We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great National South Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We went here with a pigsback voucher (2 nights bnb for 99 euro) and I have to say it was much better than I expected. The room was huge, with a comfy bed, couch and full dining table. Decor is a bit outdated but all in all perfectly adequate. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. We had food in the bar and it was delicious and well priced. It is quite a bit from town but as we were in a large group it didnt cost much to get into town. The residents bar is open late to get a last drink in also. The only downside is the breakfast. I'm lactose intolerant and there was no alternative to cows milk. It might seem like a small thing but this is the first hotel/restaurant i'v been to which didn't cater for me. The breakfast was generally nice part from the sausages which were undercooked for me. Also they kept running out of breakfast items and we had to ask for additional rashers, eggs, brown bread for toasting etc. Also its worth noting that there is no swimming pool in the hotel. I have to say though we got a good bargain and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miakav86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    181
    107
    36
    30
See reviews for
145
120
32
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the South court hotel for 2 days 8th 9th Sept, only wish it could have been longer, from check in to checking out, the staff could have not done more for us, we were given an upgraded room on arrival without asking for it, the hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is delicious and not expensive, as the hotel is on the outskirts of Limerick the sleep quality is excellent, there is a bus service just across from the hotel that serves the city for 1,80 one way, this hotel is ideal for touring as it is on the Raheen roundabout, Adare, Foynes, Shannon, Bunratty, a mere stones throw away by car. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay, We WILL be back for a longer visit, Gerry, Mary,

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartgerry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniscorthy, Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were mixed group of 6 ranging in age from 85 to 18. In limerick for our son s graduation. Have only praise for everybody and everything in the south court hotel. Plus our first time to visit limerick city. We done the red viking bus tour once again everybody taxi driver shop staff a bus driver were all very friendly and helpful. Hope to south court soon .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Came here as part of a funeral party, we were put in a room where breakfast is usually served as the cereals etc were covered with a mountain of sheets. Bit of an eyesore and looked stupid.
Soup was bland and boring the only good thing was the fresh baked rolls. I had roast beef, veg were smothered in butter. Gravy was tasty but the roast beef was shocking. I couldn't cut it and had to ask for a steak knife and when I finally got to taste it. It was tough and tasteless. I left most of it behind. The others had my table weren't impressed either.
Staff were extremely friendly and obliging. But never asked how our meal was etc

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NenaghGirlxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My friend and I stay at this hotel on a regular basis and we're always 100% impressed and happy with the way the staff look after us. It's a real pleasure to recommend the South Court Limerick as a fabulous place to stay. Kay Looney

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaylooney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we stayed in the south court hotel for two nights we got a family room for two adults and one child the room was good and big loads of towels tea and coffee making in the room we dined in the bar had pub grub and it was top nosh breakfast was lovely very clean hotel well done all

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philly41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have stayed at the South Court Hotel several times this year and have always found Dermot and his team most welcoming and helpful in making my stay there as enjoyable and productive as possible. My room was particularly spacious, comfortable and clean. I can highly recommend it for business travellers looking for ease of access from major routes, a good breakfast and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Michael,
Sincere thanks for your review and recommendation - and your continued custom. I will share your comments with our team,

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Best Wishes,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
3.3 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
2.8 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Maldron Hotel Limerick
#14 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National South Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National South Court Hotel

Property: Great National South Court Hotel
Address: Raheen Roundabout, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Lynch South Court Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
#8 Family Hotel in Limerick
#10 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National South Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National South Court Hotel Limerick is one of the cities premier business and leisure hotels, minutes from the City Centre and convenient to the Motorway Network. Ample Free Parking, gym, and High Speed WiFi throughout the building. The hotel features 124 spacious bedrooms, Boru's Traditional Bar and the Cream Room Curry House, offering authentic Indian and European cuisine at value for money prices. The hotel also features a Coffee House where we Proudly Serve Starbucks. Enjoy a superb location: Bunratty and Adare are a 10 minute drive while Shannon Airport is only 20 minutes away. Extensive facilities adjoining hotel include bank, ATM, pharmacy, food and convenience stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Great National South Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Court Limerick
Limerick South Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing