We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Trip to Limerick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great National South Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First Trip to Limerick”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

To find the hotel was not as easy, we found the petrol station, realised the hotel was across the road. So luckily I put my sat nav on my phone, and found the hotel. Looks ok, plenty of parking, easy to get to the hotel even if your disabled.
Staff were friendly. We had something to eat in the bar while the World Cup was going on, as we were tired from Travelling from Cavan to this hotel, we did not fancy eating much as it was getting late. We had two double beds in our room, so we only used one of them. There was a bath with a shower above.
After a good nights sleep, we went down for breakfast, plenty of choice.
Then we checked out which did not take long. Driving to Shannon Airport did not take long, and very well signed posted. Limerick City Centre is not far away, you can drive in minutes. Easy to drive around Ireland from the Hotel, if you want that as a base or Start or End of a holiday break.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor room 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephaniejayne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear stephaniejayne5,

We're glad you found our parking and location convenient for your trip.

I hope you had a pleasant stay and a safe homeward journey.

Please keep us in mind if you ever return to the area,

Best Wishes,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    180
    104
    36
    30
See reviews for
144
118
32
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Central location to drive to Dingle, Kilkenny, Muckross House Killarney, Adare, Bunratty Castle, Cahir Castle, Rock of Cashel, Cliffs of Dover, Aillwee Cave (nothing more than 2 1/2 hrs drive and saw several things each day). Can catch a bus only 10 minutes drive from hotel in Limereck and takes you to Dublin in 2 1/2 hours, only 80euro roundtrip for 4 adults - kids prices cheaper. Only 15 minutes drive from Shannon airport. Nice breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: Booked a family room that had Queen bed and 3 twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therosstwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Therosstwins,

Glad to hear you enjoyed our central location and our spacious family rooms.

I hope you got to experience and enjoy the wide variety of sights and attractions the region has to offer.

I hope we have the chance to welcome you back again should you pay a return visit,

Thanks again for choosing us,

Best Wishes,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 1 night on booking . Com. It stated it was a 4 star which we paid for. We checked in on Monday night and there was loads of parking which was great we also noticed it had 3 stars on the way in to reception. We questioned this and they had no real answer. The reception area was large and bright could do with some plants. We were on the 2 nod floor room was large & cold but it seemed to warm up later on. The room was lovely no complaints just the TV was the old fashioned TV not the flat screen & I guess that proves it wasn't a 4 star. Tea Coffee facilities as well provided . Slept well & shower was also great. Breakfast was buffet style. Seemed to be a bit un organised, no one to greet you to your table , we had to ask for coffee tea etc. we also had dinner in the restaurant the night before as well and the food was great.
I have to say all the staff are brilliant and are a credit to the hotel.
Maybe breakfast needs to be looked at in the mornings more help needed there. Change T V our remote control was also sellotaped. Definitely not 4 star.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chipdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear ChipDublin,
Thanks for taking the time to review the South Court Hotel.

We have contacted the website you made your booking on and arrange for our rating and general details to be amended where necessary. Our apologies for the confusion caused.

We are glad you enjoyed the food and found the staff. I will raise your points with the relevant supervisors too: our apologies for the issues you experienced at breakfast.

If you are returning to Limerick in the near future please don't hesitate to contact me directly,

Best Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lovely hotel, spacious rooms, very helpful staff, bar food excellent and well priced, good location, plenty of parking, I would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxed comfortable break close to city centre and shopping centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Susan M,
Many thanks for your review and recommendations!

I hope you and yours had an enjoyable visit to LImerick.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back at some stage,

Best Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here whilst touring Co. Tipperary, Co, Clare and Co. Kerry researching family history.
Although not in a particularly attractive location the warm welcome we received on arrival soon dispelled any fears we may have had. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Grainne in the Curry House restaurant.
The only niggle we had was at breakfast where empty plates were not cleared leaving the table cluttered at times.

Room Tip: Lifestyle Suites are roomy and the ones overlooking the car park quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Eileen,
Thanks for reviewing us.

I hope you had an enjoyable and successful time exploring your ancestry.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed the accommodation and hospitality at the South Court Hotel. I will pass your kinds words on to Grainne and the team.

Please accept our apologies over the issues at breakfast; I will raise the matter with our restaurant supervisors accordingly.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again on your next visit to the region,

Best Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Do not look at any other hotel in Limerick but this one! It was amazing. The staff were lovely, the room was so beautiful and spacious. The restaurant was fantastic. Overall, this is a great hotel and will not disappoint you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Emily C,
Delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations! We really appreciate the kind words and recommendation.

We hope to welcome you back again at the South Court Hotel,

Best Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Booked this Hotel on-line to attend the Special Olympics and did not know what to expect . I was certainly not disappointed . From the first minute I walked thru the front door until I left I cannot praise the very helpful and courteous staff highly enough . If back in Limerick again I will not even consider looking elsewhere .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armaghforsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Armaghforsam,
Firstly, I hope you had an enjoyable visit to Limerick for the Special Olympics.

Thanks for sharing your experience and indeed for choosing the South Court Hotel. We value all feedback and really appreciate your recommendation.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future,

Best Wishes,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
3.3 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
2.8 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Maldron Hotel Limerick
#14 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National South Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National South Court Hotel

Property: Great National South Court Hotel
Address: Raheen Roundabout, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Lynch South Court Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
#8 Family Hotel in Limerick
#10 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National South Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National South Court Hotel Limerick is one of the cities premier business and leisure hotels, minutes from the City Centre and convenient to the Motorway Network. Ample Free Parking, gym, and High Speed WiFi throughout the building. The hotel features 124 spacious bedrooms, Boru's Traditional Bar and the Cream Room Curry House, offering authentic Indian and European cuisine at value for money prices. The hotel also features a Coffee House where we Proudly Serve Starbucks. Enjoy a superb location: Bunratty and Adare are a 10 minute drive while Shannon Airport is only 20 minutes away. Extensive facilities adjoining hotel include bank, ATM, pharmacy, food and convenience stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great National South Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Court Limerick
Limerick South Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing