We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service!”
Review of The Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boutique Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Customer Service!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!

My sister and I made a reservation here for one night for our Ireland trip. However, we changed our plans when we got to Dublin and decided not to stay the night in Limerick.

We read the hotel's cancellation policy and called them the required two days in advance of our reservation in order to cancel. I talked to someone on the phone from Boutique who told me that the cancellation would be taken care of.

Next thing I know, my credit card had been charged by Boutique hotel for the night that we had cancelled. I called to ask them to remove the charge but they said they had no record of me calling to cancel. WHAT?!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am being forced to pay for that night because I do not have a record of cancellation!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Boutique, Public Relations Manager at The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Emma H
Thank you for your review.
As your booking was made through hostel world, the normal procedure for cancellation is to cancel through the booking engine that you had booked with e.g. booking.com, hostel bookers etc.
We have a standard procedure that is carried out every time a cancellation is received via phone fax or email. When we receive a telephone call for cancellations these are carried out, and then if the guest would like we would send a confirmation of cancellation via email.
Our records and the records of hostel world show that we did not receive cancellation via telephone, fax or email. So in this instance a cancellation charge has to be placed upon the card registered when booking the room.
Kind Regards
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    108
    63
    44
    30
See reviews for
33
121
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

On checking-in we signed a paper stating we were aware, this small hotel is surrounded by pubs and night clubs and consequently might be disturbed by noises during the night. Which turned out to be exactly the case. Be warned: This is not the part of Limerick you want to go to for a a good night's sleep! The hotel as such was very much "boutique" (read: Bed & Breakfast slash Hostel) with a pleasant staff. The room was below average. And we're not coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrLicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Boutique, Public Relations Manager at The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear ChrLicht,
Thank you for reviewing The Boutique.
On arriving we do make sure guests are made aware of noise and also before booking it is mentioned on all the booking websites to make sure all guests are warned ahead of arriving that there will be noise from streets & surrounding bars.
We are glad you found the servcie good and staff pleasent we pride ourselves on our customer service and will go out of our way for any guests.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and hope you will return to Limerick in the future.
Kind Regards
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Limerick hotels

Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in the family room which is located right above two bars. Because there is no air conditioning you have to have the windows open. The live band starts up around 11:30 pm and the night is very long. Don't expect to sleep. The 10" TV needs to be upgraded.

The staff were friendly and the internet lounge was comfortable, unfortunately only 3 devises at a time can be using internet in the lounge.

I would not recommend this for a family stay over.

Room Tip: Avoid the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Boutique, Public Relations Manager at The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Shannie2
Thanks for your review,
Our larger 5 bed rooms are located above the bar and when booking we do try to pre warn guests of the noise from the bars that surround us. This summer we did have a freak couple of weeks where the temperature did reach the high 20's which is very unusal for Limerick mid summer, so we are glad you got to enjoy the fine weather whilst you were with us.
The wifi is usually a paid service but we are able to grant free acces but this is limited to a few devices at a time, but we like to be able to offer a free connection to the guests along with the usual €1 charged offered by eircom ( the external wifi company)
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in ireland and the hot weather and hope when you return to Irleand in the future the weather is as good.
Kind Regards
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaragoza
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night. Good location in the center town. Sometimes is noisy because this hotel is close to the pubs. The breakfast was poor. I couldn't use the WIFI in my spanish mobilephone. You can have free tea in your room. The room was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EduardoB458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Boutique, Public Relations Manager at The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear EduardoB458,
Thank you for your review,
I am a little unsure as to why you found the breakfast poor. We offer an extensive hot menu that guests can mix and match items and we also offer croissants, cereals, soda bread, scones & toast all you can eat, with a choice of coffee & tea including latte, espresso,cappacino, decaf coffee and green tea aswell as usual breakfast tea.
Yes free tea & coffee making facilities are located in each room , but we also offer complimentary tea & coffee in our lounge area 24/7 where guests can access the wifi.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and you found the room nice.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Boutique in the future.
Regards
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here on the sat night of the limerick river fest. The place was jammers. The hotel is in a perfect location for shopping & a night on the town....just off cruise street. There is no parking at the hotel, but you can park up the street in an overnight carpark for 12e. The hotel is near to Symths pub and nancy blakes so there could be a bit of noise. That didn't bother us as we were out late!
The room was medium size. The bathroom and shower were fairly tight. Bed really comfy. Hotel staff were nice. The breakfast in the morning was massive. It was a perfect cure after a night out! I would stay at this hotel again for a night out. Perfect location and good prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browneyes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Boutique, Public Relations Manager at The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello browneyes30,
Thank you for your recent review.
Yes due to our city centre location noise can be heard from all the surrounding bars & clubs and we are happy you joined in . The Riverfest was a great atmosphere this year and brought an extra 40,000 people to the city for the weekend.
We hope that you will come back next year for another night as next years Riverfest is set to be bigger & better.
Kind Regards
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from this hotel today from my hen party...I have to say everything in the hotel was just fantastic....the staff went above and beyond for the group and nothing was to much trouble....the food was gorgeous...I will recommend this hotel and I will return in the near future...brilliant weekend and a brilliant hotel....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelledCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Boutique, Reception at The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Michelle,

We're delighted to hear you had a fab weekend and welcome you back at any time!
Thank you for such a kind review.
Hope you a have a fabulous time on the big day and hope the weather stays nice for you.
Kind regards,
Aimee.
The Boutique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a very old hotel, and if you value old timey character in a lodging, then this might be the place for you. We were not impressed, as the room and bathroom were VERY tiny. See pics. We asked for a wakeup call both nights we were there, and didn't get a call either time. Internet is an extra fee, and has to be accessed in a lobby area. The only positive I can say about this place is that the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Boutique, Public Relations Manager at The Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear matt a,
The Boutique is set in the 'Market Quarter' and is possibly one of the oldest areas of the City so the building has been re-developed into a hotel. Due to the historic nature of the building , when re-developing we did have to add en-suites to our rooms which has made a couple of them more cosy.
We do offer wifi in our Lounge area, and as said previously due to the age of the builing we are unable to offer entire hotel wifi at present. The wifi is with an external company and is €1 until midnight.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast and we hope that you will return to the City in the future.
Kind Regards
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.3 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
#15 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boutique Hotel

Property: The Boutique Hotel
Address: Denmark Street | City Centre, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello & Failte to The Boutique Hotel. The Boutique Hotel is Situated in the heart of Limerick City, Close to all Amenities. We at the Boutique Hotel will go out of our way for our guests, we try to give the best service possible, and if there is anything we can help you with just ask!! We include breakfast in all our very reasonable rates and have NO extra charges. Complementary Tea/Coffee & scones in our lounge and maybe a drink from the bar next door, all you have to do is ask!!! Look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing