself was excellent- the bar's a great place for coffees overlooking the river, spacious guest room overlooking Thomond, the river Shannon and King John's castle. Separate bath and shower- shower a little cramped in a fine sized bathroom- I guess it was designed with ease of cleaning in mind. Cleanliness, comfort and only two unnecessary extra cushions on the bed to get rid of- one hotel in limerick once had five big ones which I had to build into a corner! The gym is just large enough to not be uncomfortable with good selection of machines. Bring €1 for the locker. Forgot my swimming cap so didn't swim, but good sauna, steam room and plunge pool relaxed me and revitalised me. Jacuzzi was a bit anaemic. Almost dined there as they touted the chef at check in, and I had heard of him before, but it was Monday and I figured it was probably his night off anyway. Hit the town instead and had a great night. Was room only- time for breakfast at the airport, so I didn't partake in hotel. Stay was very convenient, luxuriant, with helpful staff and no hassles.

Room Tip: If staying on a quiet night (Sunday or Monday night), book a cheaper room and hopefully they'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing