We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the stay.”
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Very nice clean hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would most likely stay here again. Nothing negative happen to us the two nights we stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rah316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    386
    178
    64
    43
See reviews for
192
365
46
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We were really pleased with this hotel, on arrival the receptionist Laura couldn't of been more friendly & helpful. The location was great just a short walk into the city centre. Were quite dissapointed with the city, so many chain shops nothing different.
The room was really spacious & clean & we had a great view of the river. Free internet access which came in useful for flight information.
Food in the Kudos bar was fantastic, even the vegetarian options were great.
The only thing which may of been a problem was that our room was linked to another by a door that was locked & you could hear everything the occupants were saying. This would of been a problem if they had of been noisey but they wern't. Also you had to pay for parking but at a reduced rate. Even so we would definately stay here again if visiting Limerick.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coxy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed at the hotel one night. We heard Limerick was a nice modern town to visit. Unfortunately, there wasn't much to do around the hotel. It was a great location on the river and our room had a great view. We walked around the city to find a place for dinner and ended up back at the hotel bar to eat. The open restaurants were few and far between. The city seemed to be more of a day city and at night things quieted down. But the staff was for the most part friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsonkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Situated on the banks of the Shannon. Service was excellent. The food in the restaurant was really good. The bar is an ideal place for a relaxing drink overlooking the Shannon(even if it was lashing rain)
Would certainly use this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polokildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We booked a 3 night break with Supervalue. Locating the hotel was a challenge even with SatNav. Limerick has few street signs to locate the hotels. Hotel located on the banks of the River Shannon- higest building in Ireland. Our room was located on the 12th floor with a view over the river and a boat being loaded with scrap steel for export.
Room was well furnished and the bathroom large and well fitted out. The 3 lifts to access the 14 floors were clean and quick. Our deal was 3 B&B +1 evening meal. Breakfast was self service but if you ordered fried/poached eggs they were freshly cooked and came quickly. The evening meal was good but the wine with the meal was expensive - minimum 20€/bottle-6€ glass Hotel is in a good location for O'Connell Street - the main shopping area. Plenty of shops to take your euros and also old well kept buildings to explore. Plenty of local restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Eating out in Southern Ireland is very costly. Hotel did a special 'early bird menu' for €11.50 - bread & main course with a glass of wine/soft drink - Excellent value and excellent quality of food. We found out about the 'early bird menu' by accident - there was no publicity. Staff were very helpful in the reception area and also in the restaurant . Easy access from the hotel to tour the surrounding area.
3 nights would be maximum for touring this area. The hotel has no free car parking and 3 days cost €22.50.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogeye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Our one night stay in the Clarion was on a busy Saturday night and I would be hesitant to stay here again over a weekend. There was a wedding on in the hotel and despite having a room on the one of the higher floors, the pumping music from the function room could be heard very clearly in our room. The soundproofing in the rooms is appalling for a hotel of this standard. We were treated to the noise from what sounded like a live porn show on one side and a group of lads on the other. My complaint to reception was met with a sympathetic smile - they obviously get this all the time but can do little about it.

On the positive side, the room was very clean and comfortable and more than adequate for a short stay. Breakfast was great, buffet style and with everything you could want and more for a very reasonable €10.

If you're lucky enough to be in the hotel on a quiet night, it would be very satisfactory but I would be inclined to avoid it on a weekend night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Great stopover hotel
lovely views of sunrise from bedroom
food excellent in restaurant for evening meal and breakfast
shame about the parking round the corner and having to pay for the parking overnight
Not much in the area round the hotel

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepearofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing