We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great National South Court Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night and that was enough for me, when i got to reception i was greeted by what i can only call the ice queen, Not a bit friendly towards me but i got over it and was given my room (210). It was ok clean with tv and couch double bed. Off out i went and return back at 12 midnight wanting to go to sleep but all i could here was a door slamming shut below my room this went on till 2.30am i was just about to leave and feel asleep to be woken at 6.15am by the door banging shut i had enough after paying 89 euro for it i packed my pag and went to reception i told the guy on the desk what was happening umm im sorry you should have rang during the night i would have moved you only to say a min later the hotel was booked out and if he did move me i still wouldnt have slept because of the do in the convention centre. I payed and left to go home to get some sleep.

I did email the duty manager but never heard a thing and prob wont. If you want a hotel where you pay big money to be up all night book this if you want piece and quiet stay away...

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank theniceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 568 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2008

Lets get this out first. Its not the worst hotel in Limerick by far but its certainly overrated by the stars it has and not worth the price you pay.

My company booked the conference centre and booked 7 rooms. We were given "lifestyle suites". Big whoop! They are large rooms with a couch, desk and 4 seater dining table. It also has a balcony which the hotel say they cannot unlock for safety reasons. Some of the rooms had an exercise bike as well, instead of a desk.

The hotel is certainly a business hotel and nothing more. Its full of coach tours and groups but its not for a weekend trip or romantic stay away. There are much better options.

I attached photos of the room I stayed in. I often used the back fire escape as a shortcut to the function room because its half the normal walk. The back stairs was covered in graffiti, pint glasses and empty room service trays. There were there for the whole 3 days. At the base of the fire escape you are greeted with chairs and tables which you have to negotiate should you be on fire!! Silly, silly people!

The hotel is gone so much to rack and ruin the manager told me they dont bother taking wedding bookings anymore because they cannot cope with the damage caused by guests and the kitchen cannot cope.

The hotel is up for sale and its current lease expires sometime in 2008 so there is no chance of investment between now and then.

The business centre. Where do I Start?? OMG
I was told to go into the admin office to which the admin girl scowled at me as though to mentally ask me what the [--] I wanted in her office. I said I wanted to use the computer and its was an effort to help. I was basically sitting at somebodys desk, using their computer and looking at pictures of their kids and their mouldy coffee mug. It was free in their defence.

The cream room restaurant is highly overpriced and overrated. I dont really care for the fact that Paul Costelloe designed it and also designed all the lifestyle suites. Basically he has a few paintings in the rooms. Wow!! The prices in the cream room are amazing. I mean €25 for a piece of chicken as a main course. Im sorry but we can do better than that for our hard earned money.

The bar has seen better days I must say. It has games machine or juice machines(whatever you like to call them) and it certainly needs a like of TLC.

Onto its positive points. The rooms are kept fairly spotless by housekeeping and the rooms smelt fantastic just after she left. It must be shake and vac or something.

The staff were very polite and friendly and I try not to hold a grudge to somebody who speaks little English. I never encountered a problem this way, they understood tea and toast in the restaurant for breakfast and everybody on the front desk was Irish.

€99 for a room b&b was extortion. There are much better located hotels with better value for money in the city. I suggest the Hilton, Clarion, Punchs Hotel or the Absolute hotel.

Check out the photos of mine of the hotel room.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BertieBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2007

This hotel is definitely not a 4 star property. Rooms are a fine size but the decor is badly dated. There was also a strange lingering smell in the room I had. The bathtub had a crack and the grouting around the bath badly needed attention.
The hotel food is of a poor quality and the bar food is to be avoided at all costs. Just how this property has a four star rating is beyond me.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CailinMhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2007

One expects a little pampering in a 4* hotel. Not available here. Front receptionists were businesslike but lacked welcoming warmth. It was difficult to make one's needs understood in the dining room at breakfast. Attended a conference at the hotel and the service at the conference dinner was slow. Strangely, the bedroom had been serviced by 9.50 a.m. when I returned from breakfast, although my personal belongings were still there awaiting packing. Found that intrusive. The room itself was very nice and comfortable with good amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2007

Very basic, staff was nice but not enough at the front desk. The hotel has a bar attached to it that is decent but overpriced on the food.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaybabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in August on our way to Cork!
The hotel looks awful from the outside - it fronts a busy road and at the back overlooks a housing estate.
The first thing we noticed was all the broken windscreen glass on the ground in the carpark.Not a good impression.

We had a room overlooking the housing estate at the back of the hotel- not a very nice view.

The room was a bit past its sell by date and quite basic.

We asked at reception where would be nice to eat at in the city.
We were told the name of a bar but when the taxi dropped us there it was in an awful area so we went somewhere else.

The breakfast at the hotel was ok but we were so glad to be leaving we didn't linger over it!

To be honest we didn't like Limerick much either - my husband was nearly run over on a crossing by a dizzy female!
The staff in the Tourist advice centre were less than helpful and we got the impression they couldn't have cared less. they didn't even have a map to give us !

This hotel in no way comes up to its star rating

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank ilovesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Was a bit suprised to see that the hotel was actually 4 star. Ok, I'm easy enough pleased and to be honest it's clean, spacious and quiet (to the front of the hotel) but no way is it 4 stars. Free WIFI is great as you can work away when your there. Definatley would not stay here on Holiday but ok for passing through on business.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ArmaghArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
3.3 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,987 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Maldron Hotel Limerick
#14 of 20 in Limerick
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
863 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
408 reviews
2.9 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National South Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National South Court Hotel

Address: Raheen Roundabout, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Lynch South Court Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
#8 Family Hotel in Limerick
#10 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $83 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National South Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National South Court Hotel Limerick is one of the cities premier business and leisure hotels, minutes from the City Centre and convenient to the Motorway Network. Ample Free Parking, gym, and High Speed WiFi throughout the building. The hotel features 124 spacious bedrooms, Boru's Traditional Bar and the Cream Room Curry House, offering authentic Indian and European cuisine at value for money prices. The hotel also features a Coffee House where we Proudly Serve Starbucks. Enjoy a superb location: Bunratty and Adare are a 10 minute drive while Shannon Airport is only 20 minutes away. Extensive facilities adjoining hotel include bank, ATM, pharmacy, food and convenience stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great National South Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Court Limerick
Limerick South Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing