We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great National South Court Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in South Court Hotel while attending a conference in University of Limerick. Service was great from the moment I arrived to the time I left.
Food in the Bar both nights was excellent. Service was good too. Friendly and efficient staff.

Overall, the only complaint I had was that there was no black or white pudding at breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 579 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Thanks for the stay at the weekend. I was attending a conference and brought my wife and children down for a weekend stay.

The family room met our needs and the staff where very firendly and most helpful to our requests.

We asked for the air conditioning to be turned on but not really sure this made a difference. As we were all really tired we all soon fell asleep anyway. Very handy to the motorway and after a four hour drive I was really glad to see the hotel.

Thought it was amusing to see a Psychic fair on the Sunday with a bible club upstairs. Clearly catering for all!

We would stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamHanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

stayed for 1 night - not a great experience - check in was fine - room was very dated - bathroom door didn't close .... tap in bath wouldn't turn off ....and a couple of the electrical sockets in the room weren't working - a buzzing noise coming out of one where the kette was supposed to be boiled - i mentioned this when checking out and the response i got was "ok" - not very professional if you ask me. wouldnt stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaoc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

stayed in hotel wkend 5th to 7th april, and i have to say dissappointed from start to finish. On arrival staff member on check in was only covering so had to go get someone to check us in, then up to rooms, wrong ones, had requested two twin rooms and got two rooms with only a double bed in each, so back down to reception, same man there so he had to go off again to get someone to fix the mix up. Rooms are very dated. Decided to go down for the carvery dinner in bar, yet again a member of staff that didnt know what he was doin, was picking up the hot plates with a dirty tea towel and then leaving it on the plate while carving the meat, i was speechless. The nearest shops are a 25 minutes walk from the hotel. Didnt eat in the hotel again so had food while while out that evening. Went into bar for a drink later that night, 6 people in it. Breakfast was ok on first morning, not good second. Spent the day in limerick city on the saturday because there was no athmosphere in the hotel at all. Saturday night decided to try bar again as were told there was entertainment on and it would be busy, 12 people this time. When i was booking this hotel i asked was it suitable for two 16 yr old girls and was told it was, where they got that from i will never know, absolutely nothing for the girls to do and the enterainment and athmosphere was so bad i was even bored and im the mammy. Did express my disappointment when checking out and told of the check in and the dirty tea towel. Was asked for my email add so they could get in touch and suprise suprise i have heard nothing so goes to show that the hotel isnt bothered about how there guests enjoy there stay, To top the whole review the hotel is in recievership so please dont bother going, there is plenty other hotels in limerick that im sure you will enjoy much much more

Room Tip: choose a different one in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Jenny F,
Thanks for your feedback.

According to our records, you had requested two refurbished lifestyle rooms as you had mentioned you heard the positive feedback on them on Trip Advisor. These were allocated, side by side as requested. Despite a staff member needing to get the assistance of another to check on available twin bedrooms to switch you into, we apologised that incorrect rooms were assigned and the switch was carried out immediately and without delay. We also mentioned at the time that we didn’t have any of the refurbished standard rooms available.

We take food safety and standards extremely seriously; your note that a qualified chef left a dirty tea towel on a plate while carving meat is being investigated.

In relation to the nearest shops, the nearest ones are actually located adjacent the hotel in the courtfield shopping centre which comprises a supermarket, pharmacy, salon, bank, coffee shop and a number of other retail premises. The cresent shopping centre, which we presume you may be referring to, is indeed further but within reasonable walking distance.

The weekend of your stay followed a busy Easter bank holiday weekend. We had live entertainment in our bar, albeit to a small crowd than usual. Please accept our apologies if you found the music act not to your satisfaction.

We remain confident that the hotel is a suitable base for accompanied teenagers to stay. We have unlimited, complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel, which is very popular with young and old alike. Limerick itself has a wide variety of attractions to appeal to families including several cinemas, sports and activity centres, historical places of interest and numerous other recreational facilities. We can recall you enquiring about shopping outlets but not any of the other places of interest which may have appealled to your fellow guests.

We welcome and always ask for customer feedback and attempt to respond to all complaints either in person and afterwards by phone, e-mail and on social media platforms such as Trip Advisor. Through an internal miscommunication, we didn’t make timely contact as promised and we sincerely regret this.

Again, please accept our apologies and if you would like to discuss the matter further please don’t hesitate to contact me on 061 487 487.

Best Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

On arrival, we had to wait at reception for about 10 mins to be assisted, rooms were only ok, could do with a bit of modernisation, staff wernt that friendly, besides the girl that served breakfast on Sunday 17th of March, a lovely friendly girl. REception staff were very poor, probably one of the worst I have stayed in, the food in bar was only ok

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just back from a two night break in the South Court Hotel and had a lovely time. Found the staff to be friendly and approachable, and willing to help. We had a voucher that we didn't realise had gone out of date and the hotel still honored it when they didn't have to, AND they gave us a complimentary upgrade when we arrived. Warm welcome from the reception staff, the lobby was welcoming and clean and our room was very large and airy with a sitting area as well as a king sized bed. The bathroom was small but very adequate and clean and tidy, with lots of hot water and great water pressure. I think the heating/air conditioning is only put on when you get to the room, and therefore it can be a little chilly, so you might need extra bed covers. Our voucher included an evening meal which was served in the Boru Bar and this was delicious and the staff seemed genuinely concerned that we were happy with our food and the service. We had a slight problem with the room (nothing the hotel had control over) and when we mentioned it the next morning we were moved to another room immediately with no fuss. We had breakfast on both days which was very tasty and cooked to order, with the added nice touch of the gentleman who was over the breakfasts remembering what we had to eat the morning before. Close to the hospital and the Crescent shopping centre (but not walking distance unless you like a good walk!), with a handy Centra shop next door for the little bits that we tend to forget. Like most people I read the reviews on here before we left and we apprehensive but Im a fussy traveller and I would recommend it and I would definitely stay here again (I've my eye on the Presidential Suite - husband take note!!). The staff did go over and above to make sure we were happy and this isn't always the way when you travel on a voucher, but we were made to feel like we were the only guests in the hotel.

Room Tip: The lifestyle suites are large and airy, but can be a bit chilly. Opt for them but look for extra be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minidriver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Minidriver75,
Thank you for such a comprehensive review of your stay with us.

We are very interested to hear feedback from our guests both during and after a stay. Please accept our apologies for finding the room a little chilly on check-in; I will investigate this oversight.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon,

Best Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stopped at Boru Restaurant (not hotel guests) for a late lunch. We found the section on offer buffet style was still good despite being rather late into the afternoon. We still found the food quality and flavour good and the value excellent.
Despite calling on a Saturday afternoon of a Bank Holiday we found the place very quiet indeed.
Would not hesitate to drop in here again - no problem with parking. Very handy for lunch if you are shopping.
Appologies for attaching this review to the hotel as I could not find a dedicated review for this restaurant

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locationspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear locationspy,
Thanks for stopping by for lunch at Boru's Porterhouse.

We pay particular attention to the quality, variety and value of our menus and we're glad that you were impressed.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
3.3 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,034 reviews
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
2.9 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
428 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Maldron Hotel Limerick
#16 of 20 in Limerick
682 reviews
2.6 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#15 of 20 in Limerick
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National South Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National South Court Hotel

Address: Raheen Roundabout, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Lynch South Court Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Limerick
#10 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $85 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National South Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National South Court Hotel Limerick is one of the cities premier business and leisure hotels, minutes from the City Centre and convenient to the Motorway Network. Ample Free Parking, gym, and High Speed WiFi throughout the building. The hotel features 124 spacious bedrooms, Boru's Traditional Bar and the Cream Room Curry House, offering authentic Indian and European cuisine at value for money prices. The hotel also features a Coffee House where we Proudly Serve Starbucks. Enjoy a superb location: Bunratty and Adare are a 10 minute drive while Shannon Airport is only 20 minutes away. Extensive facilities adjoining hotel include bank, ATM, pharmacy, food and convenience stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great National South Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Court Limerick
Limerick South Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing