We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second home in limerick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great National South Court Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“second home in limerick”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had to stay in Limerick for two weeks when a family member was ill in the Regional Hospital. I initially was booked in on single room plus breakfast but given the circumstances I was offered the same rate to include breakfast and when my husband came down he was allowed to use my room and no additional cost.The hotel is a little dated for **** particularly the bar which is a bit dark but what the hotel lacks in decor and flat screen tvs it compensates for with the most pleasant and helpful staff. The waiter by day two greeted me and brought my hot water instead of tea. The omelette in the bar was very good and bar food was very reasonable. When I told the receptionist I needed to relocate to the other side of Limerick to be near the Milford hospice, she kindly gave me the phone numbers for three hotels and said I was very welcome to come back at any stage. An added plus was I met a lady attending a weight watchers meeting in the hotel and I was able to join in and warmly welcomed. On one occasion when I got soaked in a shower of rain, the girl delivering a snack to my room offered to dry my clothes in the hotel drier. Its a surreal experience living in a hotel but the staff made it a very pleasant experience despite my reasons for staying there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda87_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Brenda,
Thanks for your kind comments and we're glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Should you ever visit the city in the future, we'd love to welcome you back,

Kind Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    190
    110
    39
    30
See reviews for
157
124
33
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Rooms Spacious and comfortable. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Great location with a selection of shops and small restaurants almost "on site". Free parking available at hotel. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Try the Wellness Rooms - very comfortable and you get a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Sheila 139,
Thanks for your kind comments; we're glad you had a comfortable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the South Court Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Over the past few years on numerous trips to Limerick we have stayed in the South Court. Excellent rates, if booked carefully, friendly staff and good food. Well placed for access to city & further. Enjoyed our stay & would recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsyM527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Patsy M,
Thanks for making the South Court your choice when visiting limerick.

we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in the South Court Hotel just afte Christmas. We had booked 2 rooms and we were very happy with the experience. The rooms were very nice and quite and everything worked as you would expect. The breakfast was fine but nothing exceptional. The staff were very helpful. We had a meal in the bar also one night and again it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasL2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The room was very cold and took hours to warm up. The staff were helpful with this.
Breakfast was VERY disappointing. And the TV in the room was a bit of a dinosaur! The lift was out of order while we were there also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty_jat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed over night here while attending a function. Family room was spacious and exactly what we needed. Breakfast the following morning was average. However I would stay again as it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowLuigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

For such a large hotel, the staff are very helpful, polite and friendly. Great B&B rates for Limerick city. Lifestyle rooms are huge with plenty of room to work or just relax .Free car parking. I always enjoy my breakfast at the South Court hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear TJKDerry,
Thanks for your kind comments and for making us your choice when visiting the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back again,

Kind Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
5.4 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
394 reviews
3.3 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,949 reviews
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,544 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Maldron Hotel Limerick
#14 of 20 in Limerick
654 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National South Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National South Court Hotel

Property: Great National South Court Hotel
Address: Raheen Roundabout, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Lynch South Court Hotel Limerick)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
#8 Family Hotel in Limerick
#10 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National South Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National South Court Hotel Limerick is one of the cities premier business and leisure hotels, minutes from the City Centre and convenient to the Motorway Network. Ample Free Parking, gym, and High Speed WiFi throughout the building. The hotel features 124 spacious bedrooms, Boru's Traditional Bar and the Cream Room Curry House, offering authentic Indian and European cuisine at value for money prices. The hotel also features a Coffee House where we Proudly Serve Starbucks. Enjoy a superb location: Bunratty and Adare are a 10 minute drive while Shannon Airport is only 20 minutes away. Extensive facilities adjoining hotel include bank, ATM, pharmacy, food and convenience stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great National South Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Court Limerick
Limerick South Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing