We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
bracknell
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here for three nights and found the hotel clean and all the staff friendly and polite, the website for this hotel does not show how good it is but I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is either on business or leisure.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us before Christmas. A lot of work has recently been done on our website in order to make the site more user friendly, with better information on the hotel itself, our special offers and tourist attractions in the area. Thank you for our lovely comments regarding our staff and hotel, they are very much appreciated.I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    383
    176
    63
    42
See reviews for
188
362
44
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My family & I attended Sunday lunch at the Clarion hotel yesterday the 3rd of November and I would like to complement the hotel on the quality of food and service.
We ate in the Synergie Restaurant and enjoyed the Buffet Lunch, which had a great choice that appealed to my parents, parents in law, my husband and I and also our 2 young children aged 7 and 4.
The girl that served us ( I think her name was Magda) was so helpful and accommodating. It was my husbands 40th birthday and I had left a cake in the fridge. Magda did everything to ensure we were looked after and even so far as reserved seating for us in the bar afterwards where our other family members were meeting us.
My father in law is in a wheelchair and we found the hotel very friendly
The kids playroom was very clean and well equipped with toys and games for the kids, this is a fantastic service to the hotel.

I would just like to compliment the hotel on their quality service and I will certainly be recommending it to my friends and family and will certainly return ourselves again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Paddy in Orlando
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night while on business in Limerick. Big hotel, room was ok but this place is definitely not worth the cost of staying. Carpets a bit ratty, signage very poor. Breakfast was pretty vile - obviously cheap ingredients. They tried to overcharge me when checking out. Room was ok. There's plenty of competition in Limerick so I think this place needs to smarten their act up.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayDad2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you found your breakfast to be of a poor standard and that we tried to overcharge you on checkout. This is certainly not the normal standard in my hotel. Should you be returning to the area, I would appreciate if you could drop me an email directly so that I can make sure that we take very good care of you. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager (ituohy@clarionhotellimerick.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

As a regular visit to the Limerick area on business, I decided to change away from my usual hotel and spend a night in the Clarion - something I've long been intending to do. Externally the building is impressive and towers above the city Skyline so naturally I was expecting great things on the inside - boy, was I wrong.

On arrival to the hotel, the first thing to strike me was that there was no receptionist behind the desk. It was at least 5 minutes before one of the girls spotted me, and after that check-in was pretty straightforward.

My room was on the 10th floor and on exiting the lift the first thing I noticed was how run down the corridor was. Scuff marks on the walls, stained carpets etc. On a strange side note, the doors to the rooms would not be out of place in a 1950's council flat, and the lack of lever's on each means they slam hard shut.

The bedroom itself was a good size, clean and the view over the river was truly amazing.

The bathroom was again quite big, with all of the usual facilities you'd expect. However the shower was broken, and hanging our of the wall so when used, water sprayed in every direction.

The bed itself was truly awful - the worst I every slept in. I'd have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor. Add to that the cheap duvet and pillows, and the fact that when I got into the bed, it hadn't been made properly and all of the sheets were bunched in up at the bottom which meant it had to be made again. Finally, the straps that keep the mattress topper on the bed were both broken and that made it worse.

One of the bedside lights had a bulb missing which was strange.

Noise around the hotel at night is minimal, apart from the occasional slamming door, as mentioned above.

I tried to order dinner to the room - so frustrating! When I called room service, it went straight to an unactivated voicemail. I then called reception who transferred me over, and again I got a voicemail. Eventually the receptionist took my order, and when the food arrived, it was cold with no condiments! By that stage I couldn't be bothered calling again.

Next morning, I got up and expected breakfast to arrive at 07.30 as per my instructions left outside, however it didn't get to the room until 08.20. Tried calling room service, but alas it went to the same voicemail as the night before. Once again the food was cold, and this time they didn't even give me a spoon to eat the cereal!

Checkout was also a mess as none of the food I had ordered was on the bill, so she had to chase someone down to get this sorted. Then an €8.50 parking charge was attached to bill.

I didn't get to use the spa/bar facilities so I cannot comment on these.

All in all, a very unpleasant and disappointing experience. The hotel looks fantastic on the outside, but inside there is much work to be done.

There are nicer hotels, costing less not far away!

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room up high, with a working shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keithdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

we booked it because of ratings etc.. I don't know who wrote these reviews...but they are out of their minds..the hotel hallways smell like wet dog and cigarettes..i was on a non smoking floor...the staff was rude and unfriendly, we were on our honeymoon and overjoyed with happiness the front desk guy killed that...there was a stabbing in front of our hotel the next morning and the Garda where outside...the place is an absolute dump...it was listed as a four star hotel on Travelocity...hahaha...maybe a 2 star,,,but that's it and that's not even being tough

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellygevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you found our corridors to be of a poor standard. This is certainly not the normal standard in my hotel; we work hard to ensure that the hotel is kept very clean and that it is presented well every day of the week. We receive many very positive comments on our hotel and in particular our warm and friendly staff. Regarding your comments on a stabbing in front of the hotel, I can guarantee that this incident did not take place. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I booked the hen party package for my sister and we were delighted with our choice. My contact in the hotel was so helpful with all the arrangements prior to the weekend. We stayed over the October bank holiday weekend and even though the hotel was extremely busy we were really well looked after. The package itself is very good value. We had a lovely meal. The staff were very attentive and went out of their way to help if I asked for anything. Would recommend it as an option for anyone looking into a hen party venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitriona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your for the wonderful review on our hotel. I am delighted that you and your hen party really enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your overall experience excellent. Best of luck with the rest of the wedding plans. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed in three different hotels while in Ireland. The wifi in the room was fine for surfing the web, but I was unable to facetime for more than a few seconds. Other people in our group had the same problem. I left my adapter at the last hotel and was able to buy one for 4 euros in the vending machine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank uscfan1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to use facetime while staying at our hotel. We do have excellent free wifi at our hotel and I know that many guests use Skype and don’t seem to have any difficulties. I will pass on your comments to our IT company as I am not familiar with facetime. I look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
2,363 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing