We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2007

The four star, sleek and somewhat 'functional' Clarion is currently Ireland's tallest hotel (c. 170 rooms on 16 floors), It is well located at the edge of Limerick's former docklands and on the S edge of the downtown. This is not a good location for the university/Castletroy area but a good base for the S and E business areas and for exploring Limerick's historic core. Thr road to Shannon Airport (25 mins) is easily accessible. There is a large public car park nearby but the hotel has no guest parking. The rooms are medium sized and well equipped, in a minimalist style. A big negative is the inadequate and poorly designed wardrobe/storage space. There is a gym and an indoor pool. The ground floor restaurant has good views of the river and an adequate if unexciting buffet breakfast. The bar area can be noisy in the evenings at weekends. Based on two recent visits, the staff are competent and friendly. Recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2007

Really looking forward to staying here with my wife.
Firstly there is no parking!! a private car park across the street is €15-20 depending on when you arrive; tip arrive late!
Disappointed in condition of the hotel and it really is worn at the edges. Military Green paintwork in corridors is depressing and dark.
Bathroom Grotty and paintwork battered in my "Executive" room.
Nice bar and restaurant with views over the river are only plus points.
Negotiate hard on your rate!!

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank joctcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2007

Just back from a weekend stay at The Clarion Limerick and would definitely recommend it as a base for exploring the beautiful mid west of The Emerald Isle.

Good value, good food and friendly staff What more could one ask for.

Stayed in room 1009 on the 10th floor with brilliant views over the city and the River Shannon it was a real treat.

Sauna and Jacuzzi was a great way to chill out on the Saturday afternoon after we had walked our legs off in this colourful city.

To top it all off we booked the 1penny flights from London to Shannon only 20 minutes from the Hotel.

Watching out for the next Ryanair sale for the return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dee27london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2007

My fiancee and I stayed in the Clarion hotel in Limerick for the second time 3 weeks ago.

Like the first time we stayed (over a year ago), the rooms were very clean and modern, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the food/facilities absolutely spot-on. The hotel is also situated in a very nice location - towering over the Shannon river, and a short stroll to the many restaurants and bars in the vicinity.

Without doubt the most appealing feature of the hotel is the spectacular view of Limerick - unrivalled in any other part of the city (I have stayed on business in Limerick on a number of occasions lately).

To conclude, this hotel is everything one would come to expect from the Clarion group, but with that extra bit more. I am sure we will stay in this romantic setting again...

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank Scotchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for a night over christmas. It is a lovely hotel with a great view - we were on the 11th floor. It was was beautiful at night!. The room was nice and big but the bathroom needed a good cleaning. The sink was blocked and the bath needed to be scrubbing!! Also the hotel doesn't have a car park of their own so you have to pay to stay in the multistory car park across to road. Any other hotel that we stayyed in gave us free parking if they didn't have there own car park. This really should be advertised on their website.

Stayed: December 2006
Thank Freakles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2006

The main selling point of this hotel is that it is the tallest in Ireland. Only moderately impressive fact. Our room was on one of the lower floors and was very plain and small - fine, but anything but special. The location in the center of Limerick is quite nice.

Breakfast was pretty good - the buffet is included. I wouldn't dine at the hotel restaurant for dinner though.

The thing that made this hotel experience above average though was the friendliness of the front desk staff. They could not have been nicer or more helpful. Great service goes a long way! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

This is a very nice hotel, though we did have a couple of issues

1. Our minibar was totally out of action for the entire time, the fridge was not plugged in or anything. The hotels suggestion was to simply ring roomservice when we wanted something but really that incurs a roomservice charge & is not nearly as convenient as a minibar.

2. Our in-room safe did not exist (!). This was quite a disappointment & we had to make alternative security arrangements for our cash & passports etc. The hotels suggestion was to store our valuables in their safe but again this was hardly convenient.

3. The parking arrangements were not properly communicated by the front desk staff, though we finally worked out that you can get a very good deal on the nearby Euro carpark if you have the front desk clip your ticket & charge it to your room (you still need to put the ticket in the machine at the carkpark but it recognises it as paid)

4. The roomservice could be slow, we had to ring twice in 1/2 an hour just to get some tea & milk sent up, though when it was it was plentiful.

5. The rooms have a 'set menu' listing for the main restaurant which appealed to use a lot, however when we went down there we were initially presented with the very expensive menu. It was only when we asked that we were told "oh yes, there is a residents menu" which was then given to us. I felt that we should have been asked if we were residents first & then given both menus rather than being channelled towards the expensive menu.

6. The lifts (three of them) are completely independent & so by pressing the button for one, you can miss out as another goes by your floor. This causes people to press all three & then take the first one which in turn leads to other lifts stopping on many floors where no one wants to get on (Rather frustrating & makes for long & slow lift rides, particularly if your room is high up).


However, this is a well located hotel & the staff were very friendly & helpful. THe facilities are good (with the exception of the ones missing from our room), and the food in the restaurant was very nice. I would stay here again, though would ask up front for a room with a safe & minibar.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bristol_traveller_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,016 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick V94 H6HN, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $106 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing