We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, relaxing and perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Coolbeg Lodge

Welcome to Coolbeg Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Coolbeg Lodge
Bienvenue Wilkommen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Welcome to Coolbeg Lodge
Bienvenue
Wilkommen
Bathroom
Stairs to upstairs kitchen
Upstairs kitchen
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Courtyard garden
Boy in garden
Summer geraniums
Black eye Susie
Michaelmas Daisy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Limerick, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Subhasish...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing and perfect”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Coolbeg Lodge is ideally located on N69 at the Kildimo village, which is a mere 7km from Adare, the jewel of west Ireland. The hosts, Pat and Maura are really nice people and so does this cottage, a little but roomy and nicely kept home for such a pretty and green country.

Car is advisable as one could then drive to few places, particularly the cliffs of moher, lough derg, Killarney.

We travelled with our 4 years old son, there is a single bed upstairs which is useful. Mind the wooden stairs though.

Everything was perfect and we really enjoyed our stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_Gin...
Monument, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Country Cottage”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When looking online you never quite know what to expect when you arrive but Coolbeg Lodge far exceeded our expectations. The owner, Patrick, was very friendly and gave a nice overview of the cottage. It had a lovely bedroom and bath on the first level and then up the stairs was a cute kitchen and loft bed. The location is about 13km west of Limerick which was perfect for us. We were in the country and only a short drive to the busy city. The town of Kildimo was quaint and basically had a country store, post office, gas station and two pubs. What more do you need? If you're looking for a quiet and beautiful get away then this is the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the property
Liked least: Had to pay for utilities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana49_11
Kiama, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great base to tour southern Ireland”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Coolbeg Lodge for a week and had a hire car and it was a really great base. In the tiny village of Kildimo it was a nice place to come home to after our daily adventures by road. Comfortable bed and all the utensils you need to cook a nice dinner for yourself especially if you have your fresh produce from Limericks Milk Market. The owners Pat and Maura are very helpful and so warm and friendly we felt like we were leaving our friends when we left. Limerick was an easy 15 min drive, and about 100km north to Galway, 100 km to Cork in south and Cobh harbour 25km outside of Cork. Dingle peninsula, with its spectacular scenery, too was a couple of hours drive from Coolbeg.
The lodge was just as the pictures portray, lovely clean accommodation in well maintained gardens, comfortable queen size bed. The 11or 12 steps up to the kitchen are quite steep but we didn't have a problem. Wi fi was not available in the lodge but we we're welcome to go into the main house for our Wi Fi fix. There are 2 skylights in the celling so if you like darkness for sleeping you had better bring your eye shades as in summer it gets light at about 4.30am and stays light till about 11.30pm. You can have some very full days with that amount of day light. Coolbeg also has B&B facilities. We would definitely recommend this place for a relaxed stay in a central area to visit the south of Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location for the places we wanted to visit, the friendliness of the owners and general comfort.
Liked least: Lack of WiFi in the lodge.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eMka1983
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hospitality!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place is beautiful, well maintained and quiet.
Wish we could meet Pats wife, shes probably as lovely as he is.
D.J.M.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megsimay
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and a smashing host!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Coolbeg Lodge B&B is a beautiful home on the edge of the small village of Kildimo. Pat the host is a gentleman and is very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are warm and beds are very comfy. Breakfast was lovely. A home away from home!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver Springs, Tennessee
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melanie T
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing