We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Davie, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern Value”
Reviewed August 12, 2006

My wife and I stayed here two nights last week. A most modern looking building. Our eleventh-floor room overlooked the Shannon to the West (I should note that the small shipyard on that side was not only not bothersome but was interesting to watch). We had a well-presented and bountiful dinner at the hotel one night. The garage was some fifty feet from the hotel. The concierge, James was very helpful with local information and reservations elsewhere in Ireland - when he could not secure a room at a sister hotel in Galway, he called and reserved with a small inn near Sligo that we suggested. I would recommend the hotel without hesitation.

Helpful?
1 Thank timetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    404
    181
    68
    44
See reviews for
196
380
47
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Nice reception,very modern check in quick.We were on the fifth floor and the room was stylish but very small.The corridors have a terrible colour on the walls.The view of the river was lovely but the windows are dirty so a little hard to see.I got the upgrade for bathrobes bottle wine choc(a small bitter bar!!!)film(poor choice)Got room service in morning great breakfast.We were a late check in so too late for dinner but there is an indian restaurant and a little bar just down the street which we enjoyed.Nice area of Limerick.I would definately come back.Very relaxing

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank caroj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Stayed here for one night in June as part of a tour around the west of Ireland. Whilst Limerick is quite a nice city, I wouldn't include it in a tour again. There weren't very many bars/restaurants around and it is not really a tourist destination in my opinion.

Location - OK, close to city centre but not many bars/restaurants close by

Parking - You have to use the pay car park opposite the hotel although you do get a discounted rate. Can be a nightmare if you turn up at rush hour as you have to go around the block again to get to the car park due to the one way system and this can take 15 minutes.

Staff/Reception - large reception but not very welcoming. Staff were OK but this is more of a business hotel.

Room - the room we had was on the 10th floor and had seen better days. It was clean though and had good views down the river.

Restaurant - only had breakfast but this was OK.

Bar - The bar was nice although expensive.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Superleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We stayed at the Clarion in Limerick at the beginning of July 2006. It was an excellent hotel. The rooms are nice and spacious. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel has a great location in Limerick. It is on the river with the rooms actually overlooking the river. We could walk everywhere from the hotel. Someone from one of the travel booking websites had tried to talk me into a different hotel, but I checked Trip Advisor and saw the great reviews on the Clarion. I am so glad I did. The other hotel was at least a 15 minute taxi ride from the city center. In this case, the Trip Advisor recommendations for the Clarion made a huge difference in our vacation!

Helpful?
1 Thank Houston_travellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Clarion in April 2005. We walked in the door and were quite impresses with the contemporary design. The staff at front desk were not friendly and i felt there were eyeing me up. The room was very unimpressive for a four star. It was cramped and bare with no real luxurious feel to it. The bar on a saturday nite empty and the pool was lovely but closed too early (7pm on sat evening). The breakfast we received the next morning was cold and undercooked (we got room service) though i tend to find that room service in most hotels is of poor standard. Even though i did like the feel to the hotel i woudl not return again as it is the size of the room is very poor value for money.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,931 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,503 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,144 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing