We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab!”
other travelers have booked this property
Wood Stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wood Stove
Eco Natural Design
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
68 reviews
Wood Stove
Eco Natural Design
Dining Room
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Forest
Swans
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Limerick, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marie F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab!”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A great place! The houses are very clean and well equipped. Very cosy with wood burning stove! A great place to get away from.it all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2017
Mary and I are both delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay in Ballyhoura Forest Luxury Homes. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place off the beaten path”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The homes are nice, secluded in a very picturesque setting. Relatively close to Cork/Blarney and Limerick as well as a few great towns in between. Good location for exploring the south east of the country. The decor is a bit dated and the place is rustic. There isn't too much right around it but the property managers are nice and helpful. The homes are roomy, good appliances but the bedding and bathrooms aren't quite up to the price. Would recommend to someone who prefers quiet, secluded area to get away from the city for a while.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant house for a holiday ”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We booked two of these houses for a week with family home from the US. We enjoyed every bit of our stay. The houses are amazing with all the modern appliances and facilities you need for a relaxing break. The houses are located on the edge of the forest and the kids spent hours everyday in the forest playing by the river and building tree houses. There are some great walks in the local area including river walks and mountain climbing which were both relaxing and enjoyable. The views on the mountain climb are amazing. The home owner John is very friendly and we enjoyed meeting him. He met us as we checked in and gave us a great run down on the house, appliances and the heating system. The house was spotless when we arrived. I highly recommend these houses and we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Climber72...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely homes in a rural setting”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

These homes are super. Although the location is quite remote, the cabins are very well set up (including satellite TV and Wi-Fi which we weren't expecting) and very spacious. We stayed as a family of 4 though the house we were in can easily accommodate 6 comfortably. There are a few playgrounds in the location and our kids (3 & 6) loved the days we spent here. That said, I think if the kids were a bit older we would have done some more local activities. We used the house mainly as a base to drive north to Limerick and environs.

There is a security deposit and electricity costs will be deducted from this (very transparent and you can keep an eye on your spend if you want to).

One tip though is to set your sat nav to look for Ballyorgan (the nearby village) - ours tried to put us in the neighbouring field to the holiday homes. Not that we had any issue though: John (owner) was on the lookout for us and made sure we got there safely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan O
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family holiday cancelled hours before arrival”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
6
people found this review helpful

I booked this property through a voucher system. I had paid in full. It was a family holiday (our first in quite a while as we have 3 small children aged 2yrs, 5yrs and 7yrs).

Our children were very much looking forward to the holiday, as were we and had annual leave booked. The night before, with the car packed and the kids on the way to bed for an early night ready for departure the next morning, I received an email saying our stay was canceled. The email was sent at approx. 7pm the night before check in.

The email stated it was due to unforeseen circumstances.

I called the owner immediately in shock as we were due to leave first thing the next day. I had sent a few emails the days leading up to our arrival asking about check in time but none were responded to.

I was told I would be given a refund and a "Complimentary voucher will be mailed to you tomorrow" - this was in April 2017.

I received the refund. I had to spend 3hrs that night searching the internet looking for another family holiday as my children would have been so upset having packed their bags to be told they were going nowhere.

I have sent email after email to the owners and phone calls to enquire about our "Complimentary voucher" which we have not received 3 months later.

When you have children, planning holidays and the details of those holidays are paramount. We are stunned that a company that markets itself on its peaceful location, family friendly accommodation and promotes itself on its luxurious qualities can ignore basic customer service requirements.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tazdel
Ballickmoyler, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights here with our 3 girls, aged 10,13,17. What a beautiful place to stay. The house was spotless and had all the mod cons you could possibly need. We met Mary and she is a wonderful woman, we discovered she hails not to far from our home town. Very helpful and friendly. We slept like babies the entire time we were there and it was a perfect spot to chill out and shut off for a while. We will most definitely be returning again soon. The girls really enjoyed their stay too. Loads of walks to do around the woods and other activities in short driving distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flaker4
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a Great place for a nice break”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and the girls (5 of us total) spend 2 nights and in this lovely lovely place.

We arrived on Friday night and had a lovely welcome from John the man in charge. He had a warm welcome and showed us around the house. 3 bedrooms 3 on suit bathrooms. One double room and 2 rooms with 2 singles. Perfect for us 5 girls.
Lovely sitting room come kitchen.

When we arrived and dropped off our stuff and took the 20 minuets drive to Mitchelstown to go to the shop to stock up on food and drinks. When we got back to the Lodge it was well lit up for coming back to the house. Nice big space to park our cars and lovely walk into the house. Large sitting room came with working fire and TV. We were in love with the chairs.

The kitchen game with a fab cooker that I was in love with. We were able to make Pizzas on the Friday night and a lovely fry on the Saturday and Sunday morning. It was odd but there was no frying pan.

On Saturday we had a BBQ. Lovely set up outside but sadly no outside seat or table. This would of been a lovely touch but we didnt mind eating at the huge kitchen table as we laughed and chatted away.

On Saturday afternoon we took a lovely walk around the place. There is a lovely playground and I would be lying if I said we didnt take a go on the zip line. Great craic for young and old. We then took a lovely walk in the forest and had a look at the lovely views.

On Sunday Morning we were up (Not too early) and John arrived down at 11 to check all was ok and to wish we well as we traveled home.
I wish we could of stayed longer as I was really enjoying the lovely beds, Fab shower and the quite that was there. Far away from work life and any stress that might be going on. It was lovely to be away in the silence that was Ballyhoura.
I would really recommend this place to anyone who really wants to get away from it all. Easy to get to and just a lovely place. Lovely welcome and great dealings all round this is a great place for couples, Friends, Family or anyone who is up for a good time.
Perfect for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing