We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great National South Court Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for just one night after St.Stephens Day.What a pleasant surprise.Our room was plain but very clean and comfortable.The breakfast was absolutely first rate even by Irish standards - far better than some much higher rated hotels in the area.Value for money without a doubt.The adjoining Boru restaurant was also superb.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nem31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear nem31,
Thanks for your feedback and recommendation.

We aim to offer all our guests a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and exceptional food - all at a great price - and are delighted that we exceeded your expectations.

I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 572 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had a lovely stay in this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. our room was very spacious and clean as well. Have absolutely nothing bad to say, would definitely stay there again the next time I'm in Limerick.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gamesonlyonthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear gamesonlyonthis,
Sincere thanks for choosing the South Court Hotel for your stay in Limerick. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate and value your business.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the South Court on your next visit to Limerick,

Kind Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Requested a triple room and was very happy when we got a very large room with double bed and 3 single beds. Room was clean and beds were comfortable.
Breakfast was great and for the price we paid for our one night stay it was a bargain.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzyOD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear lizzyOD1,
thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on the South Court Hotel.

We're delighted that everything was to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Not a lot of things to write about this Hotel. Location is good and price is very reasonable. Rooms are OK if not spectacular, bed was quite comfy and food was adequate. Service was OK. Another reviewer mentioned the noisy radiator which I also had in the room I stayed in...in hindsight I should have complained at the time but se la vie.

Will stay there again when in the area on business.

Room Tip: Check as soon as you enter the room if the radiator is making noise. Ask to be moved if it is beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear ColinB76,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

We are glad you found our location convenient and our bedrooms comfortable for your business stay. Our maintainence department have resolved the issues with the heating system and this will be continuously monitored.

We are conscious of the extremely competitive market we operate in and endeavour to offer the most competitive rates in the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013,

Kind Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Good hotel.
The first room they gave me had a radiator that made crazy gurgling and whooshing noises at high volume. Needed to be bled, badly. Like someone endlessly pouring buckets of water into a tin bath.

So I went down to the desk and promptly got offered a new room, which was fine, but it was at the far end of the hotel down a really, really long corridor. I was wishing the room came with a scooter or skateboard to get back to the lobby.
Room was fine. Nice bed.

Ate in the bar, and had a steak which was good. Service was initially slow, but picked up. Waiter was very young and inexperienced and knew nothing about wines, but I guess he's only starting out.

The bar/restaurant is huge.

I was hoping a hotel like this would have a pool and sauna, but it only seems to have a gym.

The breakfast wasn't great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandfatherClock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCourtHotel, General Manager at Great National South Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear GrandFatherClock,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you were satisfied with the standard of accommodation and your evening meal.

We have investigated the heating system and have rectified the problem. We are constantly trying to improve all aspects of our service and we provide feedback to all heads of department.

Despite the fact that our leisure centre doesn't have a swimming pool, we do hope you found your stay both enjoyable and affordable.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the South Court Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Dermot Kelly,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here on the weekend of the RIBBF show due to the price and location. The man at check-in was half asleep, but then again so were we. The corridor our room was on had a very bad smell of smoke even though most of the rooms in that sectio were (supposed to be) non smoking. But maybe the smell was coming from some of the smoking rooms? Friends room on the floor above was brighter and nicer though there corridor had a strange smell of hash, but that isn't really the fault of the hotel...I hope. The breakfast was nice, €7.50 for all you can eat so no complaints there. The on-site gym was good. Overall, absolutely average.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in 208 - door frame is pretty much non existent and the door looks like its been kicked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcdowesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Only good things to say.

Arrived on a cold wet night and I was met with a friendly smile.

I got what can only be described as a junior suite for less than the price of a Premier Inn.
A well appointed room with all the usual tea, coffee and free Wi-Fi as well as a nice big spotlessly clean bathroom.

The restaurant wasn't open so I ate in the bar and I have to say 10€ for a very tasty roast beef dinner was great value for money.

Breakfast was in the restaurant and there was a good selection of bread, cereal, fruit and cooked options.

If you are looking for a good value hotel without any compromise in quality then I advise you to give the South Court a go.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q-the-Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
3.3 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,015 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Maldron Hotel Limerick
#14 of 20 in Limerick
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
887 reviews
2.9 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,683 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National South Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National South Court Hotel

Address: Raheen Roundabout, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Lynch South Court Hotel Limerick)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Limerick
#10 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: $81 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National South Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National South Court Hotel Limerick is one of the cities premier business and leisure hotels, minutes from the City Centre and convenient to the Motorway Network. Ample Free Parking, gym, and High Speed WiFi throughout the building. The hotel features 124 spacious bedrooms, Boru's Traditional Bar and the Cream Room Curry House, offering authentic Indian and European cuisine at value for money prices. The hotel also features a Coffee House where we Proudly Serve Starbucks. Enjoy a superb location: Bunratty and Adare are a 10 minute drive while Shannon Airport is only 20 minutes away. Extensive facilities adjoining hotel include bank, ATM, pharmacy, food and convenience stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great National South Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Court Limerick
Limerick South Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing