We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Limerick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
munster
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night and loved our stay here , we booked a family room and were delighted when we opened the door to our room , a lovely big family room with a king size bed and 2 singles , the room had everything you need , kettle , tea coffee , iron , iron board , hairdryer and its a proper one not one of those hooked up dinky things that takes forever to dry even the shortest of hair , the bathroom was lovely and roomy and the shower was excellent , and the room came with air con which was great as hotel rooms in my opinion can be stuffy at night ,

We only had breakfast here and found it to be very good and tasty ,

So over all we found this hotel to be lovely , the room was excellent , the staff were very friendly and helpful , and the breakfast was tasty , we would have no problem staying here again if in Limerick .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MunsterMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    378
    175
    63
    41
See reviews for
183
359
44
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hi I attended a recent conference in Limerick and stayed in the Clarion Hotel on the waterside. First time stayed there and very welcoming. Room was high and had spectacular views and very good value. Car parking access was a bit tight.

Good service and very helpful staff and breakfest was fine.

thanks again

Room Tip: Go as high as possible and look for a view of the water away from City
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion for two weeks. Half way through our stay we needed to extend our stay and when I asked reception this was not a problem for them to sort even though they were fully booked on their website!

The car park is situated over the other side of the road and was safe.

Breakfast included a range of cooked breakfast items and continental options. If you wanted an egg you had to request this and they would bring it to you. On the weekends breakfast was very busy. The restaurant was not quite big enough to accommodate everyone when the hotel was fully booked. We had to wait about 15 minutes on one Sunday morning to be seated. This is especially true when there are some tours staying in the hotel. However, they tended to have breakfast quite early in the morning so this was not a great bother to us.
We ate a few times in the Kudos restaurant and in the main restaurant and both places were great. The service was quick and the food was very tasty. If you are a party of 5 or more and you pre book I think that you can have a set menu in the restaurant which seemed good value for money.

The room was very spacious and had a large bed. There was a kettle with tea and coffee as well as wine glasses. We bought some wine from the local Spar and were able to drink it in the room. There was also an ironing board and and iron in the room which was very useful.
Being on the 12th floor it sometimes took a long time for the lifts to reach our floor. There are only 2 lifts that go to the top floor (there is one round the corner of the main lifts. A person below said there were two hidden round the side but there is only one. The plant is just blocking the other door of the main lift). We sometimes walked down to floor 9 where we had the extra lift also. It was a bit frustrating at times to have to wait so long.

The gym facilities were not overly varied. However, it had everything that I would use. It wasn't overly big so during busy times you may have to wait for a machine. We did not use the pool as it was rather small. You are required to wear a swimming cap if you use the pool facilities.

The staff were all very friendly and were happy to help when ever you needed anything. They made our stay very welcoming.

The hotel is situated on the River Shannon. It is worth asking for a view towards the "Riverpoint complex" where you get a view of the river and the town. The hotel is a little further out from the town but it is not far at all to walk. The reception provided us with a map of the town and helped us get our bearings.

Overall we would definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone going to stay in Limerick.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor will give you a better view (but be prepared to wait for lifts if this is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ns246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here in febuary whilst on business, The standard of this hotel is way above any other clarion i have stayed in, the food on the asian menu was some of the best i have had, just wish i could have stayed longer to sample more, parking was only an issue for me due to having a van too big for the car park but the reception staff sorted me out with a on-street parking ticket(at a slight extra cost which was slightly annoying) The only other slight criticism i would have was there didn't seem to be enough staff on duty in the bar area, there was one lad who worked his plumbs off all night serving food and drinks and deserves a medal. The rooms were immaculate, spacious and the views are nice, definately would return with my family

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We srayed in the Clarion Limerick last week and were quite disappointed at the level of seevice. It might have been deserving of four stars at some stage but certainly not currently. Firstly, regarding its appearance, the grey carpets are faded and combined with rather drab walls create an institutional look. Also, in the lifts, the metal units are scratched and worn. At the bar we wanted to order a cocktail. The cocktail menu only contained 5 choices and when our order arrived, they were incorrectly made. The rooms were pleasant enough, clean and we had a wonderful view overlooking the shannon. The beds were also comfortable. We did not eat in the hotel until breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was a complete shambles. The dining room was not big enough to seat everyone so we had to wait for 20 minutes before being seated. The restaurant was seriously understaffed which meant we had to wait 20 minutes for tea. Also when i ordered eggs, they did not arrive until after I had finished breakfast. The breakfast was semi-cold and the bacon cheap. All in all a disappointing stay. A serious amount of work needs to go into upgrading this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here July 18th 2013. Couldn't find fault with anything.. Excellent value (booked through website), spacious fully equipped room c/w fridge, powerful shower, air con, view of the river... Wonderfully helpful & cheerful staff, delicious breakfast the next morning.. Brilliant location, and when the regeneration work is finished in the area it will be stunning (nearest works a km away so no noise or dust to cause annoyance). I can't wait to go back:-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aml1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your 5 stars and for your wonderful review on our hotel. Thank you for taking the time and effort to write this review. I know that other guests will find this very helpful when selecting their next stay in Limerick. I am delighted to hear that you found your stay with us excellent and our staff friendly and helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was booked in here as the Company's normal choice was unavailable. The Clarion is a few minutes from the city center in an area that is surrounded by apartments and river frontage. It's height and location on the riverfront as an hotel are in realty the only things going for it - here's why;
- The car park is across the street in a private multi-storey which was paid for by the hotel
- It's about 15mins walk to the coach & train station and probably difficult to find without the aid of a map
- Reception is tiny for such a large edifice, the 'gathering' and 'Powers Whiskey' stands are somewhat more imposing!
- the lifts dawdled on floors for ages when summoned, so access up or down was always a delay [I found 2 further lifts hidden behind in a corridor, but one was out of order and had a large potted plant in front of the door]
- The bedroom was clean but at one time the bathroom flooded and the carpet - a kind of nondescript green was brown just inside the bedroom door.
- there was a chunk missing in the wall, the said green carpet is well worn & the curtains have strange blotch marks.
-the gym in Sanovitae wasn't particularly overstocked with equipment.
- the Gents changing room could do with a good airing out as it smelled badly of foot odour.
- there are no locks on the lockers and we were warned by notice that the hotel would not be liable for any loss, etc. The desk did offer to keep any valuables however. But this facility prides itself on being 'select'!
- the pool is small and no use for lengths.
- Breakfast was the usual Irish Hotel fare with a good selection, but for the first time in my life I couldn't finish my White Pudding - it was awful and far too salty. Neither did there seem to be fried Egg.

Another redeeming feature was the staff who were friendly throughout at Reception, Sanovitae and Breakfast.

By the way, I noted that the bed had sheets and blankets, not duvets and the aircon got the temperature down to 19C.

The hotel seemed to be used by coach parties and people like me - on business. I spotted an airline captain too so it is probably used for inter continental lay-overs for crew. From my Company's perspective, it was expensive.

Definitely, in my opinion not a 4 star - rather a 3 star and good for a stop over but wouldn't stay for more than a night or at a push, two!

Room Tip: One side faces upstream, whilst the other in the opposite direction with a view over a scrap yard. t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 171956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that you liked our location. The car park is located just across from our hotel and is very easy to access. The train and bus station is a 10 minute walk and we offer free maps to all our guests so that they can find their way. Our staff clearly mark the route and it is very easy to find. We do have 3 lifts that service all our bedrooms and they are can all be accessed from the ground floor. The reason why we have a large plant blocking one side is that this is the back of the lift and there is no need for the lift to open on both sides when it is on the ground floor. The only reason that a bathroom would be flooded is if a guest is running a lot of water and the spray is coming out over the bath. We do have a glass screen on the bath tub to ensure that this does not happen. We do have a leisure pool and I agree that it is not suitable for doing long lengths, due to the size and shape of the hotel, this is the only size that we could get to work. As a city centre hotel, we free that that it is a great asset. All our 158 bedrooms have white linen and duvets. Thank you for complementing our great and friendly staff. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing