We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”
Review of Pery's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pery's Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Reviewed June 21, 2013

As others have written, this hotels offers a mixed experience.
Pros: nice room, comfy beds, good breakfast, convenient location near bus and train station,attentive and kind staff
Cons: wifi kept dying on us, loud party on Friday night until 1:30 am which we heard even though we had asked for a quiet room, phone out of order so we never got our first day's wake up call, hotel layout confusing with only one elevator.
The hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful. They reconfirmed our next hotel stay by phone, printed out tickets for us, booked a tour by phone for us, and answered our many questions. So a mixed experience. The most annoying matter was the wifi conking out constantly but if you can live with that, the hotel is not bad at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margoelmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 452 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the pouring rain late at night, and we were welcomed at the door. He (I didn't catch his name) even helped my husband carry things in and helped him find the hotel car park. He was so helpful and so nice. A younger man also helped us with all our things, and he was just as helpful and friendly. We were so impressed. Everyone was great!
The room is nice, too, and we enjoyed the breakfast very much. The brown bread is fantastic! Thanks for the enjoyable stay!
Randy and Kathy

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed one night in the Best Western. Needed somewhere central. This hotel is a minutes walk from O' Connell Street in Limerick's city centre. Close to main shopping areas, a number of restaurants nearby and two famous Limerick pubs, The White House and the Charlie St George are a short walk away.
Quick check-in where I was given a parking permit for my car windscreen and my room card. The hotel's private parking is in a multistory just around the corner down the street.

The room itself was pristine, looked like it was newly refurbished. I had gotten a great deal on a hotel booking site. The room rate written on a card in the customer info book in the room was a multiple of the price I paid online. The quality of the place of obvious and its nice to get lucky sometimes and stay in a place which is normally out of your budget.

My room was toward the back of the hotel overlooking lower level roofs and adjacent windows, so had no noise issues at night. The hotel is located on a less busy street anyway so even rooms at the front should have no noise problems.

Did not stay for breakfast next morning so cannot comment on food.

Would be my choice for a Limerick stop off again, especially if I can get a similar room rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I know there has been some poor reviews of this hotel, but by my experience think they are unjustified. Spent four nights there this month as part of a coach party from UK, and found the whole experience fantastic. The staff were great and most helpful, specially the reception. My wife who is disabled and has walking difficulties, found nothing but kindnest and help from them.
The meals (Breakfast & Dinner) were good, meals well prepared and presented, and served quickly at dinner, though the Coach party was 47 every went smoothly, though we were seated all together. Room was satisfactory, and bathroom very good for a disabled person. Bar service was good, and priced reasonably for a hotel, more or less local bar prices.
If going to Limerick independantly would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room in front of hotel as could pick up some street noise during weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have now stayed twice in Pery's and will be definitely back. I had a really pleasant visit and was offered a nice spacious room which was comfortable but like other aspects of the building probably need a little updating ..... that being said, what really makes this hotel shine are the reception staff. As friendly as you could possible find and really wanting to please you in every way possible .... coupled with a really great location - and a very competitive rate, Pery's is definitely a hotel I will return to .... if you go there I suggest you try out the italian restaurant around the corner - La Piccalo Italia - recommended to me by the hotel .... thank you Perys!

Room Tip: get a room away from the bar or function room for a quiet sleep if you want to retire early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roryonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our recent stay at this Hotel was most pleasurable over 4/5 days, to give a restful stay plus plenty of options to get out and about and a little further afield, without experiencing long, tiring journeys.

Well appointed, clean, friendly, staff most helpful and very occasional small problems were immediately dealt with. Appears to be well used and frequent ed by the "locals" which did create rather slow bar service at Dinner time and after.
Evening "entertainment" appeared on a couple of nights, consting of a pair of rather loud modern musicians, welcome by some, but who were situated amidst the lounge/resting areas, which were abundant and comfortable, but offered little opportunity to escape the noise apart from escaping to outside Bars/Hotels or TV in the bedroom.
.A more acceptable offering or diversion, would have been an offering by local/irish musicions and music.
A seperate lounge/rest area where one could relax away from the music would have been very welcome.

TV reception left quite a bit to be desired in terms of picture quality, but for the relatively short time spent in that situation it could be accepted.

Rooms maybe a little small and basic with occsional lack of availlability of Hot Water!

We were situated in a Room on the 1st Floor - but overlooking a much less than pleasant outlook immediately outside, over local roofs littered with rubbish permanently - back rooms therefore to be avoided if one has the choice. There appeared to be only one lift, and this often filled up, but was rapid and comfortable in the journey upwards.
The Food was good, well prepared, varied, plenty of choice and well served by most amiable staff.
Breakfast likewise, offered all that one could wish for but the lay out of the self service facilities for both hot and cold offerings was most constricted and uncomfotable- especially related to the many hot items and especially toast, where permanent queues resulted by the slow process/equipment used to prepare one's needs.
The location of the Hotel was very convenient by those who want to be adjacent to the City, but at the same time was very convenient for those who want to enjoy pleasant visits to small towns of character full of history in the area.
Situated as the Hotel is, parking was not exactly abundant or convenient for those with cars. We were also advised that the surrounding area was less than salubrious as night came on, but we did not experience that at all.
A place where I would not be averse to staying at at any time.

Room Tip: Not a rear facing Room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MACRUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Where to begin, the staff was outstanding, they were all courteous and attentive. The hotel, while being older and a little outdated compared to today's standards was so perfectly located. Our room was located at the back of the hotel and was clean and quiet. Perfect for a good rest after a busy day.

The Pub was enjoyable but sorely needed additional staff. The one time we ate there, once we received our meal no one came back to inquire if we needed anything else. We actually had to request our bill to pay but the food was good.

We would definitely return to Pery Best Western, Limerick in the future because we liked it that much and we don't think we could find a friendlier, enjoyable atmosphere any where else.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassysas1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#15 of 20 in Limerick
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
#17 of 20 in Limerick
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boutique Hotel
The Boutique Hotel
#18 of 20 in Limerick
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pery's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pery's Hotel

Address: Glentworth Street, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Pery's Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range: $55 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pery's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented Hotel located near city center, 200 yards from bus or train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pery's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Limerick
Limerick Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing