We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Limerick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday in December. Room was nice.Air con seemed a bit loud but without it the room got very warm. Clarion has great views and the bar downstairs for a few drinks before bed is always great fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    378
    175
    63
    41
See reviews for
184
359
44
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked a two night stay at the hotel. Arrived and were checked in straight away. Very child friendly hotel and staff were so nice.

We had a lovely view of the Shannon from our room and it was good and spacious.

We ate lunch there on the day we arrived and were very accommodating, even making up a dish that wasn't on the menu.

Breakfast each morning was great, we were up early though, as we had an 18 month old with us!

The pool and leisure facilities were clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puds267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

1- on arrival to hotel, we had to queue for 10 mins to check in, booked and paid for a superior king room online at cost of 91 euro with breakfast, but got a triple room with a standard double and single bed, paint peeling from window sill, paint chipped off wall, small bathroom .2- breakfast next morning, came down to restaurant only to be told to wait in lobby till we were called, 15 mins later we went into a crammed room with self service hot buffet, turn over was so rushed that if you got up to go to buffet you came back to a cleared table and new people being ushered into your seats.3- hotel does not have onsite parking so they tell you to use multi level carpark around corner, which we did at a cost of 8.50, only to come back to get the car and find some of the trim and detail ripped off the car, another gentleman had his window smashed and stereo stolen, so i got off light but still not on when you approach the security to be told no one is there overnite and only 3 cameras work!! rang the hotel to inform them of incident in carpark, they said they would pass it on to the manager to check out, not even a courtsey call back.......most of the staff were friendly and polite but others made you feel like cattle being shoved through, really dissappointed with our stay as we had heard good things but must only count if you are there for one of their hen/stag packages, instead of a short break like we were, will not be returning in a hurry

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TipperaryDeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel, taking their deal for two nights B&B and Dinner on one night.

Room on the 9th Floor is really nice, tea and coffee making facilities. TV has alot of channels. Big soft bed for sleeping. There were hens, stags and sport teams staying in this hotel but we heard no noise from the other rooms.

We notice one thing about this Hotel is that it is very popular and busy but not overly busy for the staff not to handle the inflow. The staff are brillant and for a couple we were able to relax plus also enjoy staying in a vibrant hotel.

We had dinner on the first night of our stay and the menu is very nice, €10 supplement for a sirloin steak which seamed alot but the steak was lovely, but supplements are normally €5 for a steak in Galway restaurants. Drinks in the bar on the first night as we watched the hens and stag go out partying. They do table service which is really nice and adds abit of sophistication to the hotels.

we had breakfast on both mornings and as the hotel is busy we had a 10 minute wait for a table. The breakfast is okay, very busy in the mornings so not really an atmosphere to enjoy breakfast. I would recommend getting it delivered to the room. One of the mornings alot of the food was gone, a big bunch of sports team in before us :(

All in all a really lovely stay and we would definately return again and plan to get up earlier than 9:30 for brekkie.

Room Tip: Stay on the 9th floor 912, lovely spacious well designed room with great views of thomand Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reggie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went for a ladies weekend break away. Got great deal in this hotel. B & B plus evening meal.Very good choice of excellent food both at breakfast and evening meal. At breakfast the food is self service, which was fresh, hot and kept well topped up, with plenty of variety. The evening meal was really nice, well presented, very enjoyable.
The staff were all very welcoming and professional. there was nice relaxed atmosphere throughout the hotel.
There is great views over the docks and the river Shannon.
The spa / pool area was very nice too. it was quiet and peaceful.
Was not impressed with the changing room, ( I hate communal changing rooms!) this one was very small, with very little space to move and no locks on the lockers! otherwise was very clean.

Room Tip: Its a high building so the higher the room - the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breegedoodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent hotel with well appointed, comfortable rooms, clean and well serviced.
I stayed at the Clarion Limerick for 4 nights on business.
Brid Nash, the Operations Manager was charming, efficient and helpful. I stay in many hotels and would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The point in a luxury stay at a hotel is that you get to relax. This was not the case because of the early checkout time. Myself and my partner stayed in the Clarion for Valentine's night and were looking forward to having a lie in the next morning. However checkout was at 10:30am and I was not informed of this at any time during my stay.

The view would have been excellent but we got the "bad side" of the hotel and could only view the construction on the dock road. If staying, I recommend requesting the Shannon Side View.

Also, parking is validated by the hotel which makes it cheaper but it's ridiculous that you have to pay at all in the first place. It cost 8€ for one night's stay, very expensive if staying multiple nights.

Room Tip: Request shannon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank flaflakittenboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing