We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food but service incredibly slow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick lunch en route- the food was- as previously- surprisingly tasty. Very nice buffet selection- everything looked very fresh. Soup piping hot and bread v fresh. However while the service is friendly and pleasant, it's incredibly slow and haphazard. Really, it just needs to speed up! There was almost no one eating lunch- a pity, as we have always found the food to be reliably excellent. So keep the chefs and train up the wait staff!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank User0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanking you for your recent review in relation to your dining experience with us @ The Radisson BLU Hotel & Spa, Limerick. While I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our food it disappoints me that you found the service slow. Our Restaurant Manager has taken this review on board with the upsmost sincerity and has used it to highlight such to her team in her staff & training meetings.

We look forward to welcoming you back and once again thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Alan Troy,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located off the motorway and there's nothing within walking distance to do. Hotel itself looks nice but is dated. We ate in the bar and after finishing dinner the plates were left so long we actually started to take bets on how long it would take to clear the table. It took 45 minutes. We were never offered desert menus either. A few small issues, however we still enjoyed our stay.
I have to say the reception staff were outstanding, there was a girls who's name I can't remember but she had only recently started who we found really friendly and informative. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadySineady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was great to read that you found our reception staff friendly & informative. Our Bar Manager has used your review to highlight to his team the shortcomings you raised in his staff & training meetings.Thank you for this feedback as this is very important to us in helping us to strive to meet & go beyond our guest's expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Alan Troy,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Working in the hotel industry I expect a lot whether that be a hostel or a 2/3/4/5 star hotel. During breakfast I waited quite a long time for coffee (which i really dislike) although the selection on the buffet made up for it. Everything was a little challenging during my stay. One positive note was the accommodation service each evening my room was turned down which was a nice touch. Overall nice hotel but service skills might be lacking.

Room Tip: My room was on the 1st floor which is actually a minus level floor which I am not a fan of. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxuriousTraveler004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your recent review in relation to your recent stay with us @ The Radisson BLU Hotel & Spa, Limerick. We are delighted that you found the Hotel nice and we have taken on board the comments that you have highlighted. My sincere apologies in relation to the wait for the coffee.

Sincerely,

Alan Troy,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel itself is a little on the shabby side, the reception area is lovely, as is the bar, its the actual bedrooms that let the hotel down, they really do need a refurbishment, the carpet was stained, the curtains were worn, just little items that let the hotel down. Overall though the room was warm, the bed was comfortable, the staff were lovely, efficient and friendly, I had used a groupon voucher, so the deal was cheap, so I wasn't expecting too much and I wasn't disappointed. The breakfast was lovely, hot and plentiful, loads of choice, couldn't actually fault it. I heard the following day after I checked out that the hotel itself had gone into liquidation, which I don't know if that's true or not, but that may explain why its gone a little shabby?

Would I stay here again? yes, if I got a good reasonable deal on groupon or one of those offer sites, would I pay full whack for this hotel, No. Also its quite a distance outside limerick city, you will need a car, plus there is nothing else in the vicinity to do.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Mary,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor in relation to your recent stay with us @ The Radisson BLU Hotel & Spa, Limerick. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and also very thankful for your honest feedback in relation to the Hotel. We are actually in the process of lighly refurbishing our bedrooms. The Hotel entered Receiversip & not liquidation and it is business as normal, the first 3 months have been extremley busy and the future looks very promising for the Radisson BLU Hotel & Spa, Limerick.

Sincerely,

Alan Troy, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had recent overnight at Radisson and enjoyed it. Went to meet up with a friend and it was very successful. Hotel is a €12 taxi ride from railway station (3 miles) in quiet country setting. It is in a modern style and in need of a little touch up (paint etc). Rooms are nice - ours was on the 3 floor and fine (with shower) but my friends was on second and was much bigger and nicer with bath.
Food was good - breakfast excellent. Staff excellent - great service. Sign posts to rooms are a bit confusing and it was common to meet people who are lost but the extra walk did no harm and encouraged socialising. Leisure Centre good with small pool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2frank2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Just a short note to thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us @ The Radisson BLU Hotel Hotel & Spa, Limerick. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Alan Troy,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for an overnight break in this Hotel over the Bank Holiday Weekend,
Being St.Patricks Weekend it was quiet busy but enjoyable.
The Hotel itself is located in a nice quiet location out a bit from Limerick City.
I have to compliment the Staff of the Hotel, They were so nice and just couldnt do enough for us. The bedrooms are cosy and the bed is very comfortable, Everything one needs is available in the room, However the Hotel in general could benefit from a little revamp !
We went to the Spa area which was good - we practically had it to ourselves, The outdoor tub was great ! The Sauna for the Ladies is situated in the Ladies dressing room and the Men's Sauna in the Mens dressing area - This i found strange ! but i believe it's a Swedish tradition.
The restaurant was very busy on the evening of our stay so we opted for the Bar Food Menu.
This was tasty and plentyful ,We enjoyed eating it while relaxing with a lovley pint of Guinness and a glass of wine in front of the fire. This option we found to more relaxed.
Breakfast the following morning was good with plenty of choice to suit everyone's taste,
Staff were on hand to assist if there was anything else required.
Overall we enjoyed our overnight and would return again to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELLAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thanking you for your review on Tripadvisor in relation to your recent stay @ The Radisson BLU Hotel & Spa, Limerick. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Alan Troy,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Radisson in Limerick for three nights including breakfast.People working at this hotel are really friendly and always helpful. Its been quite a time since I have met such good staf! Breakfast was good and they had a big variety of tasty and fresh food!
My room was big,comfortable and quiet however the bathroom was quite poor. It needs a very good make over the sooner the better. I also had free wifi and and a TV, and yes the TV is old but I never used the TV so... I went to the swimming pool to check the timetables and it looked very clean and kind of spacious, unfortunately due to my busy schedule I had no time to actually use the spa. I also liked that there is free parking and its quite near to Limerick but also to the airport!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venus-Athene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your 4 star review in relation to your recent stay with us @ The Radisson BLU Hotel & Spa, Limerick. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with and very appreciative for the feedback in relation to our bedrooms. We are actually in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms & bathrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Alan Troy,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,024 reviews
3.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,712 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,201 reviews
3.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Limerick
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#7 Business Hotel in Limerick
#7 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $91 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel and Spa, Limerick is located on the borders of Limerick City and County Clare in Ireland's Shannon Region. The hotel has undergone an exciting redevelopment in 2015 with newly upgraded bedrooms, public areas and conferencing facilities. This 4 star hotel offers luxury accommodation, complimentary car parking, extensive parkland grounds and gardens, Porter's Restaurant, Quench bar, cocktail bar, leisure facilities & Rain Spa & Wellness Clinic. The hotel is the ideal location for exploring the West of Ireland and the Wild Atlantic Way, just a short 5 minute drive to Limerick City Centre, King Johns Castle, The Hunt Museum and Thomond Park Rugby Stadium. This region offers a thriving nightlife, a host of excellent restaurants and shops, world famous golf links and parkland courses and the country's most stunning visitor attractions, including The Burren, Cliffs of Moher and Bunratty Castle and Folk Park.Just a 5 minute drive from Limerick City and 10 minutes from Shannon Airport, the hotel is the ideal base for both the Corporate and the Leisure Guest. All spacious guest-rooms include coffee/tea making facilities, luxury beds, reading chair & lamps, flat screen TV, personal coded safe, trouser press and complimentary WI-FI access, spacious bathrooms include power shower with hand held shower massage, sink/vanity, hair dryer and loudspeakers from TV/Radio system. The conference and meeting facilities at the hotel is one of the largest in the Limerick and Shannon region. The venue space, free car parking along with the proximity to Shannon airport and national motorway routes makes the hotel the perfect business venue. Rain Spa and Wellness Clinic at the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Limerick, offers the perfect opportunity to rejuvenate mind, body & soul. This facility includes 9 treatment rooms, a thermal suite, outdoor hot tub, relaxation suite, wet treatment rooms and state of the art Leisure Club. All residents receive complimentary access to the Thermal Suite and Outdoor Hot Tub at Rain Leisure and a 15% discount off treatments at Rain Spa. The Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Limerick is a family friendly hotel. The outdoor play area, swimming pool and gardens along with so many local family attractions make the hotel an ideal destination or touring base ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Limerick
Radisson Blu Hotel Limerick
Radisson Hotel Limerick
Radisson Limerick
Limerick Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing