We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Great Hotel!! Although exterior is a bit unimpressive, it made up for it inside. Very friendly check in staff, really nice lobby. We stayed on the 2nd floor in a fab room! very big lovely huge bed, desk and chair, free wifi all nice and clean.
Breakfast was a really nice buffet, everything you could want, full range of juices, cereals full cooked breakfast with omelletts and fried eggs made in front of you, plenty of breads and pastries, also big fresh frut selection , cheese and meats.
The bar food and the restaurants had good food although it was expensive, staff were friendly and efficent.
The gardens were lovely with a small playground for children. Lovely spa not overpriced with nice pool.
All in all I would defo return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepperIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonLim, Director of Sales and Marketing at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2009

Many thanks for your lovely comments on the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,295 - 1,301 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2009

My previous experience of radisson hotels was at Manchester airport. This was very different.Check in was fine. The executive room e109 b&b so not cheap in the present climate. Room was ok not very clean A hole in the red net curtains , dust in places. The bathroom had small bugs, loose tiles and old grouting around the bath. No air con even though it did have once . On the first morning the tv wasnt working so reception said plug it out and in again. Got no toiletries on the second day. During the day there was no heating in the room which was ok as i was only passing through. On returning to the room on the second night , a very cold night there was no heating. Rang reception and an hour later had to go find a porter who gave me a portable heater. The following morning the electrician said the heating goes off from 8 to 10 every night as it gets too hot. Is this a first? No heating on a freezing night.
FOOD Breakfast good selection. Had no cereal bowls on one morning. No cups on table the next. Lots of staff no organisation.
Lunch .Lovely food , great service.
Dinner. Great food very slow service. Over 2 hours for 3 courses.Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

My partner and I have just returned from a lovely weekend in the Radisson SAS Limerick. This visit was the result of a complimentary weekend to make up for our dissapointing experience in October '08.

On arrival I could tell that it was going to be different to the last time. Already the lobby looked better and the staff at the check-in desk were polite, professional and very competent. In fact, before I go on I'll just say that all the staff in all departments of the hotel were outstanding during our stay, I didn't recognise any from our last outing and the service was of a much higher standard this time.

We checked in with no fuss at all and entered our business class room moments later. The room was the same as before but definitely cleaner. It also had robes, slippers, a Nespresso machine and various other little treats. Pay movies is still being upgraded at the hotel but they had supplied us with a DVD player and a selection of DVDs.

We went down to the pool on our first evening and it was absolutely gorgeous. Much cleaner than last time and at night it really is a sight to behold. The tropical rainfall shower, the freezing fog shower and the Canadian Hot Tub were all working and we had a lovely relaxing time there before dinner in the restaurant.

The food was beautiful, it was the best steak either of us have had in a long time. Service was brisk and attentive.
Breakfast the next morning was a feast. They have an extensive selection, definitely something for everyone. Afterwards we went to the pool for an hour and when we returned our room had already been cleaned.

I also had my hair done in the Ravens Salon on-site. Very modern set-up and the staff there really know what they're doing. I was very happy with the result and all without leaving the building!

Only one thing marred the weekend and that was some wedding guests on our final night. One woman thought it was her god given right to hold court outside our room at 1am for about an hour while her kids ran screaming up and down the corridor. Eventually we rang reception and they had the situation under control in a matter of minutes. The kids resumed at 8.30am the next morning however the hotel cannot be faulted for guests behaviour.

Check out was equally fuss free and we would be more than happy to recommend the Radisson SAS Limerick to anyone based on this stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0ul0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We had been on hotel breaks before, but the excitement in the buildup to our recent trip to the Radisson SAS in Limerick was made all the greater by the fact that we had won this 2 night Spa Break. We could hardly contain ourselves, in a giddy sort of way, as we took the relatively short drive from Cork to Limerick. To my shame, I had not been in Limerick before, so we spent the first day walking the streets, having a lovely lunch in the Hamptons and making a short visit to the wonderful Hunt Museum. After a lovely riverside walk to as far as the University of Limerick, we made out way to the Radisson SAS hotel on the Ennis Road. We checked in with a very pleasant Polish girl and were provided with all the details of the Spa Break package. She even upgraded us to a Business Class room, which apparently is common practice at the Radisson, when there is availability of course. We also had the pleasure of viewing all of the style of a wedding that had just arrived to the lobby for what looked like the perfect drinks reception. Lisa was delighted to see that the room had a Nespresso machine, which was well utilised for the next two days. After having a quick look around the room, we donned the swimming togs and made our way to the lovely pool, which we had to ourselves. It was then time for tea so we headed back into Limerick City. We went to Milano for quick and cheerful pizzas, wanting to rush back to the comfort of the Radisson on a rather fresh Decembers night.
Breakfast, the following morning, was a buffet spread with a variety of healthy options, traditional Irish breakfast treats and continental fair. The Spa Break package includes a one hour treatment each. In novel way, you get your choice of treatments and take three for twenty minutes each. I decided to explore Limerick some more, letting Lisa use my hour as well. By time I returned in the afternoon, she was shining and so relaxed, that she had taken to the bed again. We just about managed to rouse ourselves for dinner in the Radisson's restaurant. The menu offered something for everyone, and we were delighted with the service, comfort of the surroundings and the hearty servings. Again, on the second night, we retired to bed early. It was just too comfortable.
On our last morning, we indulged for breakfast, spent an hour in the pool and checked out a bit late, which again, was no problem for the obliging staff of the Radisson. We were just sorry to have to leave. In fact, when we arrived back home, Lisa asked me was I glad to be home. Normally I would be, but I said that on this occasion, I'd still rather be at the Radisson. Lisa felt the same.
So a big Thank You to Jacinta O' Brien from Love and Marriage magazine and to Tom Shanahan and his staff at the Radisson SAS for giving us a greatly appreciated 2 night Spa Break at the Radisson SAS in Limerick.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rorybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Everyting about this hotel was o.k., but nothing outstanding

The hotel is quite a distance outside Limerick, which was dissappointing. But there was plenty of parking.

The hotel was o.k. The place felt old, and the bedrooms were dated - but they were spacious and clean and had a really good work space.

I didn't like the food at all, but that may have been just what I selected (sausages - unedible). Breakfast was again o.k.

The place also felt full of people on tour buses, and it felt a bit chaotic.... lots of bags lying around.

I haven't gone out of my way to stay here again, but that is only because for the same price I can get a nice place in Limerick.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WaterfordKookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

This was our 3rd visit to the Radisson Limerick. We'd a great experience there on our first visit in June 2007 hence why we returned a second time.

On our second visit, in Aug 2008, the room we were in was very shabby and in need of an overhaul and the TV didn't work but apart from that, all was fine until our last night when we ordered bar food. To make a long story short, the food we were delivered and started eating, was suddenly whisked away from us by the waiter, saying "sorry, wrong table" and brought to another table, that was on a level we couldn't see.

Therefore, our 3rd visit was as a result of a complimentary weekend to make up for the fiasco on the 2nd visit.

So 3rd visit arrived and we were very warmly greeted and all was going well. Room was nice and less shabby than our previous visit but the bathroom tiles were losing the grout and the lampshades were all broken and in need of replacing. There was no soap in the bathroom and to make matters worse, there was a half smoked cigarette, complete with ash in the ice bucket in our room!!

We went down for dinner the 1st night, which was included. After placing our order and having to request a chance of cutlery as the steak knife given to my friend was filthy, we were served by a grumpy waitress who informed the table beside us [when they asked her what was wrong with her] that she was tired and wanted to go home. This was only 9.45pm! She then proceeded to clear our table and piled the dishes up so high that she let them all drop and the uneaten food went all over my brand new top. No napkin or water was offered to me so I ended up having to dip my serviette in my glass of water to try and clean my top.

The manager followed us up to our room and requested my top as they were going to get it dry cleaned. This I appreciated as did the unexpected arrival of a drink from the waitress to apologise.

So onto our next day. We went out early and got back about 2.30pm as I wasn't feeling well. However, despite leaving the sign outside our door, our room hadn't been serviced. I rang reception and was told by a very rude receptionist "housekeeping get departure rooms ready first. They are here until 5pm so your room will be done sometime before that" When I informed her that I wanted to lie down due to being unwell etc, I'd a choice, stay in the room and not have it serviced or leave the room and get it serviced! Not good enough for a 4* hotel.

When housekeeping arrived on our corridor at 3.30pm, they spent the next 3 hours banging doors constantly and having loud chats outside our room. Despite asking them politely a couple of times to keep the noise down, they got louder and spoke in their own language.

By this stage, only for the fact that the weather was too bad to drive in, we would have headed straight home.

Our check out was completed by possibly the rudest, sourest and most ignorant receptionist I have ever come across. She never asked us if everything was ok and tried to charge us for the meal the 1st night, which was complimentary. When I pointed this out to her, she muttered under her breath in her own language and gave me a new bill.

It became very apparent over the duration of our stay, that unless you were part of a wedding group or attending/paying for some other big function, the hotel staff really doesn't care about how things are for you. The 100% satisfaction guarantee or you don't pay, doesn't exist either.

I left a comment card at reception, foolishly expecting to hear from the Manager, but to date, we've heard nothing. Given that this was a complimentary stay, it would have been polite and good manners to have contacted me on our return to make sure we'd had a good time.

This hotel needs to refurbish their rooms and to improve their staff relations. They need to improve their staff, with regards to manners and attitudes. Nothing worse than being in a hotel with rude and ignorant staff.

I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celticcreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Stayed here for weekend break. Mediocre hotel certainly not 4 star luxury!
Spa area Ok, small pool, hot tub out or order, tropical shower not working we did not use the treatment area so cannot comment but did look very nice.
Quite a way out of town on main road. Attractive gardens and approach Very convenient for Bunratty Castle and Shannon airport.
Restuarant expensive and menu very uninspiring so decided to eat out.
Bedroom small in size very basic . Old style TV with poor sound! . The view was awful, the back and rooftop of the front part of the hotel! This was expensive for what it was and even more so as breakfast would have been a whopping 15 euros extra each.
Considering there was a large wedding party hotel corridors quite and there was no noise transfer.
Staff all very friendly and efficient.
Apart from the advantage of being able to use the pool area this was really not much better that the travel lodge down the road, nearer the centre and half the price!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBristol234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
4.0 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,011 reviews
3.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,672 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
1,192 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,186 reviews
3.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#7 Family Hotel in Limerick
#7 Business Hotel in Limerick
#7 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $79 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel and Spa, Limerick is located on the borders of Limerick City and County Clare in Ireland's Shannon Region. The hotel has undergone an exciting redevelopment in 2015 with newly upgraded bedrooms, public areas and conferencing facilities. This 4 star hotel offers luxury accommodation, complimentary car parking, extensive parkland grounds and gardens, Porter's Restaurant, Quench bar, cocktail bar, leisure facilities & Rain Spa & Wellness Clinic. The hotel is the ideal location for exploring the West of Ireland and the Wild Atlantic Way, just a short 5 minute drive to Limerick City Centre, King Johns Castle, The Hunt Museum and Thomond Park Rugby Stadium. This region offers a thriving nightlife, a host of excellent restaurants and shops, world famous golf links and parkland courses and the country's most stunning visitor attractions, including The Burren, Cliffs of Moher and Bunratty Castle and Folk Park.Just a 5 minute drive from Limerick City and 10 minutes from Shannon Airport, the hotel is the ideal base for both the Corporate and the Leisure Guest. All spacious guest-rooms include coffee/tea making facilities, luxury beds, reading chair & lamps, flat screen TV, personal coded safe, trouser press and complimentary WI-FI access, spacious bathrooms include power shower with hand held shower massage, sink/vanity, hair dryer and loudspeakers from TV/Radio system. The conference and meeting facilities at the hotel is one of the largest in the Limerick and Shannon region. The venue space, free car parking along with the proximity to Shannon airport and national motorway routes makes the hotel the perfect business venue. Rain Spa and Wellness Clinic at the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Limerick, offers the perfect opportunity to rejuvenate mind, body & soul. This facility includes 9 treatment rooms, a thermal suite, outdoor hot tub, relaxation suite, wet treatment rooms and state of the art Leisure Club. All residents receive complimentary access to the Thermal Suite and Outdoor Hot Tub at Rain Leisure and a 15% discount off treatments at Rain Spa. The Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Limerick is a family friendly hotel. The outdoor play area, swimming pool and gardens along with so many local family attractions make the hotel an ideal destination or touring base ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Limerick
Radisson Blu Hotel Limerick
Radisson Hotel Limerick
Radisson Limerick
Limerick Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing