We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little house, surrounded by nature in a...”
other travelers have booked this property
The unique location of Glenview Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The unique location of Glenview Lodge
Fáilte Ireland Approved Glenview Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
The unique location of Glenview Lodge
Fáilte Ireland Approved
Glenview Lodge
Living Room
kitchen
Double  Bedroom
Living Room Fire
Glenview Lodge
view from front gardens
Summer Furze
Hurling match
view from gardens
View from entrance drive
corridor and bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Single bedroom
Irish Coffee Demo at Glenview Lodge
Homemade scones
Kitchen Dresser
Cliffs of Moher.A great day trip.
Glenview Lodge Garden
Irish Stew at Glenview Lodge
Table Tennis
Bunratty Castle one hours drive
Children are very welcome
The Orchard at Glenview
Apples from the Orchard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Limerick, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
“Lovely little house, surrounded by nature in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Glenview Lodge for three nights in September. It was a very nice experience, which we would happily repeat. We were greeted by Sean, who showed us the house and its amenities. It is a small farmhouse that has been modernized for comfort, while still maintaining the charm of an old house. It is well provisioned with dishes, cooking utensils etc. We didn't find that we were lacking a thing. We did a couple of day trips to Dingle, Ballybunion and Adare. Sean gave us a local history lesson and demonstrated how to make Irish coffee, and Monica gave us homemade chocolates. We felt welcome and right at home. Wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: beautiful country setting
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishD198...
Dedham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Oustanding Country-side Mother-Daughter Stay”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were two mothers and two teenage girls staying at Glenview Lodge. We were all happy in the lovely country setting. The house overall had all that we needed -- the kitchen was well supplied (complete with breakfast, including homemade bread, for the day of our arrival); there was WIFI; and the rooms were simple but clean and comfortable. We loved waking up to the sound of birds chirping and watching the cows come home in a neighboring field. We were within an hour or so drive of all that we wanted to see and even spent one day simply exploring the local walking trails near the house. We had at least one question a day for Monica and Sean and they were always ready with quick and thorough advice. I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking for an authentic stay in Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and simplicity of the house
Liked least: Nothing -- it was great
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBelle...
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I traveled with my wife, my mother and my two 20 something nieces to Ireland. We stayed at Glenview lodge and absolutely loved it. Sean and Monica were very nice and helpful people. We all would love to go back some time soon. We enjoyed being in the Irish countryside waking up to birds chirping and morning dew on the grass. It is a very peaceful special place. The lodge is very well taken care of and very comfortable. We were within an hour of almost everything and it was easy to get to the main roads out of Broadford. I love Glenview lodge and loved Monica and Sean as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, peacful location
Liked least: Driving on Irish back country roads, Nerve racking for a midwesterner.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary O
Bocholt, Germany
1 review
“Excellent hosts”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Thanks again Monica and Seán for your hospitality. We stayed over Christmas and were spoilt with goodies like home-made Christmas pudding and chocolates. Very convenient location for getting to know the south-west of Ireland. The house itself has a wonderful Irish charm about it and if walls could talk, there would certainly be a tale or two to tell. We will definitely be recommending you further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooka_McP...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Glenview Lodge Has It All”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Glenview Lodge twice: in June 2011 and December 2013. Thus, we experienced days around the summer solistice when it remains light till 11:00 pm, and winter days when the sun didn't rise much above the horizon and disappeared altogether at about 4:00. We are happy to say that Glenview Lodge is the perfect venue, be it deep winter or high summer (and I expect at all times in between). Our young children loved roaming the nearby hills and fields during the endless summer evenings and we all enjoyed nesting around the peat fire when the winter wind whistled down Gleann na gCapall from Knocktoosh.

The property itself is exactly as advertised: a traditional Munster farmhouse (it has been in the family since the 1680s), tastefully modernized to meet 21st century expectations of comfort. The house is cosy and snug in December, bright and airy in June. The kitchen is fully equipped for a self-catering family holiday -- our kids were up every morning to help cook breakfast, something that doesn't happen much at home! Amenities include two bathrooms (plus a downstairs toilet), central heating, dishwasher, and a washer and dryer. The farm outbuildings have been preserved faithfully, though they are not now in use. In summer, the garden and orchard are delightful. The hilltop driveway offers spectacular views down Gleann na gCapall ("Glen of the Horse") and over the West Limerick hills.

The location cannot be beaten -- perfectly quiet and off the beaten track but within 10 miles of the N20 (Limerick-Cork) and N21 (Limerick-Kerry) highways. There are many local walking trails and sites of historical interest, and most parts of Counties Limerick, Cork and Kerry are within an hour's drive. There are a few pubs and small shops in Broadford village and an excellent supermarket (Meaney's Centra) in nearby Dromcollogher.

Finally, a word about Sean and Monica. They are the perfect hosts. They overlook no detail toward making you comfortable (our "welcome package" in late December included delicious, home-made traditional Christmas cake). They are discreetly on hand if needed, but otherwise do not intrude on your stay. The tasteful furnishings and spotless cleanliness of the farmhouse reflect their ethos. We are very happy to recommend Glenview Lodge for your vacation too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislke.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Sean and Monica were the best hosts you could ask for! Extremely accommodating, they went the extra mile to make sure our stay in Ireland was authentic and enjoyable. The quaint cottage is very clean, comfortable and homey. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We were particularly impressed with the view from the drive up to the house. It is breathtaking. An amazing start to our trip! Broadford gives you the feel of what it's really like to live in Ireland and puts you in a good central location to drive to many of southwest Ireland's sites- within and hour or two away. We were very pleased with our choice and you will not be dissapointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and accommodating hosts
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGCLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little bit of Heaven”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Glenview Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. My husband, myself and our teenage daughter stayed here in August for one week. It is set in a beautiful, peaceful area. It was lovely to get up in the morning, have breakfast on the patio and take in the scenery in the peace and quiet of the lovely garden. It was easy to get out and about from here, as we travelled fairly long distances each day. It was a lovely place to come back to, and very cosy. It is within easy reach of supermarkets and all amenities, but far enough out to leave the shops behind if you wish to. There was a table tennis table in the barn, which we thought was an added bonus, especially if you have children. Monica and Sean were lovely. If we needed help with anything at all they were always happy to help. The cottage is well equipped, clean and very pretty. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing we could say we didn't like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing