We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasent”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel does not really deserves the four stars, but the price is also very reasonable, therefore those two aspects are well matched.
Room: spacious and the bed quite comfortable, the bathroom quite old-fashioned and not so comfortable. Clean enough.
Amenities: the pool is far too small for allowing any swim in it. The gym is also very tiny, but well equipped. Normally quite overcrowded though.
Restaurant: poor choice and not cheap.
Personnel: this really made the difference. Very professional and pleasant people, in the hotel, in the restaurant and in the gym.

Room Tip: Depending on the room orientation, one could have either a quite remarkable view on the river Shanno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrEleonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    403
    181
    67
    44
See reviews for
195
378
46
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munster
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in December for 1 night. We were going to a gig in Dolan's and the hotel's location was perfect, just a 2 minute stroll around the corner. Originally we were given a room on the 6th floor. This room was lovely and had a really nice view but had 3 single beds. When we went back to Reception the Receptionist changed our room without any hassle and even upgraded us to a Superior room on the 13th floor. This room was so nice and had an amazing view over the River Shannon. We could even see the rugby match on the big screen over in Thomond Park! It's in a great location with a car park close by that didn't cost us much to park there overnight. The staff were very polite and efficient. We would definitely stay in this really comfortable hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigriofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed last night and had dinner in the restaurant.

Friday friends menu appeared to be excellent value, deserts lovely but mains very poor. I was surprised as I've had nice bar food there on a visit some time back. Vege was undercooked and cold, and rice + curry powder is not biryani folks!! No meat, curry sauce or vege. I queried this when we got the token "is everything ok with your meal" and was told it was a vegetarian dish. Indeed it was, and it had no vegetables in it, in case for ethical reasons we didn't want to eat them either.
View was lovely for the room, and other than a room service man with our breakfast who was a bit grumpy, the staff were lovely.
Would stay again, but with the selection of restaurants close by, won't be eating there!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ultan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for a family event, like so many of Irelands hotels its a little tired. However, its clean, the staff are great, couldn't do enough. Dinner in restaurant was good, reasonable value. Rooms are big, don't miss extra towel in wardrobe(!?). Breakfast was buffet, usual fare but plenty of fresh fruit & if every breakfast buffet was of this standard. will be back to here again no worries...

Helpful?
1 Thank 64finn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cork
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two nights, we were very disappointed our room had a lovely view that was about it, there were horrible stains on the carpets and the shower area wasn't nice. We had lunch in the bar on our first day and our chicken came out RAW yuck and so dangerous. We ordered breakfast in our room for the Friday which was lovely but when our room was cleaned they left the tray outside on a windowsill which was still there at 10.30 pm we would not stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sass353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a 2 night stay with breakfast and dinner included. We found check in swift and went to our room which was clean and VERY high up with great views. The decor was lovely but I found the size of the room was small. Breakfast was lovely with a great selection and the the dinner was delicious. We are from Limerick ourselves but live in the county so it was just a little treat. Limerick gets bad press but its a wonderful city with loads of great shops and there is plenty to do and see. Id recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Limerick. Its in a great location just a few minutes walk to city centre thee food is fab and the price reasonable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineBee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I can't review the rooms as didn't stay at the hotel but attended the parties there a few times & had lunch there a few time. Food is really nice - curry is a really Curry! And all the options I went for when at the Birthday/ Christening etc. were always nice - chicken/pork. The desserts were also nice. Staff members were all pleasant. Leisure centre is also nice/ I got got membership there a few years ago - area is small but they have everything - swimming pool, steam room, sauna etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wild_scully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,931 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,145 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing