We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, ideally situated for visiting Limerick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, ideally situated for visiting Limerick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Travelling as a group of motorcyclists it was important to us that secure parking was available and the Pier seemed ideal. The car park is underground and around the rear so to gain access was a little convoluted to gain access to due to the one-way system in Limerick but once in there was adequate space for all 8 motorcycles. Reception was good and we were quickly attended to. The rooms are clean and reasonably modern as one would expect of a city centre hotel. The bar and dining facilities are clean and spacious and again the staff are very polite. We didn't have an evening meal so couldn't comment on the food but the breakfast was good and wholesome.
The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the city centre and overlooks the river. I

I would happily stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook a busy road & junction
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mewalshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    166
    136
    53
    35
See reviews for
73
202
39
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
westmeath
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

lovely stay here lovely staff, rooms were spotless and it is very central. got lovely room overlooking the river.will definetly have dinner next time in the restaurant, very close to all the shops and some nice pubs! breakfast was very good especially scrambled egg!will definetly be back again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenry, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel, lovely staff, nothing is too much for them, rooms are not very big, but we were busy on a hen so didnt spend too much time in it!! Breakfast was lovely, as was the bar food. It is well located very near the city centre 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary4116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Pier hotel is only a 2 min walk from the shopping area and is within easy reach of all attractions. The staff were fantastic in all areas including bar staff, bouncers, reception and restaurant, The rooms were a little small but clean and functional. Great value all round and would definitely stay there again. The only down side was all of the rooms on our floor said NO SMOKING but the smell of cigarette smoke on the corridor was really bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff are without a doubt the nicest I have ever come across in a hotel. They could not have done enough for us, especially Rob. Highly recommend and will def make a return visit....also is in a great location with great food!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel has become our first choice when visiting Limerick. The location is fantastic, just off O Connell street with shops and restaurants. It is walking distance/5 min taxi spin to the train station, Thomond Park and to King Johns Castle. The rooms are a little small but this isnt a problem: they are clean, comfortable,fresh towels, shower gels supplied etc and the front rooms have lovely views over the river and King Johns Castle. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is delicious and made to order. Can get cereals, a full irish or both. Great bar food as well for lunch: sandwiches, wraps etc and very well priced! Left luggage room is secure to leave bags for a while.

However, Can be very noisy at night if there are groups of people returning late from nights out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here a weekend getaway with my fiance. . Really easy to find the hotel.. parking is very limited but it is secure. Check in was quick which was great.. got the oue room and was very disappointed with the size of it.. should be more of a closet..
good points.
Room was clean
Had good telly.

Bad points
old mattress
Lack of hot water.
very warm rooms as no street facing window.

Overall
Great location for a cheap stay but I wouldnt stay here for more then 1 night again.
Thw staff were very frindly.
didnt like one member of bar staff who laughed in my face when I asked for a drink ye didnt have and just walked away. Fould this very rude.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baker100692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boutique Hotel
The Boutique Hotel
#18 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#17 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel, Limerick

Property: The Pier Hotel, Limerick
Address: Sarsfield Bridge, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel, Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pier Hotel, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier Hotel, Limerick Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing