We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food - gorgeous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Nostra Limerick - CLOSED

Casa Nostra Limerick
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Casa Nostra Limerick is a relaxed, traditional Italian Restaurant in the heart of Limerick City. The restaurant’s appeal lies in its natural warmth & charm, offering newcomers an atmosphere that would make you feel like you are dining in the heart of Sardinia or Rome. Whether you are dining with a loved one, friends, family, colleagues or entertaining business clients, Casa Nostra offers an intimate & elegant setting with an informal family atmosphere, sumptuous food & excellent service.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful food - gorgeous!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I went here on the night of new years day. It was very quiet that night, I assume this was just because it was the night after new years eve and not the way it normally is. The food and service were both amazing. The staff were really lovely and looked after us so well. To start we got the small calzone and olive bruschetta - both were lovely but the olive bruschetta was a stand out - not to miss! For main ravioli in a sausage and bacon tomato sauce, it was very nice and my boyfriend loved it but it was a bit too meaty for my taste. I got chicken with a creamy mushroom sauce. It was AMAZING. Really, so gorgeous!!! Would 100% return if I return to Limerick.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunseasand28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravegliu, Owner at Casa Nostra Limerick, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments & we look forward to seeing you again soon

Grazie, ANtonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    36
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not maintaining standard”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Revisited this restaurant because, firstly we have had great meals here and secondly it features steak and we had a non italian food eater among our group.We were not advised immediately that the restaurant had run out of steak.We ordered our premeal drinks and possibly 20 minutes later our food order was taken .We were then informed that the kitchen had run out of steak, tne dissappointed guest however opted for salmon which was really a small portion and was cold within 2 minutes of reaching the table. I also had difficulty finding the 4 minute meatballs in my pasta dish. The veal also went cold very quickly. Hope this was a once of as it's a restaurant that I have previously recommended to others

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravegliu, Owner at Casa Nostra Limerick, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Good evening. I remember your table because I served you personally. I must admit that I did in fact omit to advise you about the steak as we were quite busy. As I remember your party arrived at different times and I bought drinks to you as you arrived.. After your party had all arrived I took your order, which was in fact around 20 minutes after you arrived; we don't like to rush people. As far as the small portions are concerned I have to say that of all our comments nobody has ever mentioned this as we are usually told that our portions are if anything too big! However if that is how you feel I can only apologise. Hopefully you will return and I will do my best to keep you happy, as always
Thanks, Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
365 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good food with room for improvement”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We went to Casa Nostra on a very quiet night during the week.
We were pretty much the only people in the house, so I'm sure that's the only reason for the lack of atmosphere - I'm sure with a full restaurant it would feel a lot different!
The restaurant itself is very nice, pity it's a bit at the edge of town.
The wine list is quite impressive (you see it was put together by an Italian) and the Vermentino we had was lovely.
The menu had, in my opinion, too many items. And the food, while being quite good, wasn't as impressive as it could have been if they had kept it all simpler. I had the feeling that they tried to adapt Italian food to an old-fashioned concept of Irish taste. The truth is that Irish people know what's good when they taste it, so there's no reason to lose authenticity to please them.
The price tag was a bit on the high side too.
I wouldn't go back in a hurry, but as far as Italian restaurants go, it's probably still the best option in Limerick.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravegliu, Owner at Casa Nostra Limerick, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Salve signora, the only thing I can say is that there will ALWAYS be room to improve, even with all the experience in the world! What motivates me is my passion to always improve my business, for which reason I listen to our clients. Like the best guitar in the world, it will always need to be tuned. You may well be right about our cuisine being adapted to Irish tastes but at the end of the day we are an Italian restaurant run by Italians, with Italian chefs, waiters etc and therefore the recipes we have created are Italian. Thank you for your very constructive comments,
Grazie, Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Place To Eat”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We called in for lunch on a wet Sunday afternoon and it was excellent.The lunch menu at 9.95 euro is great value.Our pizzas were very nice with just the right amount of toppings on them.I look forward to my next visit to Casa Nostra

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravegliu, Owner at Casa Nostra Limerick, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your pizzas, hope to see you soon!

Thanks, Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Fantastic authentic Italian restaurant in Limerick, probably the best. The owners are Italian and the food is amazing. The decor is rustic italian. My husband and I shared a antipasti casa nostra for two and it was the tastiest starter we have had in ages; italian bread, curedmeats, cheese and veg. I had pasta for main and my husband had pizza which was delicious. I had lemon and vodka sorbet for dessert which was nice but had a kick to it! My husband had a nutella pizza/calzone for dessert and it was extremely tasty, havent had that anywhere else! This restaurant is tucked out of the way of the main streets in Limerick but worth finding. Really enjoyed our meal which was very reasonable and good value for money. Definitely will be back!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rua25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravegliu, Owner at Casa Nostra Limerick, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
If we are the best I don't know, but we are definitely authentic and it's a pleasure to have that acknowledged!
The pizza "nutella" is a new addition and is proving to be highly popular with our customers.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks,
Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Nostra Limerick also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing