We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pier hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pier Hotel, Limerick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pier hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Just home from a weekend stay in this hotel....and would recommend anyone travelling to Limerick to stay here....staff were excellent .....rooms were clean and bright . food was fantastic. ...and the heart of the city was just outside the door well worth a visit

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katalin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    163
    132
    51
    34
See reviews for
69
201
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
preston, lancashire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a great value hotel which is right on the river, with a nice bar. Bar food is first class and reasonably priced.. Definately recommended. Staff are all pleasant. Rooms are a decent size. Ask for a room on the top floor if you are stopping at weekend, as there is live music on in the bar, which I imagine would be quite noisy if your room was just above the bar area. We were on the third floor and couldn't hear anything from our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirls50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

we stayed here on the 29/4/14 this is a small and compact hotel shyannn was on recption very friendly girl the rooms are small and basic but at 60 euro for 2 people bed and breakfast it is very good value for money the hotel is 5 to 10 mins walk to center of limerick as per other reviews the rooms to the front are a bit noise with traffic ask for inside room there is a large bar that is part of the hotel very nice food and michael the bar manager is very funny and does all he can to look after you the breakfast is fresh cooked not buffet style so a good time was had if you want 5 star this is not for you but if you want real good break then try here

Room Tip: ask for inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinBilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel needs to be renovated.If you looking for night out yes but don't expect quiet night of sleep. Found big black hair in the bathroom.Beds are very small.Breakfast is very poor.The staff are nice.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zulandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Limerick hotels

Masserano, Italy
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Limerick is the capital city of culture for 2014 and really deserves to be visited.
I chose the Pier Hotel to spend one night during my little tour of West Ireland.
I can't say anything but it was a great choice!
The location is lovely, the hotel is quite modern, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the full Irish breakfast is the perfect start for an exploring day.
Really satisfied, high value for money.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed here last weekend and had a fantastic experience. The staff were very friendly and accomading. This hotel is great value for money and from my experience of other hotels in the city, i wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaneos111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

stayed here a friday and saturday night for a friends birthday weekend and it almost ruined it.

so many bad things to point out i don't know where to start.

First off the rooms, a double room was booked but when we arrived to our room after checking in to a small grubby room barely big enough for one person, with 4ft wide bed with one side pushed up against the wall, calling this a double room should be illegal there was no walking space in the room it was smaller than a prison cell, a friend of ours who was staying the same night booked a single room (which was a cheaper price and included breakfast), got a huge family room with two king size beds and enough walking room for 10 people and when we asked if we could be switched to a bigger room we got a very rude no were fully booked, the key cards in the room never worked nearly every time i left the room and had to go back in the card would not read and had to go back to reception to get them reactivated, over the 2 nights i stayed there i had to do that 8 times!! ridiculous,
the bathroom was another horror story from the extremely loud extractor fan, the hot tap that spluttered boiling hot water all over the floor and the 2 yellow stained towels hanging on the rack it was enough to make me glad i got to leave after my 2 day nightmare.

the bar is another joke! i asked for 4 glasses with ice and was handed 4 filthy, sticky, stained glasses that stank of stale beer and i told the bar man and he handed me 4 more with the same problem so i asked the receptionist could i speak with a bar manager about the problem and after explaining it to her she "fixed" the problem, and gave the glasses a quick rinse!
i went to dunnes stores and bought 10 plastic cups for €2 euro for the next night.

the car park was full when we arrived so we had to park a 10 min walk away in a multistory car park costing us 20 euro for the two nights

arriving back on Saturday evening after going out for a meal we were interrogated in broken English about our room number and name before being let into the hotel.

overall a horrible experience if it had of been my 1st stay in limerick it would of been my last! ill stick to the clarion from now on!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here! far too expensive for a horrible experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna M, Manager at The Pier Hotel, Limerick, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are glad you stayed with us for two nights and we have taken on board all your observations for which we are most obliged.

Kasia Mrozowska
Font Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Boutique Hotel
The Boutique Hotel
#18 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#17 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel, Limerick

Property: The Pier Hotel, Limerick
Address: Sarsfield Bridge, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel, Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Pier Hotel, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier Hotel, Limerick Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing