We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll stay elsewhere next time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times now. Mostly because it's convenient. There's nothing majorly wrong with the hotel. It's a nice hotel. It's just not a great hotel.

Pros:
Views of the river from the room are gorgeous. Try to get a corner room which is bigger and offers even better views

Corner rooms have lots of windows, offering a lot of light during the day
Hotel bar is nice

Location is good

Price was decent at 129 Euros

A real hair dryer in the room

On demand movies

CONS
Double bed isn't a real double bed. It's 2 mattresses pushed together. Maybe this is fine if you're sleeping on your own. It is NOT acceptable when sharing the bed and you want to cuddle up!

Checkout is a long process. Everyone checks out at the same time - noon. There is no express checkout. There are only 2 people doing the checkout. Result - expect to wait.

In Room Breakfast - a rip off at 25 euro's a person

Room Service, with the exception of sandwiches, stops at 9:45pm. A bizarre time to stop if you ask me. I also think all top hotels should offer 24 hour room service (something other than a ham sandwich).

Next time, we'll try somewhere else.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Ljanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2009

Very modern "Euro-style" hotel in the midst of Limerick on the river Shannon. For tourists, I would recommend against staying in Limerick as it's not really a pretty city and there is very little to see and do. I would recommend staying near Bunratty Castle in one of the many nice properties there. The Clarion, the tallest hotel in Ireland, has very little else going for it. When it comes to the rooms and baths, they have packed maximum functionality into minimal space - in other words, both are VERY small and hard to move around in with two people and luggage. Sevice is passable, not outstanding. Lobby Bar has very nice Thai food- a nice break from traditional Irish. Breakfast is buffet, nothing cooked to order. Parking is in separate lot around the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady_Jane_PI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

A group of friends and I recently spent a weekend in the Clarion Hotel Limerick. I couldn't praise the hotel and hotel staff enough. There were 26 of us in total and I had the responsibilty of organising the accommodation. Initally I had planned on booking into a different hotel, but having spoken to the reservation manager in the Clarion I knew that the attention to detail and service we would receive would be second to none. Following the initial phonecall, Mary-Claire the reservation manager , who was a fantastic help, was in frequent contact via email to ensure everything was correct with the reservation. Although I had to change the reservation three days prior to our arrival, this was no problem and was done very promptly. I have never received such professional yet personal attention from a hotel before.
Check-in in the hotel was stressfree, even though we were such a large group. The bedrooms thamselves were ideal and were very well equipped. They were spotlessly clean.
Throughout the weekend, any demand or query we had were dealt with immediately. Jenny and the man with glasses in reception (who was really lovely but whose name I cannot remeber, sorry!) were particularly helpful. Declan, the manager on duty was very accommodating and couldn't do enough for us! He spent ages just chatting informally with our group and offering advice about the hotspots in Limerick.
Overall, our experience in The Clarion Limerick couldn't have been better. All of the 26 people in the group commented on 1) how nice the hotel staff were and how superbly we were treated and 2) how perfect the hotel was for all our needs.
I can't wait to return to the hotel either for a quiet night away or a mad night on the town! I wouldn't hesitate in reccommending the hotel to anyone travelling to Limerick. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Every year for the past 4 Years I spend a weekend in the Clarion Hotel Limerick. This year was no different. This hotel is lovely and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms have always been spotless and the leisure facilities are perfect. The hotel is in a great location 10 mins walk from center of city overlooking the Shannon River. At 16 euros extra the breakfast is expensive and I'd recommend for people to go to Dolans pub which is very close to hotel for an excellent Fry in the morning!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dgortalainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Positives:

Staff friendly and efficient. Location convenient for the town centre. Parking, if validated, free and just across the road.
Views from river facing rooms mildly diverting.

Negatives:

Bar food average at best. Was upgraded to a Delux room, but didn't feel remotely delux. 512 I think. Rooms are an odd shape, bathrooms are very plain and functional, shower head was missing, minibar was tiny and had items missing, bed was comfortable. Corridors are painted different colours and the fifth floor was a deeply unattractive 60's / 70's institutional green colour. Visited the 'spa' and the colour scheme here too was uninviting.
Have stayed in the Clarion Cork, also four star and it has a totally different feel. Attractive public spaces, warm colour schemes in rooms, efficient staff.....very much a business four star feel.
The contrast is stark. Everything about the Clarion Limerick screams 'done to a tight budget'.

I'd haggle hard on price, or go elsewhere and when comparing, compare to local three star hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UlstermanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

The hotel is beautiful and has fantastic rooms, but that is all it has going for it. It has great views of the river, but is in an area that is a little scary and we did not feel safe leaving the hotel at night. Went to the bar downstairs and received no service. The gas went out, so we couldn't order food, but our waitress said she'd come back when the gas came back on. After 15 minutes, we started to see people around us being served food and our waitress never came back until she heard us complain about other people being served. We went back upstairs and ordered room service, which was good, but definitely overpriced for what you get. The other guests at the hotel were extremely rude and slammed doors, ran through the hallways, and screamed all night until about 4am. We called the front desk more than once and each time they said they would send someone up, but never did. The next day at checkout, the front desk said that they constantly have problems like this because it is a popular hotel for weddings and birthdays- still, we thought that they should do something towards eliminating this problem. When we woke up in the morning, our floor was trashed- the numbers were torn off the doors and there was vomit all over the hallway. Definitely not what you think you'd get with such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eski12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Stayed at the Clarion Limerick as part of a package deal from AerLingus Vacations.

The location of the hotel was excellent. In walking distance of many pubs and restaurants and the rest of Limerick. There isn't a TON of things to do/see in Limerick, but we enjoyed just walking around and people watching and hitting up the different pubs.

The rooms were great, very clean. The beds were comfortable and the room was very quiet. The free internet in the room was flawless.

The staff was incredible, and the free breakfast was great. The breakfast room overlooked the water which was a nice touch.

The only negative I can really say about this hotel is the parking situation. They don't have their own garage, so they recommend a private garage across the street. I believe with the hotel validation that it was 8.50 Euro a night.. BUT you wind up paying extra for every hour after noon the next day. We wound up spending probably 22 Euro for our two night stay on parking which was a bit much.

Other than that, great hotel!

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank MelbaLalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,016 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick V94 H6HN, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $106 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing